We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of Casa Ojai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Ojai Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The price and location are good. Our room was clean, and they even let us check in early, which was very nice. That's all the positive.

The desk staff wasn't overly friendly, but that's okay. Medium score for that. At night, when we desperately wanted sleep, we were roused several times by drunk yahoos yelling in the parking lot. I'm pretty sure they were guests. This I can get past as well. It's not the hotel's fault, exactly, but maybe this is a good place if you want to be drunken yahoo, versus being a quiet couple. As another minor negative, the complimentary "breakfast" was really pretty sad. Two cereal options, yogurt containers, and some bagels that looked like someone sat on them. Also a couple of hard-boiled eggs, which was nice, but the coffee was awful. Negative marks for breakfast, but again, that's minor stuff. Nobody expects a great breakfast at these rates.

The main negative part was a clogged toilet. This was true pretty much right away -- we didn't cause it. When I went to the front desk and asked for a plunger, they reluctantly handed one to me, but said, "this is the staff plunger, so bring it back." As if a paying customer was inconveniencing them. Or maybe their own toilet clogs all the time. I don't want to think about it.

Mainly, there was no, "OMG, we're so sorry you have to deal with this!" It was like they expected it or like it happens all the time. And they definitely didn't offer to knock something off the price of the room.

I was able to unclog our toilet, but for paying $132, I'd like to have a working toilet. Probably just old-fashioned that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a working toilet. LOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BubbaBBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were in Ojai for a family reunion. We have previously visited this area where we stayed at a pricey local place that was a lot of hype but not so great in reality. We decided to give the COI a try. We had 2 ground floor rooms here. Both were clean, comfortable and well appointed with essentials including a Keurig coffeemaker. This is an older 2 story property but the rooms have been refurbished. The bathroom is small but the bedroom area is large with good storage. There is a pool with a shaded area for those who can't tolerate too much sun. We did not sample the breakfast, but did try out local restaurants which opened @ 7am. Staff were instantly responsive to any needs we had. Our only cons were over the weekend when the noise level escalated and parking became a challenge as the hotel reached its max capacity. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunnycc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nice little hotel in a quaint town. Reception staff were so polite and helpful. Nice pool with complimentary breakfast. Lots of restaurants within easy walk.
The rooms was a bit small for the three of us but clean. All rooms front onto the car park so it was a little noisy at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

While the front desk was more than accomadating, the sheets looked like they hadn't been updated for some years. Their were spots on them and the towels, scracted your body like a loofa pad. We asked for ajoining rooms and that didn't happen. There were a total of 3 rooms booked. It is out of time so expect to drive into town to shop. There is is no freezer in the rooms and the front desk was more than accomadating in freezing my ice packs for my medicine. The idea of having breakfeasts served around the pool are was a great idea the fruit wasn't protected with a cover and flys started to appear! Very gross...Again, I applaude the front staff for being more than accomadating to our concerns, but, it wasn't in there control of what was happening with our stay I give them a A+. But, they really need to clean up there act some!!

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't to far from the elevators if you're handicapped you'll regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and two teens had recently stayed at Casa Ojai. The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff were all very pleasant (living in Ojai, how could they not be??). The hotel offers bike rentals to ride into town, which is only a few blocks, the hotel pool and hot tub area is great with outdoor couches on the covered pool deck area (great place to catch a nap!), and relaxing. For those of you looking for that "Hyatt Experience" good luck because the town Ojai does not subscribe to that attitude and you may just want to stay in Ventura. Overall it was excellent and highly suggest Casa Ojai Inn.. Besides all the Prius driving hippies and organic food it is a great place and this is a great place to stay when going there! :) - Craig & Rose H. Ridgewood, NJ

Room Tip: Just do it quit "over-thinking". Oh! And take a ride one day up into the local hills and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSHueneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week at this hotel, and we were blessed beyond measure. It is quiet, relaxing, and beautiful inside and out. It is a simple layout, but very nice. The room was comfortable and well-ordered. We were on the second floor, which gives a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains. It is located within easy walking distance of downtown Ojai, and a great variety of eating establishments, not to mention the Soule Park Golf Course. Having lived in Ojai from 1990-2010, this was the first time we had stayed at a hotel there. We used the pool and surrounding patio area extensively. So refreshing, comfortable, and clean! The staff was very friendly and extremely accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for quiet, simplicity, and comfort. Great value. Of all of the hotels in Ojai, this is one of the classics!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room for the view from the window and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I were attending her daughter's wedding in Ojai and we stayed for 3 nights at the Inn. Overall, this is a good place to stay, with some room for improvement. The staff was welcoming and responded almost immediately to our only concern, which had nothing to do with the quality of the Inn. The pool, a salt water pool, is wonderful as was the complimentary breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. Some upgrades would be useful, such as new carpet in the rooms. But all was clean and neat and well worth the price. I would stay here again without hesitation. One suggestion because the Inn makes an effort to conserve: Install bath fixtures in the tub that allow one to shut the water off and go back to where it was set. This would encourage people to turn the water off as they soaped up. But, overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.8 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ojai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ojai Inn

Address: 1302 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range: £84 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ojai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled among the Topa Topa Mountains in Ojai, California conveniently located near the quaint Ojai Village and across from the newly renovated Soule Park Golf Course, which has been awarded a 4 star rating from Golf Digest. Begin your journey through the Ojai Village with the Ojai Trolley stopping regularly in front of Casa Ojai Inn or if you are feeling adventurous you can rent a bike and ride the Ojai Valley Trail, a paved trail that leads you through Ojai and beyond to the beautiful Ventura County beaches. Our picturesque Libbey Park, located in the center of our small town, rests underneath a canopy of large oak trees with a playground for the kids and a bandstand for our local Summer Night Concerts. Libbey Park is also the home of the public tennis courts used for the finals of The Ojai Tennis Tournament and the Libbey Bowl amphitheater which hosts Ojai's famous Music Festival and numerous other concerts and events throughout the year. The Ojai Village is filled with unique shops, exquisite restaurants, art galleries, and spas. Breath-taking yet challenging golf courses can be found close to the hotel and are perfect for year round golfing. Hotel guests will find Ojai an ideal location for day-trips to the Los Padres National Forest and Lake Casitas for fishing, hiking, biking, and climbing experiences. Remember to bring a swimsuit for the water holes that you may discover as you are exploring the natural beauty. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served daily. Guests will enjoy a refreshing swim in our Salt-Water pool and Jacuzzi and sunbathing on our spacious sundeck. Our guests can enjoy discounts for spa services at the Ojai Day Spa or stay fit with complimentary passes to the Bryant Street Gym. Meeting facilities are available for group events in conjunction with the Soule Golf course banquet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Ojai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ojai Hotel Ojai
Best Western Ojai
Ojai Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing