We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hat Creek Resort & RV Park
Nearby Hotels
Charm Motel(Burney)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burney Motel(Burney)(Great Value!)
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn(Chester)(Great Value!)
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
15
34
21
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
34
21
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pacific crest trailcooking itemsqueen bedroom was largelassenpctmoteltvcottagefurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The campground is set in a beautiful area; that is the only positive. The service was horrific, not all campsites have water and the one (and only) bathroom was disgusting. We did, however, have a port o potty near our site that was very clean. A family member rented one of the cabins and that bathroom was horrific as well. The toilet had obviously not been cleaned prior to their arrival (and quite possibly the guests before them) and the shower was full of mold.

Room Tip: The creek runs along the campground. While the sound of running water is soothing to some, the water is pretty swift and loud. Campsites along the creek can be noisy at night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jana12142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recommend this place based on the location and the level of RV park maintenance. It deserves 5 stars for these features. The cabins are rustic, which is the reason for my 3 star rating. Just trying to set expectations here.

First, the good points about the Park:
-- Remote location, right on Hat Creek.
-- Quiet at night. You can hear the creek rushing by through the open cabin windows.
-- Well maintained. The cabin had the cleanest outdoor BBQ grill I’d ever seen at a campground.
-- Attention to detail. For example, while walking past the basketball court, I stopped to pick up the basketball that was left out for guests’ use. I was surprised to find it fully-inflated and ready to use. This is one of those things an RV Park might easily overlook.

Mixed review on the cabin:
-- Cabin bed was comfortable, and provided a good night’s sleep. It was pushed up against one wall, making it difficult for one of the spouses (me) to get in/out of bed at night when nature called.
-- Cabin had a full kitchen, with most dishes/utensils provided. Folks who intend to BBQ will need to bring their own BBQ tools, foil, etc.
-- Cabin had its own BBQ grill and its own fire ring.
-- Pet friendly cabin. Pets are not allowed to stay in the cabin unattended. However, there is no maid service, and we didn’t see any “pet police” patrolling the park, so we left our quiet, well-behaved dog in his crate in the room for brief periods of time while fishing in the park area, with no repercussions.
-- Nice knotty pine paneling inside. Worn piece of plywood adorning the small front porch.
-- The gas oven/stove was clean and functioned properly, but it was not vented. We opened all the kitchen windows when using the oven.
-- The room was generally clean, except for dust and cobwebs on the neglected windowsills.
-- The bathroom was small. A big/tall person might have a difficult time using the toilet, due to the bathroom configuration.
-- Plenty of scalding hot water from the unit’s dedicated water heater, which provides a satisfying shower when tempered with cold water.
-- The shower stall in Cabin 9 should have been replaced a decade ago. The coating on the synthetic shower surround has worn off in places. The surround is warped and bowed. Someone has tried to caulk along irregularly-shaped line between the shower walls and floor. There is a line of mildew following the caulking. A sad sight. The wood behind the shower walls is most likely in very bad shape.
-- There is no soap dish in the shower; no convenient place to set one’s toiletries.
-- The bedroom in Cabin 9 is poorly lit. It has a decent-sized closet, but access to the closet is impaired by a small tangle of extension cords running from one of the cabin’s few electrical outlets to lamps and other devices.

Summary: Staying in the cabin is better than camping. Much better. Just don’t expect a luxury room.

Additional notes on the location:

-- Dining options are limited. There is one café a couple of miles away with a good breakfast and an in-house bakery, but limited dinner hours and menu, and no adult beverages. They do, however, have a dog-friendly patio for dining. The next closest restaurants are 30 miles away in Burney. We made use of the cabin kitchen and BBQ grill during our stay, but…
-- Grocery shopping also limited. I stopped by the RV Park store 3 or 4 times during our stay, looking for basic items. None of the items I sought were available there. There is a store and gas station a few miles away which had a better selection of items, and friendlier service. During our visit, they had frozen Hat Creek Grass Fed Beef in stock, but few, if any, fresh foods. There is a Safeway grocery store in Burney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RJ748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved our stay at Hat Creek Resort. We stayed in cabin #1, which we thought was the best one! It was really well stocked with everything we needed for the kitchen, the bathroom was good sized, and the bed was very comfortable. The outside deck had a table with 2 chairs and overlooked the creek, which was peaceful and beautiful. It was a good size for 2 people

The location was perfect for visiting the surrounding area. Close to Lassen Park, both the main north entrance, and the Butte Lakes entrance; and close to Burney Falls. We thought the wifi worked fairly well, so no complaints about that.

The people that run it were very kind and helpful

Room Tip: Room 1 was the most private and was right on Hat Creek. It's a decent size for 2 people.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

What a serene setting. Gorgeous creek and very rustic. I am not much into roughing our, so the fully stocked cabin was perfect for me. The carpet in one of the bedrooms was very stained and the mouse in the cabinet had a field day with the dog food were brought. No worries, there was enough to go around. The towels were the best...not sure why but flimsy towels just irritate me..:) HCR is close to Lassen yet far enough from tourist crowd. Loved meeting the many PCT hikers and listen to their stories. The staff there was so very nice, especially Bill, the handy man. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SybilleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation at Hat Creek on 4/21/13. Then we rerouted our trip plans and I cancelled on 5/21 for a reservation 6 weeks later. The resort kept $25 as a cancelation fee. DO NOT make reservations at Hat Creek unless there is no chance you will change travel plans. I have never heard of this before.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank Finndance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews