We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 June 2013

what a nice surprise to find this gem of an inn at Squaw Valley. we were overwhelmed by the rustic charm and ambiance. Quiet and small with a great bar and restaurant on site along with a very private pool and hot tub area. the wine list was extensive with a great selection of reasonably prices wines along with some vintage wines. The bar served one of the best Cosmo's I've had other than what I make at home. Looking forward to having another chance to stay here and hang out on those comfy couches placed all around the inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at PlumpJack. I was there for a friends wedding and we pretty much took over the entire hotel. Everything about PlumpJack is SO comfortable. The staff, guest rooms, pool, cafe, EVERYTHING just makes for a wonderful stay, as if you were a guest in their home. They offered us wine at check-in, thought things through and would offer them before we even KNEW we needed them. Breakfast in the morning was deeeeeeelish and the entire weekend was made better because of the PlumpJack and their staff. The only bad thing, I DON'T KNOW WHEN I'LL BE BACK AGAIN :(

Room Tip: We went with the Classic Room and it was PERFECT!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had a fantastic time planning a wedding for our daughter Angela at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! The staff were great to work with and the food and facility was fantastic! All our family and friends that stayed at the Hotel and attended Angela and Keiths wedding had great raves about everything, from the venue choice, food and great rooms! I am very thankful that we made the right choice for this fantastic wedding! Thanks everyone!
Mother & father of the bride!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just returned from an in-law's wedding held at Plumpjack - they really did a nice job. The rooms are very nice, the beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water.

The wedding staff and reception wait staff and bar tenders were very efficient and seemed to be in good spirits.

The included breakfast is excellent - with selections ranging from gluten free granola to eggs and bacon. Lots of fresh fruit, juices and hot coffee.

The lunch was very good too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor close to the lobby, but all the rooms are pretty central.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptDick9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend our friends' wedding. It's a cute and rustic hotel. The room was very nicely appointed, although it had a kind of damp, musty smell to it. Not sure what that was from. The bed was comfortable, although the thermostat seemed to be broken because the room was boiling hot during the night, so much so that we actually opened the window. The staff were all excellent and very friendly and helpful.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast buffet. It was delicious. Homemade granola, pastries, eggs, bacon/sausage, and homemade biscuits. I would go back just for the breakfast!

The location is also great - right by the Squaw Village and the bottom of the gondola.

Note: we paid a discounted rate for the wedding, so if we had had to pay full price we likely would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here for an extended-family escape and and planning to return next year. The PlumpJack is a little quirky, but we were very comfortable and enjoyed the quiet, intimate setting. The rooms are comfortable, though not exactly luxurious -- a chest of drawers would have been nice, for instance -- and could probably stand another updating soon. Still, it was clean and comfortable, and the hotel service was great. The location is terrific, too, right across the street from the village, and a short drive to the lake. Complimentary breakfast was also quite nice, though not over-the-top, and a little crowded at times. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, but the kitchen was overwhelmed by our large group and the service suffered. There is a great-looking children's menu, which led us to think that families would be welcome and well-treated, but they clearly were not up to the task. Nevertheless, the was nice enough that we plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. The team is consistently looking to improve our guest experience and have noted your comments regarding dinner. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care,
Steve Lamb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

To put it bluntly, the restaurant is great but the rooms are not at all. Especially considering what you pay for them.

Walls are paper thin, rooms were small, low ceilings, noisy, no closet, just shower, not very clean, stained and worn out carpets, and non professional room service. Now admittedly we were in one of the 'dog friendly' rooms downstairs but still, if we are paying $425/night + $150 for the dog plus resort fees for a Superior King room I expect something much better. Maybe during summer when the pool and patio is open it's different...

On the other hand the restaurant was excellent. If you have to stay there, for the convenience or whatever, make sure you ask for something on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pvives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Our building was constructed prior to the 1960 Olympics here in Squaw Valley. It definitely posses some inherent quirks and charm. But, it has been our goal to maintain some of the rustic character and history. With 56 guest rooms, including 8 suites, our set up and room style is that of a “classic hotel”. Standard room size is 300 square feet. Select rooms do have bathtubs and each has a space to hang clothes, but not a standard closet. In recent years, we’ve welcomed dogs to the hotel and our team really enjoys hosting all members of the family. Of course, cleaning and supplies are factors in this decision hence the dog fee. Our food and beverage offerings are a big part of the hotel as well. Guests have come to appreciate and enjoy the hearty breakfast in the morning, lunch or après ski by the fire in the bar or dinner in the dining room. It’s ultimately our goal for guests to enjoy their stay whether it’s to relax and refresh or get outside and engage in all the outdoors and the bustling village have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
22.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
23.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £182 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing