We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The very finest!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spent two nights and wish it was a week. Grounds are impeccible, food delicious and customer service 10 stars. We were made to feel like a king and queen everywhere we went on the resort. Tennis with Tom the pro was great. He made the class fun and helpful. Courts are beautiful, The meals were fantastic but pricey as to be expected. However, town is only a couple of minutes away if you want to save on food. We are not golfers but the course looked terrific. Had a mini suite which was absolutely beautiful and the room attendants were accommodating in every way. A lot of waling and it takes a bit of getting used to they they offer to take you wherever on one of the carts if you need. I would very highly recommend this resort. One of the nicest I have stayed at and the best customer service by far.

Room Tip: Stayled in a mini suite. Not necessary but a huge room, beautiful romantic view and lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you Linda K for sharing your recent experience at the property. We do focus a lot of our training efforts on providing great customer service and it is nice to be recognized for our efforts. I will be sure to recognize Tom for making your tennis lesson fun and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you back on the courts and property in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    242
    76
    53
    31
See reviews for
364
712
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We paid a pretty high price for a fireplace mini suite, which was worth the upgrade- the fireplace was a very nice touch. but the view, which we had specifically requested of the hills, faced the driveway around the place. For $300 a night, that seemed pretty lousy, but we were too tired to request a move. The toiletries were good and the decor nice, but the shower tiles needed a good scrubbing- hard water stains on it and hair on the walls. The carpet also looked worn and in need of a good steam cleaning. The landscape is very pretty- we even picked an orange from the bushes on the way to the rest of the resort. It is a long walk to the various parts around the place. The food was good, but again the restaurant looked in need of a good deep cleaning. The pub smelled a bit like mold and also needed a good clean. For the price, it was a bit disappointing, although I understand that the place is quite old and has an interesting history.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and away from the road. Also ask for one in the main building if you do not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hongdemao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, General Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
On behalf of all the associates of the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa please accept our sincere apologies for some of your cleanliness issues. I can assure you that your feedback helps us evaluate and take action with our need areas, we pride ourselves on our facility and its surroundings which includes the cleanliness. Most of our rooms have received a recent enhancement which included new furniture, carpets, draperies and upgraded electronics, we are just about complete with this project. So I hope we get the chance to regain your confidence when your travels bring you back Ojai way, please don't hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss your experience further and thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,
Shaun O'Bryan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here. The room was beautifully decorated, including a fireplace which we used nightly. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had requested a room with a view and were disappointed when we got our initial room. The bellman asked what was wrong and when we told him, he jumped on the phone and asked for another room. He got not one, but two rooms for us to preview...even when we knew the hotel was basically full. We ended up with a lovely view of the golf course and mountains out by the spa. The pool areas are also lovely... used the herb garden pool during the day, great views of the mountains, and jacuzzi by the spa at night as it was close to our room. We even tried out the meditation session on the day we hung around the resort. Everything was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, worth it if you are in your room for any amount of time. We were out by the spa, ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you Boston59_10 for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you had such a relaxing weekend and that we were able to locate a room with a view that met your expectations for your weekend.

Thank you again for your time in sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in mid-February as a romantic belated Vday mini-vacay away from our son and the NJ snow. When we arrived at our room, which was in one of the older buildings, the décor in the bedroom was updated in a grey modern style but the bathroom and the entrance were not updated and had the "Spanish Colonial" red tile and super old and outdated tub. We bought our stay on Jetsetter at a reduced rate, so for the price we paid, it did not bother us. However, it would be exceptionally disappointing for a normal rate.

What did bother us within an hour of being in the room is my husband stepping on a wet red stain on the carpet between the bed and the night stand. We called for housekeeping and waited for quite some time. As we waited, we further investigated by moving the furniture and examining it closer with the table lamp. We were hoping for it to be a wine stain or ketchup, but were shocked that it looked like BLOOD. We called the front desk and they kindly moved us to another room. After repacking, the nice housekeeper finally arrived (guess he was on the other side of the resort).

The new room looked the same as the prior one sans wet blood like stain. We then unpacked, stashed our valuables in the safe and went to the pool. When we returned to get ready for dinner, the safe would not open. Security and/or engineering came but after multiple attempts, apologies and a bit of time, it was determined that they had to DRILL the safe and replace it with a new one. That being said, they were super nice about it and drove us to the restaurant after finally drilling it open to retrieve our possessions and paid for our dinner, which was quite expensive.

The service at dinner was exceptional. The food was good, but overpriced (however, we did not pay for it). The only thing I did not like was the LONG BLONDE HAIR that I almost ate while taking a bite of my scallop.

The next day was better, although the drain in the shower at the spa wasn't really working very well and I was ankle deep in water for most of my short shower. It was not that bad given the prior day. We had a lovely couples massage and relaxed by the pool there. The spa, its pools and restaurant are nice (although the woman's wet area needs some regrouting).

The staff was apologetic and responsive and the grounds are lovely (even while suffering through a drought). However, there was so many mistakes that happened to us within a 6 hour span that it is very difficult to rate this as a top notch hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room NOT in the original buildings of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you RAnn2014 for the time you took to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Inn. We take guest comments very seriously as they are the best indicator of our performance.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had encountered during your stay. I assure you, this was certainly not to our 5-diamond standard of service and quality and I have addressed with each of the department managers to ensure these issues do not occur in the future. We pride ourselves on delivering an uncompromised level of luxury and excellent service to all our guests and I was disappointed to hear we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations.

We are always looking at ways to better train and develop our entire team, in addition to enhancing and the physical product and property here at the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa. We will be using your candid comments to better assist us with our ongoing development program for the property.

Thank you again for the time in writing your review and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The only word to describe Ojai Valley Inn is Magical. We came for a fun girls weekend getaway and were spoiled the entire weekend. The resort is beautiful and the service was fantastic. We visited the spa and all had treatments that were so relaxing - some treatment rooms even have fireplaces! We ate dinner at Miravilla one night and the food was so good..especially try the pork belly appetizer and the vanilla poached lobster for entree. There is a beautiful walking trail that takes you into town (about a mile) where you can do wine tasting or do a little shopping. We also were able to get away one morning for a hike on shelf road. We can't wait to get back - I still can't stop thinking about what a great time we had while we were there. This is in my top 5 vacations of all time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you FunWATravelers for your recap of your "magical" experience you had with us! We are glad you were able to enjoy the property for your girls getaway and indulge in Spa Ojai for some relaxing treatments.

Thanks again for your review and your travel tips for others to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My friends and I stayed at the property on the girls' getaway spa package. Overall, it was a wonderful and relaxing weekend and we'd stay at the hotel again. There were so many great things about the hotel so I'll start with the pros:

- Property was absolutely beautiful! The hotel is the definition of luxury. The front desk surprised us with a 2 category room upgrade to a fireplace suite right across from the spa. The room was incredibly spacious with many wonderful features such as a giant bathtub. There is also turndown service.

- The spa facilities were very nice and included every bathroom amenity you could possibly need. My friends and I especially liked the outside lounge area on the second floor since you could then actually talk while waiting for your treatment. I got a facial and my aesthetician did a great job in making sure the extractions weren't painful.

- There were many classes and activities offered throughout the day. My friends did the pilates and TRX classes and they felt both instructors were really good. The classes also weren't crowded.

- One of our favorite things about the trip was having smores each night. It was interesting that the smores kits included Reeses peanut butter cups. We didn't actually put the Reeses in our smores but we thought it was fun that the hotel was trying something different.

Now for the cons:

- The worst thing about the hotel is the overpriced lackluster food. We ate at Oak Grill for dinner and Cafe Verde for lunch. Given the hotel's luxury status and the prices they charge, we were so disappointed that the food was simply average. It seemed like they were trying too hard with the food combinations at Oak Grill since the flavors just didn't work. At Cafe Verde, we expected more healthy options given that the restaurant is at the spa. To give you an idea of the pricing, I paid $19 for a quesadilla that came with a tiny salad and $9 for a smoothie at Cafe Verde. My friend paid $18 for a vegetable tart that was teeny tiny. We decided to eat outside of the hotel after those meals.

- It's pretty confusing to find your way around the property. It's hard to tell which roads allow cars and the direction signs are small, which makes it especially hard to find your way around at night. The good thing is that there are a good number of employees driving golf carts that stop and ask if you need help.

- For the most part, the service was good. Our server at Oak Grill comped my friend's entree since she was so disappointed with her vegetable tart. At Cafe Verde though, our server was really slow and she didn't know the menu. My friend asked to make her noodles vegan but the server had to double check even though the vegan option was clearly stated on the menu.

If the food was a lot better, I'd definitely bump up my rating to excellent. The weekend was definitely still very memorable and I hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you LC411 for your review of your girls getaway spa weekend. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of the Spa Ojai experience and even enjoyed our Smores...next time we highly recommend you try the Reeses peanut butter cup smores!

As of the first of March, we started updating all of our menus throughout the property to maintain fresh and innovative ideas in our food and beverage outlets. We hope on your next visit you will be able to experience our new options and offerings.

Thank you again for your review of the property and sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a beautiful property. A hidden gem! Wonderful experience.
The room was large, clean and beautiful views. The food was great, love the bar area! Now the spa, it was unbelievable, facials, massage, wraps pedicure. They did a fantastic job. Next time I want to play golf, it was raining this trip-which California needed desperately !
I will definitely go back and enjoy this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We had a large room over looking the golf course, ask the reservation dept. for a room to fit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torreypines2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you torreypines2012 for your recent review of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa. We are glad you were able to enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating Spa experience with us at Spa Ojai. We look forward to introducing you to our challenging, yet entertaining golf course on your next visit back.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you back in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing