We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
16
37
26
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
37
26
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pacific crest trail dishes and pots and pans cooking items fishing cabin sofa bed room was large lassen pct microwave motel cottage tv faucet conditioner creekside shampoo
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Very disappointing trip this year to say the least, and it saddens me to write this. My family has been going to the Hat Creek area for years and often stayed at the Hat Creek Resort before it was taken over by the current management/corporation. The current managment is not "people friendly", and when you asked one the of their staff a question, the management would step in and sarcastically say "they are just employees." How embarassing for us as well and the "employee." The ladies who checked us in were very nice, but lacked in training...one the most frustrating experiences we ever had! We were there over the Labor Day weekend and you would think they would staff it accordingly, as well as stocking up on basic items in their general store, and maintaining the facility especially the restrooms!. In addition...don't pay cash! My son , who paid cash, was overcharged. They didn't deduct the deposit made several months in advance when he checked in. By the time he realized what had happened there was no way to prove it. When we asked the managment to check on it we were treated poorly, and of course they said we didn't over-pay. Those who have stayed there before know what I am talking about. Their receipts are very confusing. Overall...the rates were to high for what you receive...in both facilities and service. Under the current conditions, and management...we won't go back. I recommend staying at Rippling Waters, Hereford Ranch, Rancheria, or Cassel Campground. Much better customer service!!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Motorcycle friendly, We stayed in their little motel, clean rooms w/refer & microwave, great heaters it snowed the night we were there in MAY! Hat Creek across the parking lot from our rooms. Friendly staff
Note; bring some food or snacks very few restaurants in the area and they close early

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vnrcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

What a lovely spot. Too bad it was ruined by loud, obnoxious road construction just 100 yards from our cabin. When asked when it would end, no one knew. Or really even cared. Upon checking out two nights early we were told it would be taken care of, which we assumed to mean we would get our money back. Not true. No apologies, no refund and extremely rude customer service. In addition, no hot water when we got up in the morning. They offered a "scenic, relaxing vacation spot". Not even close. We will never go back.

Date of stay: July 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very friendly staff, perfect out of the way location, clean little hotel, Hat creek flowing just across from the front of rooms, should have packed a fishing pole. The heaters worked very well in the rooms considering it was snowing when we left the next morning on the Harleys. Would definitely go again if we had more time to stay,it's a beautiful area.
NOTE; Be prepared very few restaurants or stores in the area and they close early

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vnrcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed in Cabin 1, right beside gorgeous Hat Creek. Modest, but nicely fitted out, with a lovely small deck off the bedroom, beautiful view of the creek. The only negative to this cabin was the road noise from cars/trucks, passing over the bridge, to which we were the closest. (Running the fan to the air conditioner drowned that out at night.) The creek banks are open to all. Our friends stayed in Cabin 9, and it was laid out totally differently from ours. Most are small, with a couple of exceptions, but comfortable beds and kitchen facilities. The weather couldn't be more glorious! July and August apparently enjoy nearly cloudless blue skies, warm days and early evenings, hardly a breath of wind. Later, cool evenings are just right for enjoying a campfire in one of the communal firepits, and some old-fashioned s'mores! The creek is stocked, and I, along with every other person but one whom I spotted catching fish, got them on worms. Nice fat rainbow trout! Easy drive to Lassen Natl Volcanic Park - beautiful scenery, lakes, gorgeous wildflowers, lovely streams meandering through the meadows, snow at some sheltered spots.

Room tip: Check their website to see how the cabins, tents, yurts, and RV spots are scattered about.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews