We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful rural retreat”
Review of Olema Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olema Cottages
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed in Berry Vine Cottage. Old-fashioned cottagey farm building. Nice touches of welcome chalk board, flowers in kitchen. Parking by door and enclosed verandah surrounding cottage. Decor nicely chosen fabrics and pictures. Never met the owners, but saw 2 staff tending the lovely gardens. Easy walk to top-notch and low-key restaurants - one of each in Olema village. Downside - mosquitoes at night & got badly bitten. Obviously a problem as mentioned in information folder. If you are susceptible bring repellant. Overall a good base for the Point Reyes area Quiet and very easy to relax. Good dvd selection, guitar on wall and lovely rural garden setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed in the Berry Vine Cottage during a 5 night stay near Point Reyes Station. We couldn't have had a better experience.

1. They provide everything you need while leaving you be. Hiking trail and restaurant info, wood burning fireplace instructions, where to find food to hand feed the chickens is all available in the cabin. Chances are, you won't run into the owners unless you want to. If you need them, text or call and they will be there in a flash.

2. Rustic environment has perfect amenities. Just the right amount if anything you need is stocked for you. Cute dishes, wool blankets, Peete's Coffee, firewood and kindling for the fireplace, a nice select are provided. We felt like we were staying in a friends summer cottage vs a rental.

3. Perfect location. Olema is 3 miles away from the few square mile hubbub of Point Reyes Station, close to the Inverness and Marshall sides if the Tomales Bay, and close to the Bear Valley visitors center and hiking trails.

All in all, the perfect vacation spot.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AfterDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently stayed at Olema Cottages (Berry Vine Cottage) for the second time and absolutely loved it! We can't wait to return. It's not your typical B&B/Hotel experience, which is what makes it so special. You arrive and no check in process - your cottage is waiting for you with everything you need inside. Our kitchen was stocked with all plates, cups, utensils we would need. I especially appreciate that they provide you with tea and coffee, perfect to enjoy while sitting by the lit fire. A very romantic getaway. It's a nice location, too. Near restaurants in Point Reyes as well as very near lots of hiking trails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank avalonbride36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Like the other reviews this place was very enjoyable and private. We stayed in the Sunflower cottage for six nights. Nice wood burning stove, very clean and soothing quiet. Close to the village of Olema, Pt Reyes Nat'l Park and about 3 miles from Pt. Reyes Station. I could easily stay here for six nights again. I would prefer to rate this 4.5 stars.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 465IndyMike23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at 'The Nest' in Sep 2013.
It was a very enjoyable stay with everything there as promised and more.
First of all, Kelly is really responsive to the emails and any questions you might have. I totally appreciated that.
In addition to the nice, clean cottage, they had rain ponchos, small ice chest, umbrella, sheets that you could borrow - how nice!
Chickens, the cat, and the view of horses did give us a 'village' feel.
Collection of DVDs and books is not bad either.

If you forgot something, Point Reyes Station market is just a 5-min drive.
Feel free to go to the Bear Valley Visitor center to get all the trail maps. The beach is about 20 mins away.

Overall - definitely recommend.
Could be a little cheaper :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in the Cypress Cottage for 3 nights, and really can't say anything that hasn't been said before, very relaxing, peaceful, and private. In the morning, I'd take a cup of coffee and sit at a table in the common grounds, and have chickens hop on the table to share my breakfast, if I let them. The only thing I would do differently is to have the TV receive TV channels instead of DVD only.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor63021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the lovely little "Cypress" cottage. We were welcomed by the chickens and a cute sign on the cottage gate. This was our first time staying here and we found the cottage to be very clean and thoughtfully stocked for our stay.
We booked the "Hide-a-way" cottage, but received an email prior to our stay stating that they were experiencing some plumbing problems and offered us the Cypress at no extra fee. It was a blessing for us, since the Cypress had a nice little kitchen, a private fenced-in yard complete with a BBQ and outdoor seating. It also had a cute lil porch to enjoy a morning cup of coffee.
Stayed here to watch the Amgen Tour of California in nearby Pt. Reyes Station. It was the perfect ending to a week long trek of following the race. So relaxing.

Room Tip: The bedroom is in the loft, so if you have difficulty with stairs, you may want to consider another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skeddadle_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
23.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
18.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olema Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Cottages

Property: Olema Cottages
Address: 9970 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard, Olema, CA 94950
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Olema Cottages Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing