We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Paradise”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I found this place online and decided to give it a try. I was so pleased. The garden surrounding the pool fills the air with a baeutiful scent. The patio was a perfect place to sip my ine at night and my coffee in the morning. I loved the big jetted tub in my room and the place looked like a little Arizona Casita. The staff was attentive and alwys around checking on things. I felt like I was on a mini vacation instead of working. It was a very relaxing business trip for me. I will come again for a real vacation with my husband next time.

Room Tip: Room 7 was the bomb! Great location across from the pool and a nice spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for a week largely because the location was convenient for our needs, but found it a charming and relaxing place to spend time. The Blue Iguana is beautifully designed, with Gaudi-inspired ceramic sculptures, pueblo-style architecture, and a brilliant use of space, so that even though the site is quite small, on a main road, and (especially when full) with plenty of parked cars, it has the relaxed and spacious feel of a much larger resort. We were in room 11, which although it backs onto the main road we found quite quiet, as well as elegantly though simply furnished. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive, the breakfast simple but satisfying - you can eat out on the lawn or in your room. We felt we could have stayed for a lot longer, strolling across the lawns for breakfast, hanging out by the pool in the sunshine... Why did we leave?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I've stayed at the Ojai Resort and Spa, which is wonderful but expensive. Here you can have as much charm and as peaceful a rest for less than half the price. The staff is nice, the grounds are attractive, and even though my room was near a busy road it was quiet. I had a room to myself but my daughter's family was here as well with 3 young children, and they had a cute little bungalow and the kids had a great time in the pool. The continental breakfast is convenient

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Originally planned as a getaway for 3 to celebrate a dear friends' 50th birthday, it turned out to be a getaway for 5. We stayed at Casa Alegre, 2 bedroom one bath unit, but we were most comfortable. The unit is self contained with ALL the amenities of home. Beautifully decorated, upgraded linens, spacious, and almost complete kitchen utensils! The garden that surrounds the cottage is well kept and all the flowers were blooming. We ate our breakfast and lunch in the VERY private patio while enjoying the sunshine! The patio chairs need attention (loose bolts and chair backs) but it was incredibly peaceful, aside from our laughter. There is another very spacious garden outside the walls of the cottage that was also private and reserved for the 5 cottages that surrounded it. It had a lovely witch hat shaped gazebo and a large enough lawn to play croquet, badminton, or bocce. Parking was also conveniently segregated for the occupants of the cottages. This is a LOVELY property and worth every penny!
Drawbacks - pool is NOT heated, so even if it was in the high 80's, water was too cold. It is also very small (8-10 people max) SPA is very small - max # of people 4-5.
Note to management - we spent 2 fun and very comfortable days at your property and on the 2nd day, may have been only 2 other guests in the property. We were billed additional occupant charges without notice and had I not glanced at the bill, would never have known. We understood why you charged us but consideration and communication from your staff would have made our stay perfect. That little incident left a bad taste, albeit briefly, and wish you had handled differently.

Room Tip: All the cottages looked incredible depending on the number of people in your party. The grounds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCaMOMof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed In Room 5 for a week which we categorized as a little bungalow with a living room, full kitchen and a bedroom with a king bed. We were greeted with a smile from Diana and upon check in she walked us to our room and explained where the amenities were located. The Blue Iguana is in a very peaceful setting with easy access to Ojai and a short drive to the Ventura coast. Across the road there is a biking, walking path that extends from Ventura to the east side of Ojai. We should also note the housekeeping staff was very considerate of our privacy.The only concern was the erratic wifi service we experienced. We would highly recommend the Blue Iguana Inn and plan on staying there on our next trip to Ojai

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiB943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The minute you check in you are are in a state of relaxation. As you wander the lush grounds to your room you are catered to with a very helpful and caring staff. The room was superb and very spacious for our needs and the entire grounds evoked a special meditative state.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Blue Iguana Inn. I will recommend it highly to others. Thank you for everything. Making a review of two hundred characters is a little annoying.
We enjoyed the Farmer's Market and the food was good everywhere. We especially enjoyed the Ojai Cafe Emporium.
Doug Potter

Room Tip: Didn't use a fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
508 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
3 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: £114 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ uniquely decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Many with fireplaces and private patios or courtyards. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Enjoy our outdoor pool & jacuzzi and in-room spa services. Dog friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing