We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ojai Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ojai Retreat
Ranked #3 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

We discovered the Ojai Retreat online and decided it would be a great place to go for an out of town birthday celebration. It turned out to be a hidden gem. We loved its secluded location, close to Ojai but off the beaten track. It's in a very pretty, peaceful setting with beautiful views. We very much liked our room and the other rooms we saw. The weekday breakfast was quite good (fresh fruit salad and fresh muffins) and we have heard the weekend breakfast is even better. Everyone working there was lovely, including Clare in the front office, who was incredibly helpful. The Ojai retreat has just finished a major renovation which will make it even nicer than before. Most of the comments we've read on Trip Advisor were very positive, and we expect future comments will be even more enthusiastic. We've stayed in many nice places in Ojai, but this one is really special. We look forward to returning unless word of mouth is so great that we'll never be able to get a reservation again!

  • Liked — location, peaceful setting, lovely people
  • Disliked — nothing negative
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LifelongTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    63
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
264
113
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

It is hard to find, because is up on a hill, at the end of the hill, so if you think you went too far, you didn't! Keep going up!

I went to see my 2 girl friends for a girls weekend. It is very soothing place, the breakfast is great! Hot eggs, potatoes, great coffee, orange juice. You can sit in and outside to have your breakfast. Great views over the valley. Lot of birds. There is a lot of space, so lots of privacy. The staff was very friendly and feels a lot like a bed and breakfast. The yoga room has carpet and is small and the teacher never showed up. The yoga room is called the quiet room and there are two guestrooms next to it with one shared bath. If you plan to come with your partner and want to have some fun, know what i mean, make sure not to get the the two rooms next to the quiet room (one is called topa-topa room).

The landscape was just worked on, and they gave us a rebate on the rooms. When it is done, it will be stunning! You will be walking lots of stairs to get to your room, so not so good for strollers and def. nothing for people in wheelchairs.

Great walking from your room. Very quiet. We loved it.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — 2 rooms in main house
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirndlinUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

What a find! High atop a gorgeous hill, this is called a retreat, but offers everything a hotel does in a beautiful setting...and without that 10% hotel tax OR children under 12 OR inflated Ojai prices!
Each of the 12 "rooms," (many are freestanding cottages with private patios), have been recently remodeled and all are just beautiful. They have a little kitchen with microwaves and fridges. No TV here - but the view is better than any screen, and there is free flowing Internet for your laptop.
The staff is friendly and personable, and the morning muffins and granola, made there, are to die for! (And there's a full breakfast on the weekends.)
Their night mgr actually knocked on my door to introduce himself and remind me to leave my outside light on if I went out before dark, so I would have a lit entry. That never happens at a hotel!
They also have a comfortable main room with interesting books and often hold evening events there of musicians and speakers. The landscaping is lovely and I found the other guests friendly and - like me - extremely appreciative to be in such a terrific place.

  • Liked — Setting & Remodeled Rooms
  • Disliked — Fetching breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

We loved our stay in the Garden Room which had a huge window overlooking mature live oaks, the valley below, and a private patio that was all ours to use. Our room had a small kitchen, perfect for a midnight snack on leftovers from any of the great restaurants nearby. We appreciated the warmth of the staff and the sense of privacy of our accommodations.

S. and G. Soto-Campos
Culver City, CA

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank SusanCulverCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

The Ojai Retreat is a truly wonderful place to get away from it all, and is perfect for reconnecting with oneself and with nature. My friend and I spent one night there recently and we couldn't believe our luck at having found the place, and at such an affordable price. We stayed in the Adyar room which is a lovely room attached to the main house. We enjoyed a meditation session put on by a local Ojai spiritualist, and then a yoga class in the morning. The scenery is breathtaking, and when we spent time in downtown Ojai, we couldn't wait to get back to the retreat! Hope this place never changes. Also, definitely check out the Farmer and the Cook - it's a great lunch/dinner spot down the road from the Retreat.

  • Liked — The serenity
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth77NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Retreat

Property: Ojai Retreat
Address: 160 Besant Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ojai Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojai Retreat is a 5-acre haven of beauty with exquisite views, lush gardens and tranquility. There are 12 completely renovated bedrooms most with private garden or patio, all with views. A delicious European-style breakfast is included. There is a spacious living/meeting room and Quiet room with small library. Free wireless internet in all rooms and throughout the property. TV-and telephone-free rooms to preserve tranquility. Yoga classes and massages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ojai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ojai Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing