We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love, love, love the blue iguana!”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
310
Reviewed 8 March 2005

i have stayed here several times, as my son is in school in ojai

the rooms are wonderful, nicely decorated in a rustic but elegant style - the beds are sublime, with comforters and good quality bedding

the price is very reasonable for a single room

the owners also run the "green iguana inn," and in january, when i needed a room at the blue iguana, they were full and put me up in a suite at the green, for the same price as a single room

i always feel welcome and comfortable here - the rooms are clean and the bathrooms have good lighting

i love staying at the blue iguana

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2005

We stayed at the Blue Iguana Inn Suite #5. It was like a one bedroom apartment. The kitchen had some pots and pans, dishes, utensil for your use. The fridge was stocked with some beverages that you can purchase. It also had fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. We went to the grocery store and ate at home one day. That was nice b/c I hate eating out every meal. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was very cozy with warm comforter. The bathroom was spacious too. The decoration was rustic southwestern. The unit was at the very back so it was very quiet. The place had a swimming pool and jacuzzi, but it was raining when we went so we didn't get to take advantage of it. The only complaint I had was that the Wireless Internet connection was poor. But most people probably aren't worried about that. For restaurants, we liked the Sea Fresh Seafood. Though the service wasn't what we were used to, the food was good for the price. I had the grilled yellowtail.

2  Thank joolz425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
1
Reviewed 27 November 2004

Last month I had to spend 10 days in Ojai on business. I didn't have a big budget but really wanted more space than a standard hotel room could provide. Upon researching, I found the Blue Iguana Inn has kitchen suites. I called and was very surprised at the great weekly rates for a suite. I was even more surprised when I arrived. The suite was more like an apartment. In fact, I think it was bigger than my apartment! It had a large bedroom, full sized seperate living room and a full kitchen with a dining area. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the kitchen supplies I needed. In addition the decor was lovely, very comfortable, and someone was odviously paying attention to every detail. There was even a live flowering orchid adding color in the living room. They had free wireless DSL internet access, which made my doing business easy.
In addition, the staff was wonderful. They made me feel right at home during my entire stay.
I would recommend the Blue Iguana to anyone looking for a special place at a great price.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 15 November 2004

I am a local Ojai resident who recently had last minute, out of town guests visit. We didn't have room at our house for them so we started calling local hotels to find them a place to stay. We really wanted them to be somewhere nice although we knew they were on a tight budget. We called around to the local generic motels for pricing. We also decided to call the Blue Iguana Inn because we knew it was really beautiful, unique, and would be something very special for our guests, although we were pretty sure it would be out of their price range. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that their rooms weren't much more expensive than the local chain motel. In fact our friends were quoted less than a $100.00 per night for a spacious room decorated with antique mexican furnishings and original local artwork. When we took them to check in, we were greeted by a very friendly lady who was helpful in every way. She even gave our friends a complimentary suite upgrade when she found out we were locals. We were all delighted by the beautiful landscaping, so natural and lush, as well as the whimsical garden sculptures and broken tile mosaic "blue iguana" fountain.
My friends just loved their stay. The Blue Iguana was a wonderful, yet econimical, place to introduce them to the magic of the Ojai Valley.
Thanks again - Blue Iguana

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
124
Reviewed 7 April 2004

The hotel refused to honor a 2 suite, 1 room 3 day reservation made 2 months prior to arrival date. The hotel management and owner accepted a reservation for one of our confirmed suites from a prior guest and decided to bump us to another suite on the last night of our visit. I explained to the owner (a local Ojia architect) that it would be very inconvenient to move after 2 nights. She had little or no compassion or consideration and although our accomodations were booked months in advance she had no intention of assisiting us. She explained the other party was a repeat guest and therefore a priority (this was our first stay with this property) and if we were not willing to move she would not accomodate us at all. We had called the property to inquire about additional rooms and this news came to us 4 days prior to our arrival. (Had we not called regarding another issue we obviously would have discovered this upon check-in as they had no intention of contacting us prior to our arrival) We were travelling with friends from across the country and had no time to secure other accomodations. We decided to leave Ojai a day early due to this properties egregious error. Durng our stay not once did the owner or management attempt an apology or make amends. The Blue Iguana has lost not only our business but also that of our colleagues and friends in not only Los Angeles but the east coast as well. Diplomacy, integrity and guest satisfaction seems not to be an important factor for this property. Their are other fine properties in the Ojai area that are run by true hospiatlity industry professionals.

24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
los angeles CA
12
Reviewed 23 September 2003

we found the blue iguana to be a charming jumping-off point to explore ojai. the room was pretty, comfortable and reasonably priced. a drawback: the property is close to a busy road. our suite was toward the back and it was quiet. the hotel serves a nice little breakfast in your room. there is a pool--small but useable--and a jacuzzi. this is not a resort where you'd want to hang out on the property but they provide a nice, kid-friendly place to stay and plenty of good information on local restaurants and hikes.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La route est assez bruyante mais les chambres bien isolées
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
508 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
3 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: £113 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ uniquely decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Many with fireplaces and private patios or courtyards. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Enjoy our outdoor pool & jacuzzi and in-room spa services. Dog friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing