We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably-priced lodging in Ojai”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I've stayed at the Ojai Resort and Spa, which is wonderful but expensive. Here you can have as much charm and as peaceful a rest for less than half the price. The staff is nice, the grounds are attractive, and even though my room was near a busy road it was quiet. I had a room to myself but my daughter's family was here as well with 3 young children, and they had a cute little bungalow and the kids had a great time in the pool. The continental breakfast is convenient

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Blue Iguana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Originally planned as a getaway for 3 to celebrate a dear friends' 50th birthday, it turned out to be a getaway for 5. We stayed at Casa Alegre, 2 bedroom one bath unit, but we were most comfortable. The unit is self contained with ALL the amenities of home. Beautifully decorated, upgraded linens, spacious, and almost complete kitchen utensils! The garden that surrounds the cottage is well kept and all the flowers were blooming. We ate our breakfast and lunch in the VERY private patio while enjoying the sunshine! The patio chairs need attention (loose bolts and chair backs) but it was incredibly peaceful, aside from our laughter. There is another very spacious garden outside the walls of the cottage that was also private and reserved for the 5 cottages that surrounded it. It had a lovely witch hat shaped gazebo and a large enough lawn to play croquet, badminton, or bocce. Parking was also conveniently segregated for the occupants of the cottages. This is a LOVELY property and worth every penny!
Drawbacks - pool is NOT heated, so even if it was in the high 80's, water was too cold. It is also very small (8-10 people max) SPA is very small - max # of people 4-5.
Note to management - we spent 2 fun and very comfortable days at your property and on the 2nd day, may have been only 2 other guests in the property. We were billed additional occupant charges without notice and had I not glanced at the bill, would never have known. We understood why you charged us but consideration and communication from your staff would have made our stay perfect. That little incident left a bad taste, albeit briefly, and wish you had handled differently.

Room Tip: All the cottages looked incredible depending on the number of people in your party. The grounds are...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCaMOMof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed In Room 5 for a week which we categorized as a little bungalow with a living room, full kitchen and a bedroom with a king bed. We were greeted with a smile from Diana and upon check in she walked us to our room and explained where the amenities were located. The Blue Iguana is in a very peaceful setting with easy access to Ojai and a short drive to the Ventura coast. Across the road there is a biking, walking path that extends from Ventura to the east side of Ojai. We should also note the housekeeping staff was very considerate of our privacy.The only concern was the erratic wifi service we experienced. We would highly recommend the Blue Iguana Inn and plan on staying there on our next trip to Ojai

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiB943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The minute you check in you are are in a state of relaxation. As you wander the lush grounds to your room you are catered to with a very helpful and caring staff. The room was superb and very spacious for our needs and the entire grounds evoked a special meditative state.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Blue Iguana Inn. I will recommend it highly to others. Thank you for everything. Making a review of two hundred characters is a little annoying.
We enjoyed the Farmer's Market and the food was good everywhere. We especially enjoyed the Ojai Cafe Emporium.
Doug Potter

Room Tip: Didn't use a fitness center.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our last stay before heading home from a 13 day adventure down the California coast. We had an amazing time and stayed in fabulous places all along the way until the Blue Iguana Inn. Upon check-in we were greeted with list of things we can not do instead of a nice hello. We were traveling with our dog and every Hotel prior to the Blue Iguana was so warm and welcoming. They would welcome us with treats for our dog, dog bowls and a dog bed for our beloved doggie. NOT HERE! Instead of making you feel welcome they made you want to turn and run the other way. I've never been treated like this upon a hotel check-in and we travel a lot.
Then to make matters worst our room was basically on a VERY busy street. It sounded like the cars where coming through our room. To say we were disappointed is an understatement! We grabbed dinner in town and left for the 4 hour drive home paying for a room we did not stay in.
This is not a place I would recommend especially if you are traveling with a dog.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for a room off the street and don't bring a dog!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are sorry this guest was disappointed with their experience. They had booked the room closest to the road on a sold out Friday afternoon. Upon check-in they asked to be moved but the hotel was fully booked so there wasn't anything else available. We did our best to be welcoming and accommodating. We happily welcome our canine guests but do have some "pet policies" in place to keep all of our guests safe and the property clean. We are sorry this guest found those policies unpleasant. The vast majority of our guests travelling with pet friends appreciate these policies and are happy to adhere to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel was terrific. The photos that you see online - just like in real life. We were in a room that had two queen beds and they were comfortable.

The main issue for us (and why it's not a five star review) is that we were traveling with our 3 and 5 year old children. They are "well behaved" and have traveled a lot, but they are 3 and 5 (active, curious). The front desk folks were awesome about letting us know of the all the kid friendly places to visit in Ojai -- all great recommendations for parks and restaurants. Even though the hotel folks said that they were kid friendly when I called to make the reservation, I think most of the guests were not exactly kid friendly (although there were lots of dogs around).

The breakfast was wonderful (serve yourself with trays available to take back to the room) and the landscaping was beyond amazing.

One slight "bummer" is that the pool is ICE cold. They warned us that it is not heated. We went in anyway because if was unusually hot and it was still freezing. We could not stay in for long. I truly think that a solar heated system could enhance this pool experience. The hot tub is small but just fine for a soak against the swaying bamboo trees...Lovely.

Overall, great place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the handicap room (far end of the hotel, by the road and facing the pool). The bathroom...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profmarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
500 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
387 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: £119 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing