We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top dollar for average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top dollar for average experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

If you are golfer and enjoy spending your vacation playing golf, this place may please you. Rooms aren't nearly as good as the 5 star hotels I have been before. Amenities are dated and the restaurants were not impressive. I don't understand where the hype about this place comes from.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Rooms Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you Agabri for your comments. In regards to our room enhancement project, we just completed a property wide improvement with new upgraded features such as larger HDTVs and electronics, new accents and amenities, new furniture and bedding, etc. We know that change in décor is very subjective however, our enhancements came from our past guest feedback, which we take very seriously. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and gracious five diamond customer service, which many of our guests have come to enjoy and recognize as you may have noticed from our online reviews. We do sincerely appreciate your candid feedback and we do understand that some amenities and features of our property may not suite all palettes.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

All the best,
Dominic J. Donatoni
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    237
    76
    51
    32
See reviews for
344
691
48
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

From the moment we stepped out of our car we were pampered and treated like royalty. The room we had was beautiful and had a lovely balcony overlooking the rather large and lush property. I personally loved the deep sunken bath and my husband loved the separate shower. We had room service for dinner and it was exceptional from the service staff right down to the delicious food.We walked the lovely grounds and found a spot to eat outside at Jimmy's Pub. We had a lovely view of the huge golf course . Lunch and service was excellent and our server Rudy was very attentive to our needs. We both felt super relaxed and stress free and spoilt. The shops, restaurants and spa are excellent. So if you need an escape from the bad old stresses of life then Ojai Valley Inn and Spa is the place to go . They will gently bring you back to life and let you feel like yourself again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jynxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I just cant say how spot on perfect this property is. From beginning to end. The staff was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and happy. Is it the water?! The food was excellent and the pools were fun. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WENDYLALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Ojai Valley Inn Holiday

LOCATION:
Ojai is rather small and compact. One can walk to most establishments. Hotel also has bike rental.

COMMON AREAS/AMENTITIES:
The checking in/lobby area has high ceiling and spacious. This area as a whole is not very inviting. Amenities are very impressive. The gym is on the larger size with man great, clean, and modern equipment. There are many classes such as yoga and others. There are four pools and some of which are adults only. The Herb Garden pool is the most impressive and one of the most gorgeous pools I have been to. Attendants were very quick at providing drinks and whatever else. There was also sunscreen available for use.

ROOM:
Our room has a fireplace and the view is gorgeous. I was very impressed with the design and comfort of the room. It is very spacious and has all the accouterments of a resort of this caliber. The bath is large and functional. It has both tube and stand shower.

SERVICE/FOOD:
Checking in and checking out were smooth and quick. When asked for a wine opener, it was quickly delivered. Bellboys were also very quick with our bags. We had breakfast and lunch during our stay. While the food was not bad I found it to be on the boring side for a resort of this category.

When I was trying to do the booking, the website was off due to technical problem and had to call. I specifically asked about the bike rental policy whether it is complimentary or there will be a fee. The person told me over the phone that the bike rental is complimentary. When I voiced this upon checking out, they offered to remove the fee. I refused. Did not want to give the impression that we try to get a free ride. The fee for two hours was outrageous in my opinion. I think it was $16 for two hours. On the Bright side, internet was complementary.

RECOMMENDATION: The place is absolutely gorgeous from the design to the amount of space. I would like to give a five star review but take one away due to the misinformation about bike rental and “boring” food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Service is the culture here. No matter where we tapped in to resort personnel, each one always went the extra and unexpected mile, and often anticipated our needs before asking. The Mediterranean climate, farm to table dining, resort facilities, and the overall pampering of guests made our stay a rich and memorable experience. The Maravilla restaurant on the property has stiff local competition but gets our top rating for the finest service, food and wine. The local fruit, vegetables, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and wine in Ojai Valley make this area a foodie's paradise (and the resort grows heirloom tomatoes and herbs on the property). Our five-day, four-night stay was perfect!

Room Tip: The Shangra-la villas have great views, are large, and have two flat screen televisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights just for relaxation. Setting with mountain views, gardens, and pools beautiful . Menus very interesting, food delicious, and service very friendly. Spa a great place to relax after massage( spent afternoon in spa 103 by the pool!)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We love the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa, and stay there every year during the Ojai Music Festival. The resort has always distinguished itself for its outstanding grounds, rooms, and service. However, this year I felt it wasn't quite up to par. While the food seems to have gotten even better (and it was already very good), we were told that our favorite area of the hotel was under renovation, and that we could not stay there. We arrived to see cleaning carts outside of that section of the hotel, and what appeared to be guests staying in that section. That wasn't great, but worse, we were placed in room overlooking the valley with the view half obstructed by the roof below us. That was a great disappointment, especially given the price of the room. We have a young child, and had requested a roll away bed, but that only came after repeated calls to the front desk. It has always been the little touches that made a stay at the Ojai Valley Inn special. In past years, a small treat like a cupcake was always brought for our child, and this year there was none. The bath products had also been changed from the spa products to something more generic. One evening, I was in the room when the staff arrived for the turn down service. No pun intended, but I turned it down that evening. There must have been some miscommunication, because from that point on, we had no turn down service. We got the feeling that the hotel is cutting corners. On the positive side, we spent a lot of time at the pool, and loved the gorgeous pool and deck, but especially the pool staff, who catered to our every need. Family movies are shown by the pool in the evening, and this is always a treat for our little one, who loves snuggling up on a pool chair, and eating popcorn while watching a movie. After one night, the pool staff knew our child's name, and always said hello. How neat!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing