We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Iguana da BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Iguana da BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a great stay here in May, 2014... the grounds are very nice... the room was perfect. A tremendous and affordable place to stay in Ojai. The golf courses in Ojai are very high quality... really fun and enjoyable to play. Ojai is a hidden gem, a great getaway from LA.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    115
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
134
231
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved our recent stay at the Blue Iguana and so did our dog. By no means fancy, but not meant to be. Charming and tasteful, clean and comfortable. Decorated and maintained beautifully! Gardens are lovely and breakfast outside great, Staff very nice and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: we paid extra to have a kitchen, but never used it. Too many great dining out choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how great the Inn was. Very clean, well appointed, Our room was very large with everything you would need. Balconies are great places to sit and relax. Sitting outside for breakfast was delightful. Landscaping is lovely. Mosaic Iguana in front of office and Sea Serpent around spa are great eye catchers. Owners have done a great job with this

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of property would be the preference. Front units may get main road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenGalWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed here a few times now, and it is so peaceful. The Casitas are lively, and the plants and flowers are so beautiful. Breakfast in the morning, under the large oak tree is always a special treat!

Room Tip: Love Casita #6, has its own private patio in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Located in a very quiet location. Spanish style casitas and grounds are expertly maintained. Immaculate inside and fully equipped with everything you need. Our kitchen had all the essentials.
The breakfast was great with lots of choices. Bakery items and fruit was very fresh. Breakfast seating on lawn under oak tree or on the veranda. Beautiful place even prettier than the great photos on their website. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My college roommates and I gathered at Blue Iguana last weekend for a wedding in the area. I can't say enough good things about the inn! We loved our suites--between us, we had three different two-beds and a one-bed, all of which were delightfully appointed, clean and comfortable. If I could've taken the bed and sheets home with me, I would have--they were so comfy! It was especially lovely to be able to make a cup of tea and sit outside on our small front porch in the morning. I was impressed that our two-bed suite cost less than a single bedroom in one of the standard hotels in town. Would absolutely recommend this place for families, friend groups or couples--as long as you're not looking for a place for a late-night party (which we weren't), this spot can't be beat. A little bit of a hike into town on foot, but only a short drive or cheap cab ride away from everything. I'd definitely stay here again if I have the chance!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We always travel with our dogs to Ojai (we go for the area hiking rather than the town) and have been pretty disappointed with dog-friendly lodging in the past. It seems it's either astronomically expensive or uncomfortably run down (and still over priced).

Blue Iguana, however, was a delightful surprise. The staff is very friendly, the modified-Mission decor is cute and welcoming (and so much lovely landscaping!), and our room was large and well-appointed - comfortable bed, easy climate control, lots of lovely extras like a fireplace and whirlpool tub big enough for 2. We stayed in a suite so we could have a kitchen (we like to cook, and it makes life easier with the dogs), and it truly felt like a home away from home. I wouldn't describe the price as cheap, but it was completely reasonable for what we got, especially in the area. There's also a nice pool, and a very charming garden seating area that people use for breakfast, but is available all day.

A few FYIs:
-They charge per dog per night instead of one flat rate.
-They have a lot of strict-sounding dog rules, but are actually quite friendly to their canine guests. Just make sure you have everything your pups need; they don't provide beds, bowls, etc.
-The kitchen was pretty bereft of cooking equipment - they didn't even have a large knife or cutting board. (It seems like they don't really expect people to cook, even though it's a full size kitchen that even has a gas range. I had called ahead to ask if they had all the basics and they said they thought they did...) Luckily we brought enough supplies to get by, but it's definitely BYO cooking gear.
-You can hear road noise, at least if your room is on the outside facing the pool. (We could hear the road when we were standing outside the other rooms, but maybe not inside.) If you're from a city you'll barely notice it inside, but it does interrupt the tranquility when you're outside. However, as far as I can tell the Ojai Resort and Spa is the only area hotel that's close to town and not sitting right on the main road, so there's not much you can do to get away from it around Ojai.
-There are a few maintenance details that come along with an older building, but this is pretty much par for the course in a SoCal boutique hotel. The occasional rough edge is more than made up for by the charm.

Takeaway: the Blue Iguana is a dream for Ojai-visiting dog owners, and seems pretty great for everyone else too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan_driscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing