We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Squaw Valley Lodge(Olympic Valley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granlibakken Tahoe(Tahoe City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lure Resort(Downieville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
260
111
42
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
111
42
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquaw valleyplump jackhomemade granolawedding weekendcable carski rentalbreakfast buffethigh campski seasonboutique hotelamazing locationfirst floornight staya great place to stayhot tubtahoe cityvillage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here for an extended-family escape and and planning to return next year. The PlumpJack is a little quirky, but we were very comfortable and enjoyed the quiet, intimate setting. The rooms are comfortable, though not exactly luxurious -- a chest of drawers would have been nice, for instance -- and could probably stand another updating soon. Still, it was clean and comfortable, and the hotel service was great. The location is terrific, too, right across the street from the village, and a short drive to the lake. Complimentary breakfast was also quite nice, though not over-the-top, and a little crowded at times. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, but the kitchen was overwhelmed by our large group and the service suffered. There is a great-looking children's menu, which led us to think that families would be welcome and well-treated, but they clearly were not up to the task. Nevertheless, the was nice enough that we plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. The team is consistently looking to improve our guest experience and have noted your comments regarding dinner. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care,
Steve Lamb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

To put it bluntly, the restaurant is great but the rooms are not at all. Especially considering what you pay for them.

Walls are paper thin, rooms were small, low ceilings, noisy, no closet, just shower, not very clean, stained and worn out carpets, and non professional room service. Now admittedly we were in one of the 'dog friendly' rooms downstairs but still, if we are paying $425/night + $150 for the dog plus resort fees for a Superior King room I expect something much better. Maybe during summer when the pool and patio is open it's different...

On the other hand the restaurant was excellent. If you have to stay there, for the convenience or whatever, make sure you ask for something on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pvives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Our building was constructed prior to the 1960 Olympics here in Squaw Valley. It definitely posses some inherent quirks and charm. But, it has been our goal to maintain some of the rustic character and history. With 56 guest rooms, including 8 suites, our set up and room style is that of a “classic hotel”. Standard room size is 300 square feet. Select rooms do have bathtubs and each has a space to hang clothes, but not a standard closet. In recent years, we’ve welcomed dogs to the hotel and our team really enjoys hosting all members of the family. Of course, cleaning and supplies are factors in this decision hence the dog fee. Our food and beverage offerings are a big part of the hotel as well. Guests have come to appreciate and enjoy the hearty breakfast in the morning, lunch or après ski by the fire in the bar or dinner in the dining room. It’s ultimately our goal for guests to enjoy their stay whether it’s to relax and refresh or get outside and engage in all the outdoors and the bustling village have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed in a standard /two queen bed room. it was OK. On the plus side: Clean and comfortable bed On the minus side: Very sterile and odd decorations - you can tell this was a dormitory at one time; ridiculously overpriced snacks in the room - if you go BRING YOUR OWN. View of the street is not very inviting.
There is a "club fee" that is supposed to cover "parking, breakfast & Internet". The breakfast is a buffet and of fair/poor quality. It consists of cold cereal, some cut up fruit and yogurt, bread that did not appear to be fresh, some "snackin cake" looking cakes, scrambled eggs, bacon and frozen/cooked hash browns. There were juices, coffee and tea also. But, to charge someone for this was silly (given the room prices and the lack of amenities). Also - charging for PARKING? And, we never even used the internet? Ridiculous.
On an overall plus side - the staff was extremely nice/helpful.
Just be aware that if you go/stay here, you may not get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Unkown how to pick a good room here - they are "dormitory style". You probably have to pay quite a hefty fee to get a decent room/view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at PlumpJack Inn. Our room was lovely with a view of the back lawns and pool. The atmosphere was serene, very peaceful and quiet. The staff was especially friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent and most hearty.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic king. I would have preferred a superior king, but my husband is in a wheel chair and those rooms were not available for him, since he would have to go up 2 steps to get there. The photos were taken on Sept. 5th, 2012
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel is one of several in the area, but it’s also one of the best. Small in size (especially compared to many of the others) this hotel is warm and inviting. The café/bar has a great menu that is well priced a fabulous wine list and the food is creative and fresh. Complimentary breakfast is included and is hearty. On Sunday’s the café serves up a menu of various Bloody Mary’s and appetizers and there are several televisions which make it a perfect place to watch a game. The rooms are clean, bright and well appointed. During the summer there are several excellent hiking trails just steps from the hotel entrance. We took a hike to Shirley Lake (the hotel provided a map) and then continued on to High Camp. If you hike up, you can take the tram down for free. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend to anyone for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmig222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews