We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California experience”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“California experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A real gem in Ojai! Beautiful grounds, helpful staff, good breakfast and well appointed supreme king room. Close to the downtown area with an easy walking path directly across the road. You cannot go wrong here!

Room Tip: Go for upgrade king as it is further back on the property and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winjotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    116
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
144
241
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was a gem of a hotel! The prices were pretty decent for the area, it was about 150 per night for a double queen room. Super comfortable beds, great pool and hot tub, and very friendly staff. The wifi signal was a little sketchy in-room, but this is kind of a place to get away from it all, so it wasn't really a big turn off.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwessma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very low-key and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The decor includes sculptures in the rooms and around the grounds, which are off-beat without being weird, cute without being cutesy. Our room included two sun masks, a wooden iguana on the wall, and a black metal rooster on top of the TV stand. Of course there is the big blue iguana fountain by the main entry.

I went in the pool every day - it's rare to find one that's so clean but didn't overdo the chlorine. The nearby hot tub is nice too, and nestled in the coils of a "Nessie" type sea creature sculpture. Some artist/decorator/landscaper really had fun the this place!

Morning coffee was great (although not ready before 8:00 am - OK for a vacation), breakfast was OK. Rooms were very clean and quiet, and the showers and plumbing all worked perfectly (sometimes a problem in older properties, but not here). Even the maids were cheerful and helpful.

We love this place, and plan to be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem fine. We had one right by the pool, but not everyone would care about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa maria, ca
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Place is lovely, grounds so welcoming, service was delightful, our weekend couldn't have been better. Pool was very comfortable, didn't swim but enjoyed the sun. Breakfast was very simple, so if your hungry go to a restaurant. Only complaint, the air conditioner was very noisy. Tried to sleep with the fan only but to hot. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms by the pool, very comfortable, great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaMaria_CaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd trip to Ojai and 2nd time staying ai Blue Iguana. We love everything about it! Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful grounds, the rooms are wonderful- each one a little different and unique, perfect breakfast with outside tables, pool and hot tub really nice after a day of shopping or hiking. They have thought of everything, making our stay perfect! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkkk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a wonderful weekend getaway spot. My girlfriend and I went to Ojai for the Lavender Festival and were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the Blue Iguana and it's beautiful landscape. Beware that the pool is close to the highway and a bit noisy w/out a restroom close by or water available. I would highly recommend the Inn get a soda/water machine and an ice machine. Ice was scarce & when we asked for some we were delivered (2) paper cups with ice which they had to run out to the store to get. Also, we tried for an early check in & was told our room was not ready, however when we walked over to our room & peeked in the window-it was! Even with a few rough spots, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were attending a wedding in Ojai so our group had four rooms/bungalows from one to two bedrooms for four nights. The place was in in character with the California/Spanish motif and very tastefully done. The rooms were very "homey" clean and comfortable and in a beautiful, quiet setting. The continental breakfast was sufficient and had a good selection, but after three days we could have used a little more variety. The staff was great and the overall experience was excellent. I highly recommend the Blue Iguana and would stay there again, as would all the other travelers in our group!

Room Tip: We actually had a total of six rooms between our four groups because of availability, and all were g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
490 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing