We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rustic Oasis Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranch Motel(Olancha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portal Motel(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dow Villa Motel(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberline Motel(Lone Pine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
13
28
33
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
28
33
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgas stationhot waterroad tripmilesdesertmattressesvegasfridgebunniessignallashorseshoesky
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Motel really is rustic, but quite charming, perfectly located for people on their way to death valley or coming from the south toward east-sierra nevada. not a place to go for an extended vacation, but a good night stop-over place.

Room Tip: The beds in room 6 were a little narrow. I assume it's the same for all rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This motel should be closed. It is very old and was not maintained. You better have a good back to sleep in these beds. It was not dirty but we would not have stayed there for more than one night. Some people may find this place romantic because you think you travel in time 60 years ago. The host Judy was very friendly and did her best to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: go farther on the road
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papoutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We chose this as a stopover between leaving Death Valley and journeying on to Yosemite.
We received a warm welcome and were shown to a clean room. Unfortunately, it was not the room we'd booked via the internet, but the error was soon rectified. Small, but clean room.

Everything outdated and bathroom definitely in need of refurbishment. Patchwork quilt and frilled pillow cases were a nice touch though. Curtains very thin so sleep quality poor owing to outside lights (left on overnight) shining into room. The shower was, however, powerful with lots of hot water. Only one small towel per person supplied, so getting dried after a shower and hairwash proved a challenge! No coffee machine in room, but coffee is available in the office for a 'donation'. Ditto toast and jam breakfast.

Be aware when booking via internet booking site (as we did) that rooms do not necessarily match description e.g. microwave and fridge not available in all rooms. Small TV, but no remote control available. No wi-fi, but good cell reception.

We arrived on Sunday so only decent eatery (Adrianas) closed, but able buy freshly baked pizza at local Mobil gas station. Lone Pine has more restaurants, coffee shops, grocery and other stores available, but is 25 miles away.

A reasonable place to stay if you are on a budget, but if you like to be nearer to amenities, places to walk to and a bit more comfort then pay a bit more and stay in Lone Pine. If we return, that is what we will do.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger double room with fridge (old but working) ask for room 4.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clogmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Judy is very friendly. If u need a place to stay overnight and don't have high expectations - go for it. Clean, comparitevely quiet, only the bed in a $39 room is way too soft&sqeeky, fyi. Other than that we had no issue there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelisHealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I selected the Rustic Oasis based on the images of the completely worn down sign and the classic roadside motel set-up: 8 rooms in a row, parking in front. It completely envisaged my mental image of a roap trip type place to stay. We were not disappointed! The outside of the motel looks the part, but the room and bed were really quite comfortable. Judy is a very energetic person who has a lot to tell about the surrounding area (be sure to ask her about U2's Joshua Tree!). Breakfast is optional (recommended!). Dining options in Olancha are limited to Adrianna's Mexican Cantina (until 8 pm) or subs at the Mobil gas station. Alternatively, drive up to Lone Pine.
Great place to stay as a basis for a Death Valley, Mt Whitney or Alabama Hills trip. For all you European travellers: this is as "Rustic" as it gets, in a good way!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marieke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews