We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good choice for a short visit”
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Reviewed 4 March 2014

WIfe and I went there to get away for a weekend and I had always wanted to see Ojai. The Capri is on the east side of the main drag, but having said that, you could literally walk to the main shopping area if you are reasonably ambulatory.

The hotel is reasonably clean. You would probably prefer a 1st story room due to the cute fenced in "backyard" they have, you could even bring a small portable grill and grill back there.

The decor, appearance and staff are all somewhat hipster/mod. The tattooed and body-pierced staff were knowledgeable, cool and friendly and helpful, as well as interesting. They made me feel like coming back again, and that's how I judge a place in the final analysis.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer a cute fenced in yard.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for The Capri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We could not decide on the décor at the Capri. Oh, the hotel and rooms were very clean, sizeable and comfortable. Everything one could want in a mid priced place to stay. It was really fun to try to figure out the décor. It was very funky and fun, lots of soft colors and mid century furniture. They have a nice pool and recreation area. But do not hesitate to park yourself here, just enjoy the funkiness..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbacusTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were very pleased with our Valentine's day weekend stay at the Capri Hotel. We had a room on the first level, with our own huge patio that led to a park-like grounds and the pool to the left. Too chilly to use the pool this weekend, but we loved our spacious room and watched one of the VHS movies they had available ("The Shining") in our room Saturday night. The bed was very comfy (though some feather pillows would have made it even better) and the room was bright and cheery. (They also had nice bathroom/shower products to use, which left us smelling wonderful). One thing we also loved was being able to leave the sliding glass door open all night to let the breeze in. That's the worst part about some hotels, is that you cannot open the windows to let in fresh air. Not a probelm here! In the morning, we grabbed some coffee from the main part of the hotel and were on our way shortly after to go to the farmers market nearby. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have huge patios. If you have a dog with you, might be better to be on a lower lev...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Spent just one night at the Capri, thank goodness. The room was supposed to come with a voucher for a $15 credit at a local restaurant. We checked in at about 6:45 p.m. The front desk asked when we would like to use our voucher. We said we'd use it for dinner tonight. We settled into our room and went off to the restaurant. Our voucher wasn't accepted because it was only good until 7 p.m. and by the time we got there it was 7:30. We figured we'd use it within the next couple of days for lunch. When we turned the voucher over, the hotel had written "only good on February 3rd.
Back at the motel after dinner we discovered that the light in the dressing area was on a sensor. It was an extremely bright light and if either of us needed to use the bathroom once we had gone to bed, it would wake the other one up. Called the front desk, but it was 9:01 pm and no one was there.
The room was very roomy with a private patio. Unfortunately, the shutters on the sliding glass door were broken. There was no coffee pot in the room, but there was an electric kettle and some tea. Unfortunately, there were no cups or even plastic or glass glasses. We were very happy to check out the next morning and go on to the Oaks Spa a few blocks west of the Capri.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a private patio. Be sure to check the room out carefully before you accept...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I love the Capri, big rooms- clean and friendly. If you are looking for a getaway in California- particularly to escape LA (as it's fairly close) - I love a couple of days in Ojai. Such a relaxing place. I think this is the perfect place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: They have wifi but not in every room so be sure to request one if it's important for you
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife, two kids, and I had a great time at the Capri Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the incredible room design. It had a very modern style, the room was really clean, and offered cool treats made by local vendors. It was also really nice that they had a wading pool that was the perfect depth for my little ones. The enclosed personal patio attached to our room was an added bonus because our kids could play without us having to worry about them getting into something that they shouldn't. It was hard getting ahold of the hotel to book a room over the phone but once I did they were so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be visiting this little gem in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spent another great weekend at the Capri Ojai. This was our 3rd time and it was as wonderful and relaxing as before. We had another patio room (108) which was a few doors down from where we stayed in the past (105) and it was just as perfect. We tried to ride the bikes from their sister hotel The Hummingbird but there was a small problem with my boyfriend's pedal, it fell off. Since we were only a block away we took them back and deceided to leave it for another time. We had gotten a block and a half away twice so could at least check that off our list of things to do that weekend. There was another new addition to our room, a portable turn table with some classic albums including the Love & Rockets album that Christopher produced check it out at http://mvremix.com/rock_blogs/2009/06/new-tales-to-tell-a-tribute-to-love-and-rockets/. We had gotten a voucher for $15 off our meal at the Deer Lodge which was part of our Amazon Deal so we went to lunch there on Sunday after we went to the farmers market which is a nice walk from the Capri. The bloody mary's at the Deer Lodge came with a huge slice of bacon which was a nice change from the normal celery garnish which was cool and the BLTA was good too. We sat at the bar and our bartender was Brad. Thank you Christopher Minister for another great time at the Capri Ojai! The girls that helped check us in were lovely. Thank you for noticing the feathers :o)

Room Tip: We alway stay in the patio rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing