We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a peaceful, friendly getaway”
Review of Ojai Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ojai Retreat
Ranked #3 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a peaceful, friendly getaway”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've stayed at the Ojai Retreat several times, and I've stayed in both the cheapest and most expensive rooms (Cozy and Ojai Suite), as well as some rooms in between. It's always been a lovely experience. It really is a retreat, not a hotel, although the friendly staff ensures that your needs for comfort and cleanliness are well-met. The area is beautiful, and the retreat itself has a lot of character. The breakfast offerings are more than I had expected. All in all, my favorite not-too-far-away place to escape from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inscrutf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    65
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
268
114
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After doing extensive research, I decided to take my wife up here for a relaxing birthday weekend. It was absolutely perfect. We came with friends and although we got very different rooms on very different sides of the property, both were incredibly comfortable and boasted great views.
I cannot say enough about the breakfast. It was absolutely delicious.
Strongly recommend this place for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondial82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was looking for a quick getaway from LA to relax and take time for myself. The Ojai Retreat was just what I was looking for. It was so peaceful that it was hard to believe that there were people across the hall and downstairs from me. I spent time walking around the grounds and quietly reading in front of the waterfall. Breakfast is basic, but quite good. I will definitely stay here the next time I come to Ojai. It is also the best value in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_of_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Read the details carefully as this is not a typical TV place. Rooms are not spartan but also not five star but fine for the value and location. Quiet and focused on more contemplative activities. Breakfast was all organic with wide range of choices. Really relaxing and tasteful. Very quiet and restful .

Room Tip: Read descriptions carefully as all have something different to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totajohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Come here to unplug from the city and enjoy nature with the comforts of a hotel, without the crowd and need to drive or fly for hours.

The Ojai Retreat is for those looking for a quiet environment to relax and reflect.

I stayed here over New Year's in the Garden Room and loved it. Clean rooms with a kitchen which we used to cook our meals. Great view on a hilltop of the mountains and the town below. The pink mountain effect during sunset is a sight to behold. The 5 acre property is well kept and feels like a big garden (or more like is one!) and great for strolling around. Benches are placed around the property at scenic viewpoints. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious with gluten free options available (e.g. bread). The environment was peaceful and quiet which was exactly what I was looking for.

I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonoma county
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

immaculate and gorgeous grounds, located on peaceful hilltop. wonderful, enjoyable folks run the place. reasonable prices. very comfortable. i am very grateful for what is being done here. thanks! looking forward to next time, already!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank arlee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stumbled upon the retreat while researching B&B's in Ojai and am so glad I did! I spent three nights at the Ojai Retreat over Christmas and did not want to leave. It is a slice of paradise for those looking to get away to peace and quiet and to recharge. The entire property is well-maintained. The rooms, both guest and common, are super clean and comfortable. I stayed in the Oak Room, the smallest of the cottages. It was very private with its own patio overlooking the mountains and a microwave and small fridge. For hours each day I would sit on the patio and read and listen to the birds and small critters all around me. The air was clean and fresh and smelled wonderful. At night I slept like the dead.

Each morning in the large common room there is a very generous buffet breakfast of juice, fresh fruit, homemade granola, bagels, all kinds of breads, jams, cheeses and yogurt. Coffee and tea are available round the clock. There is also free Wi-Fi throughout the property, along with easy going nature paths. One of the things I loved were the clusters of chairs and benches situated around the property to sit and enjoy the natural beauty of the place.

The service, from reservations to cleaning to breakfast, was excellent and friendly. Upon arrival guests are given information on suggested restaurants, hiking trails, massage services and things to see. The retreat is situated on top of a hill at the end of a narrow road. It's just a few minutes from the town of Ojai, making it easy to go out to shop, sightsee and eat, but it feels a world away from all hustle and bustle.

All this singing its praises aside, I will be honest and say that the Retreat is not for everyone. It's homey, not fancy. There's no pool, room service, TV or phones. It's a very quiet place, a haven, not a resort or spa. And I wouldn't change a thing about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Retreat

Property: Ojai Retreat
Address: 160 Besant Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ojai Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojai Retreat is a 5-acre haven of beauty with exquisite views, lush gardens and tranquility. There are 12 completely renovated bedrooms most with private garden or patio, all with views. A delicious European-style breakfast is included. There is a spacious living/meeting room and Quiet room with small library. Free wireless internet in all rooms and throughout the property. TV-and telephone-free rooms to preserve tranquility. Yoga classes and massages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ojai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ojai Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing