We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ojai Valley Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capri(Ojai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakridge Inn(Oak View)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,761 results
Traveller rating
1,330
258
85
56
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,330
258
85
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseoak grillfamily pooljimmy's pubadult poolbeautiful resortspa treatmentsmain pooldriving rangebell staffmini suiteartist cottagefireplace suiteplay golfpink momentsanta barbaratennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,761 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After 10 days of travelling around California we left LA for Ojai. The area is beautiful, lots of hiking trials, bike routes etc. Ojai is laid back and very relaxed and so is the hotel. The staff were excellent and the level of service top notch. The room was comfortable , with complimentary paper, water and wi fi and no stupid resort fees. The pools were split into family and adults only which works for all concerned and the pool attendants were incredibly helpful. We ate in all 3 restaurants which provided good food at fair prices in very different styles. The views , the design of the Ojai valley inn and the laid back feel made me feel that I was a million miles from LA. Why not 5 star? We played golf twice the course had a hole closed on each occasion due to a new watering system being installed and the greens had been aerated and sanded which spoilt what was a great golf course. I would return again once the maintenance was complete. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

We appreciate your feedback P G. We can certainly understand the frustration with the golf course, but the maintenance work and irrigation renovation will only improve the golfing conditions and experience for years to come. The irrigation project should be completed by the first week of October, which will not only save on water usage it will also provide better coverage for all areas of the course.

We hope next time you are back in California you will come out and experience the property again!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I booked this place on the advice of a friend. We celebrated our 17 year anniversary at the Inn and we did NOT want to leave. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon as many people were checking out. We were instantly upgraded to a spacious ground level suite right by the adult pool. The staff was amazingly friendly, accommodating, and helpful in every way. The grounds are impeccably well kept and the numerous restaurants were awesome! The Ojai Valley Inn and Spa far exceeded our expectations! We will be going back every year from now on.

Room Tip: Book a stay beginning on Sunday. Let them know if you are celebrating a special occasion. You may get a free upgrade as it is not crowded during the week.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Congratulations on your 17th Anniversary! We are delighted to see you and your wife enjoyed your 17th Anniversary stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future...

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

very happy with the experience. we left the kids at home but very kid friendly. lots to do but we just relaxed by the pools. staff was great made the vacation run smooth. need reservations if you want to sit outside on the weekends for dinner to see the sunset. the country potatoes may have been sub par but that is it. it's really well done here.........

Room Tip: rooms and pools for everyone. quite to louder and the in between. bring cash cause your going want to tip.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allmost40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

We appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience. Thank you for recognizing our team and their efforts in ensuring a smooth stay with us! We hope to welcome you back to the property soon...

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Best place to unwind and relax. We first had a room that faced the golf course but they were doing work that made noise so we asked to be moved and we were moved to the Herb Garden rooms overlooking the pool. A gorgeous room with tub and fireplace and patio. Just loved it. We asked for a mini fridge which was awesome. There are four pools. A lap pool, a leisure pool, family pool and herb garden pool. All great service and beautiful. We ate at the pool for lunch and Jimmy's pub overlooking the golf course. We had a picnic under the wisteria arbor which is in the herb garden. Such a wonderful place.didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: The herb garden area is lovely but any where is gorgeous.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and happy to hear we were able to find you a better location for your room during our golf course improvement project.

We are currently finishing up the final stretch of our golf course irrigation renovation project which will assist with significant water conservation measures and an overall better product. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this project!

We hope to see you back at the property in the near future.

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a long weekend at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to celebrate our anniversary, and decided to bring our dog along with us since we'd read the hotel was dog friendly. While our stay wasn't perfect, it was very good!

In terms of the hotel itself, the grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, and I loved walking around each morning exploring the different gardens and buildings on the property. The landscaping is amazing as are the mission-style buildings.

We don't golf, but the golf course looked beautiful, and there was a ton of activity on and around it. I did utilize the spa facilities for a massage, and enjoyed the sauna, steam room, and hot tub while waiting for my massage to begin. Overall the massage was great, but overpriced, which is somewhat expected when you do a massage at a resort spa. If you utilize the rest of the spa facilities before or after your massage though, the cost is a little more worthwhile.

Similarly, the restaurants (and in-room dining) at the hotel were more expensive due to convenience. The food was decent, but probably 30% more than what you would pay if you were to just go into downtown Ojai. You're just paying for the experience and convenience of being able to eat at the resort rather than go into town, so as long as you're fine with that, it's a perfectly fine meal. One of perks for us was that Oak Grill, Joe n Go, and Jimmy's Pub had outdoor seating that allowed dogs to sit with you, so that was really convenient for us. If you have the time and means to walk or drive into downtown Ojai though, the restaurants are somewhat cheaper, and the few places we ate at were tasty and fresh.

The hotel is also conveniently located to the Ojai Valley trail - in fact, it picked up right across from our room in the hotel (in the Topa Court building), and goes for a number of miles into Ventura and Ojai. We walked the trail at least twice a day to go into town and to walk our dog, and while it wasn't the most exciting trail, it was safe and easy. Plus it was nice that you could take it right to the downtown area.

We also loved our room - the only thing I didn't like about the room was that the bathtub was somewhat old-fashioned with a older looking shower curtain. I generally prefer walk-in showers with glassdoors, particularly at hotels since they just feel more hygenic. But the bathroom was clean and spacious, as was the main bedroom. The bed was comfy, and the room well laid-out and decorated. We also appreciated that the staff had a dog bed and bowls for our dog, and the back door to our room opened out into a grassy patio on the ground floor, which made taking our dog out very easy and convenient.

The staff was also great - b/c our dog was with us, we wanted to make sure they didn't go in to clean the room while he was there (would make him nervous), so they were good about coming to clean the room as soon as we called them to let them know he'd be out for the next couple hours on a hike. We'd always come back to a clean and newly stocked room.

One small flaw if you're in the Topa Court building - it can be a bit loud. You're near the main lobby and atrium, and we'd often hear people (not sure if was guests or staff) talking or walking by as they pass your room in the early morning or late evening. There was also a wedding or some sort of party at the hotel the weekend we were there, and we were awoken several times one night by them hanging out in the hallway or atrium after the party. That's not really the hotel's fault though as the guests should have known to be more considerate, but that's something to consider if you're a light sleeper and would like to request a quieter location on the property.

Overall, a great - although pricey - experience.

Room Tip: Topa Court rooms are convenient but can be a little loud in that area as you're near the lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank castilrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you castilrm for your review of your experience with us! We appreciate your recap of your stay and also your suggestions and tips for the future traveller.

There are several improvement projects scheduled for later this year and first part of next year with upgrading many of our bathrooms in several of our buildings to enhance the quality.

We are also doing many changes throughout our food and beverage outlets and will have many more changes in the coming year ahead! We are confident that you will enjoy these new enhancements.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews