We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitly rustic and old..”
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rustic Oasis Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitly rustic and old..”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Small hotel with 8 rooms. The place mostly resembles an abandoned place from the 50s and 60s anywhere along route 66. Stayed in a room with two doubles(one bed was in the closet). Everything was old and RUSTIC but clean. Our room had a small counter top refridgerator, microwave. Everything in the room works, tv ,lamps, we had hot water, wall heater, even little bars of soap. The service was excellent as she waited up for us on a late check in. Very friendly but the place was OLD...Eye openner for our kids and made for a memorable experience though. I guess not many place left in California.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baubauwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    31
    19
    12
See reviews for
17
48
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

A decent motel. Beds and the toilet were clean. Our room had 2 beds, which was good because we were three friends. A TV and microwave are available. I would not expect more from a motel.

It is an ideal location if you are heading to Death Valley (the 190 highway to Death Valley is just a mile ahead of this motel)

an important thing to be careful about: No food options around the motel.
The deli at the Mobil pump a mile north closes at 10 PM. If you plan to arrive after 10 PM, you have drive to the Subway in Shell gas station 25 miles south of the motel in Pearsonville. Or drive 20 miles north from the motel to eat at Lonepine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArvindDevalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnetka
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This was acctually a really neat experience, our transmission on our car broke down coming back from a Bishop Creek Fishing trip. My Girlfriend was so freaked out when I said we better turn around and stay at the motel back there the car is breaking down sure enough as soon as I said that the transmission blew, we were able to pull the car into the driveway and get safely parked. We had our 11/mo puppy w/ us which loced every minute of the experience except when we had to go to sleep she kept crying we believe maybe she was seeing ghost lol. Anyways next morning we woke up and hung out waiting for the Tow truck to come & I had time to walk behind the motel & 420 while the girl was in the shower, WOW what a view this place had & so quiet I loved every minute, i will probaly stop off again sometime in the future just for memories sake.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coll2ctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed here 1 night and enjoyed our stay. Friendly owners and lots of space on the property. Enjoyed the rustic element though the room we had was a bit tatty. This did not distract from the overall experience as you do get a bit of a bates motel experience (in a nice way). For a spaced out motel experience go here. If you like the outdoors go here. If you are afraid of small insects then avoid!

Hope to visit again on my next trip to this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dover6Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Stopped here for a night on our whirlwind tour of the desert southwest / Death Valley. We arrived a bit early to check in, then spent time checking out Owens Lake and the 4x4 trails into the local mountains.

My wife an I are pretty easy going and this was a decent place to rest for the night. If you expect 5 star treatment, it's probably best to drive on through. But if all you need is a basic place to sleep and shower in the morning, it's fine. As a bonus, we scored Room #4 and 'free upgrades', just like the movie Vacancy!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS_4x4_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Holly crap what a mess this place shuold be close down..do NOT STAY HERE. Sleep in your car..

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank timproffitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Olancha hotels

Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel with friends on our way to Death Valley from Kings Canyon. I read the review from the person in 2006 and thought it would be a hoot! It was basic but clean (avoid room 2 though, our friends had that one it was not great). We also went to the diner down the road which was hilarious-great waitress!
Would highly recommend staying here, the view in the morning is incredible and the swing is a must!
Also great value cos its right at the junction for Death Valley and saves paying the prices you would pay staying there.

  • Liked — The view in the morning
  • Disliked — the spiders in the shower!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wufflebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olancha
0.2 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
23.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
671 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#3 of 3 in Olancha
64 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
24.7 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Property: Rustic Oasis Motel
Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rustic Oasis Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing