We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“An unexpected paradise”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Combining glorious views, cleanliness, friendly staff, fantastic food and peaceful ambiance of the Valley Inn = the most perfect holiday break. We'll be back in a heartbeat. Thank you for the best time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Danielle W, happy to hear you had such a great time with us! Come back and visit us anytime your travel plans bring you back to California. We understand you have many options to choose from when visiting and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    235
    76
    51
    32
See reviews for
343
691
48
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Recently spent a couple of amazing days at the Resort. All the staff from the check-in reception to the restaurants, resort shops, room service and even the poor men who have the job of lifting our overweight luggage were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was much more than we had expected even for a 5 Star Resort and was topped off by the magical view from our windows. Even had time it fit in a relaxing massage. All in all an amazing couple of days in a Resort that I will certainly recommend to all my friends and colleagues. Thanks Ojai !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 388Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Your welcome 388Marilyn! Happy to hear you had such a fun and memorable time with us. We know you have many options when visiting California and appreciate you choosing the Ojai Valley Inn for your trip. Also, thank you for recognizing the associates throughout the property that made your stay most memorable.

We appreciate you recommending us to your friends and colleagues and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Last week my husband surprised me with an overnight stay at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. He told the concierge, when he booked the room, that it was my birthday. He also mentioned we were married at the Inn several years ago. The first words from the valet upon our arrival,was 'Happy Birthday Mrs. Harris and Happy Anniversary". The bell captain also greeted us in a like manner. We had wine and cake waiting for us in our room. We had reservations at Maravilla, the restaurant on the premises. When we arrived, there were rose petals on the table which, by the way, was the best table in the house. They had decorated the table with chocolate scrip to recognize our celebration. The food was incredible. I had the sea bass and my husband the filet....Exceeded our expectations.

Our room was fabulous: great south west view, which I would recommend for the cooler months. Our deck was lovely. If you come in the warmer months, you might want a north facing room to avoid any direct sun on your patio or deck.

Note: Always let the bell hop take you and your luggage to you room. The property is quite large and not suited for lugging your belongs.

Room Tip: Let them valet park your car and take you and your luggage to your room on their cart
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you Janet H for sharing your Birthday and Anniversary with us! It is always our goal to exceed expectations and were delighted to hear we succeed during your most recent stay with us.

We understand the importance of those milestones and we appreciate the opportunity to allow us to share in them with you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for many more milestones for the future!!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This would have to be the the most magical venue for our family get together. The management and staff were excellent and attended to all our needs with friendliness and efficiency. We enjoyed many of the activities available. The scenery from our rooms was spectacular. We will not hesitate to recommend this resort to our friends overseas and look forward to our next family reunion here.
Jan B

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you Russ B and Jan B for choosing to stay with us during your visit to California. We know you have many options to choose from and glad we made the list as your magical venue for your family reunion. Hopefully you and your family will consider us for an annual family reunion venue going forward.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to California.

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Every few years, my mother and I go to this spa and stay for a few days. This was our fifth stay over the last 10 years. I dream of going back in between. You cannot believe how fast you de-stress and detox from the real world. By the second day I have stopped checking work emails and am not returning work phone calls.

First, you must get a deep tissue massage by LAUREN. She is unbelievable. I have received many massages in many place, including resorts and spas, and she is the best. Seriously, call in advance and make sure to have at least one massage with her.

We stayed April 2-5 in the Casa Loma building, which is overlooking the beautiful golf course. The room was a mini suite and had double queen beds that were extremely comfortable. Ask for a mini fridge and they will deliver it to your room before you arrive. The rooms has a gas fireplace, There are two bath robes, slippers, a safe, blow dryer, lovely Ojai spa shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lavender bath salts, shower caps, mini tea light candles, a Keurig with k-cups including: Donut Shop decaf, regular (Dark Magic) green tea, Earl grey etc. Everything to make your stay comfortable.

There is a big flat screen tv and a vcr (so you could bring dvds). There is free wi fi but it is spotty (so watching a movie on your device may not be great). We watched movies each night - they have a range of new releases and daily specials. We watch "Dallas Buyers Club" and "the Butler."

The spa is absolutely wonderful. when you arrive, you get checked in, and they give you a robe and slippers along with a locker (no cell phones allowed!) Each day we went over and got several treatments The spa area is downstairs. There is a steam room (which was unfortunately under repair and upgrade during our stay), a sauna, and a Jacuzzi. It is clothing optional. About half the woman are in bathing suits. There are towels, cucumber water and apples. There are showers as well. You can spend the entire day lounging in the spa area and then go upstairs for treatments.

On my first full day we got there around 9:00 am (after going for a lovely long walk along the path just outside the resort). I had reflexology at 10:00 and a detox massage at 2:00. In between we went in the Jacuzzi, lounged in the robes that they provide, had a great lunch at Cafe Verde (right outside the spa). The food is great, and they have fresh squeezed juice (like carrot, beet and strawberry, or spinach, parsley and mango, etc.) They have classes all day, including stretching, yoga, Pilates, meditation, etc.) that run all day long and are included in the price.

We decided to order room service each night and ate in front of the fireplace in the room. The food was very good. The staff is extremely pleasant. The hotel is privately owned by a family in New York who apparently treats the staff very well - and it shows. They all appear to be very happy to work there and make your stay as wonderful as possible.

The walls in the hotel room are very thick and you do not hear anything. It is very peaceful and serene. I guess that is why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dda4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you dda4life for your detailed review of your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your continued loyalty over the past 10 years and look forward to many more to come.

Sounds like you enjoyed all the many attributes of the property that we offer and we are happy to hear we were able to provide you the peace and serenity you were seeking during your stay with us.

Also, thank you for recognizing Lauren and I will be sure to recognize her for making your massage so amazing!

We hope to see you and your mother back in Ojai for another getaway in the near future...

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This resort has everything you want and expect in a 5 star resort. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. From the magnificent grounds & stylish, well equipped rooms to the friendly, professional staff...we can't think of one aspect that didn't impress us. Definitely returning to this hidden gem!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you ozjodi for sharing your experience! We are happy to here you enjoyed the grounds and the rooms, but more importantly the associates... We focus a lot of effort with the training and development of our associates and appreciate you recognizing their work and effort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to this hidden gem in the near future!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Just finishing a magical couple of days in this amazing Resort, I have been coming here for a few years now and it seems to get better each time. The service is outstanding which starts from when you drive in, the Doormen and Bellman are so helpful and genuine. The person who checked me in was friendly and gave me an upgrade with a beautiful view over looking the golf course, my room was large and clean and love the lavender sprig on my towel by housekeeping. We ate in the Oak grill and Maravilla the two nights we were there and were treated like VIP's, food was delicious and you must have desert when dining in the restaurants as they are amazing. The spa was busy but the service was like clock work, very friendly and the muffins at Cafe Verde were tasty.
All in all I highly recommend this Resort especially now as all the horticulture is starting to bloom.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank seekerSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you seekerSanFrancisco for your recap of your magical days with us! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty over the years and are glad you were able to enjoy many aspects of the resort services during your stay.
It is indeed a great time to come visit and see our landscape continuing to bloom throughout the property. Our Horticulture team works hard to maintain the grounds and appreciate the recognition for their work!

We look forward to the next time your travel plans bring you back to Ojai!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing