We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Wonderful in July -- Despite a 106-degree Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My 13-year-old god child and I made our fifth visit to Ojai Valley Inn and Spa together. We visited during her spring break in past years; this year we decided to spend a few days in July. had been once without her in the summer but she had never been to Ojai in July, and this July was really hot. We spent most of our time at the pool.

We found the staff attentive and flexible; the grounds were beautiful; and the food was certainly acceptable. If you spend five days at the pool, the limited menu can get a bit repetitious.

We really appreciated the pool staff; they were eager to assist in any way they could; the pool chef made us a fun fruit plate; and the kids (and adults) all enjoyed the Dive Inn movie on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
There are newer reviews for Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,531 - 1,537 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

FLAWLESS! Your every want, need, and desire, is anticipated, met, and exceeded.

From the superb down comforters, to the abundant fluffy white towels, everything is sparkling clean. The toiletries provided are divine and generous, with ever thoughtful little detail attended to, right down to the container with cotton swabs.

The hospitality is above and beyond what one would expect. Without exception, every staff member we met was so very gracious. It was clearly apparent they loved working there, and wanted every aspect of our stay to be delightful. From the housekeeper who gave is a ride in her cart to the Herb Garden Pool (and then made certain she was available to give us a ride back to our room) to the staff we met walking the stunning grounds, each person was kind and went out of their way to make sure we were having a perfect stay.

Everywhere we looked, the grounds were so beautiful - we were compelled to take a photo. The setting (over 200 acres) is striking. Clearly, the landscaping was done by a great talent. The gardens were enchanting with fragrant flowers and herbs perfectly placed. The herb garden and adjacent delightful Herb Garden Pool was our favorite area.

The Artist’s Cottage offers some really fun classes. We truly enjoyed the “Blending” class, where one is able to concoct their own personal fragrance. They also offer art and craft classes there as well.

We didn’t avail ourselves of the Spa this time, because there was so much to see and do at the Inn and surrounding areas. But, we looking forward to some of the special treats they offer on subsequent visits.

There are three restaurant choices within the grounds. We had breakfast one morning on the outside deck of the Maravella. The views were lovely. Our favorite place to dine was Café Verde. They offer the freshest most wholesome faire, and the lemon tart is not to be missed.

From the soft music turned on in your room every night when your bed is turned down, to the gorgeous facilities and gracious hospitality offered, you will be planning your next trip to the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, before you even leave. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallydisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This was our second stay. We were on a mid week golf/spa plan. It was great. A relaxing stay, pleasant golf course, superb spa, beautiful location and grounds and good food.

It has an informal though luxurious atmosphere which we prefer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldhrhitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I would say that this hotel is at best a 4 star NOT 5 star as we were expecting. The location is wonderful and the resort grounds lovely too, however the rooms have thin walls as we could here the people talking in the room next to us and their TV quite loud even with earplugs?! So we had to move rooms (which was a pain) to a room where there was no one staying either side of us which was better for our last two nights. Also I would say that to become 5 star the rooms would need updating!

Another big disappointment was that both the spa pool and the other adult only pool had CRAP sunloungers with NO cushions so therefore very uncomfortable?! Why they have spent so much money on building a beautiful new pool only to put cheap sunloungers is beyond me. Again this is not 5 star standard such as The Four Seasons! And not what we were expecting from the pictures of the resort on their website. The main family pool however dos have nice sunloungers but we did not want to lay there and have to put up with other peoples screaming kids. The pool at The Four Seasons in Westlake is far better as are the rooms, shame theres not a Four Seasons in Ojai! The spa was ok again a bit old and dated.

If this hotel is charging the prices that they charge they need to invest, improve and update!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonlondonU.K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I had always wanted to visit Ojai Valley Inn and it did not disappoint. I booked through Perfect Escapes and they were wonderful to deal with plus I think we got a pretty good deal. Everyone we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. The spa really is wonderful in every way. I can see why it is top rated. The workout room was really well equipped. The workout machines have music videos with headsets which I thought was pretty cool. I took a wonderful yoga/ball class and had a great massage. It was a little cool when we were there (earlier this week) and so we only went to the pool the day we arrived. This would really be a great girlfriend destination or couple destination.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenericID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Went for our 5 year Anniversary and will go back every year! Just the perfect setting to get away from it all. Great rooms. Great pool. Great food. Great scenery. Great weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Never Ever Plan and event at this property! They will spring a draconian contract on you last minute that leaves you as a host responsible for "All financial losses to the Hotel" should the event not take place, including a force majeure event. They do not care about customers in any way shape or form! When trying to plan a wedding at this storied facility, we were met with unhelpful and rude staff, from the Wedding Coordinator on up to the General Manager! These people don't want your business and are unresponsive, rude and lie! It took several days for any response from the Catering/Wedding coordinator. She would say things like, I will have that to you in the morning and never send anything until called again to remind of the promise made to send something. We even made an appointment to drive up and see the facility. We arrived on time and ready to tour the facility, but the Coordinator was with another couple. She dismissed my fiancee and I, turned her back on us and went on with the other tour! How rude! Bottom Line, Look somewhere else! Even after being paid lip service after complaining to the GM they did nothing to rectify the situation! If anyone from the Crown family reads this...a change is needed at your resort! The current administration is tarnishing your good name!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aprovda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range: £309 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing