We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th visit, still excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is one of our favourite hotels in the world, and after a gap of about 2 years since our last visit we were very pleased to find it has not changed a bit. For the last few visits we had been allocated suite 939 (forest view fireplace deluxe suite) so now we usually request it, but on this occasion it was occupied so we were in 959. WOW!! a HUGE corner suite with amazing views.

It is not just the rooms that make this hotel great - the staff are absolutely fantastic, and are always there to greet you with a smile. We booked a guided hike, and we wish we had done it on our earlier visits. A staff member called Corey was our guide, along with a new girl (apologies, I can't remember her name!) and we were accompanied by Coreys dog as a 'natural, happy, bear repellent!' It was great soaking up the views and fresh air while climbing up boulders and rocks to get some good excercise! Next time we will try and get all the way to Shirley Lake!

Sandy's pub serves great quality food at reasonable prices, with huge portions! and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace with more great views and some live music. The pizza from the Sweet Potato Deli was fab, and we took the leftovers with us the following day when we continued our road trip.

I cannot say enough about how fab this place is, you can really enjoy the great outdoors then relax in luxurious surroundings in the evening. It is nice when the weather starts to cool a little bit, as they light the various fireplaces and fire pits throughout the property. We love sitting in the main lobby with a glass of wine or two playing chess.

Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear anon71,

Thank you for choosing to stay again at Resort at Squaw Creek for your recent visit to Lake Tahoe. We are delighted you were so happy with your room, our staff members, your guided hike and dinner at Sandy’s Pub. Glad to hear you were also a fan of Corey’s dog, the hike sounded wonderful!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Eric Sather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed two nights on business in late September 2013, in a suite. This was one heckuva hotel room.

First of all, the view is awesome- looking out over the golf course, the valley and the mountains beyond. The room was pretty large, including a very well stocked kitchenette (two burner electric range, microwave, small refrigerator & all the pots, dishes glasses etc you would want) so I could see staying here for a week while skiing right out the front door. There was a fireplace, several flat screen TVs and a very large bathroom, fitted out with lots of grab bars and beautiful tile floors. Very comfortable bed; and very quiet room. It is worth the 4 diamond rating that it has from AAA.

The downside to staying here is that a) it isn't cheap by any means; b) the non-valet parking is a real shlep from the hotel, and also down steep steps which can be very slick/icy (and were so at night and early in the morning even tho its only fall); c) Squaw is far from any other place to eat off-site (8 or 10 miles to Truckee and about 3 or 4 to Tahoe) so you might not feel like going out elsewhere; and d) the room service menu was very disappointingly sparse. Why can't one order what the on-site restaurants are serving? Taken together, these knocked the hotel from excellent to very good in my view. Of course, if you're cooking in the room, perhaps you don't care about the last two points at all.

The only other negative is really with respect to conference facilities: for those meeting rooms not in the main section, there are no close in restrooms and one must walk quite a ways, partly outdoors. Perhaps not a big deal, but it was snowing while we were there, so it was somewhat annoying. Why not add a restroom for Tinkers Knob and other meeting room in that area, plus extend the awning so that the walk there is covered?

All in all, a very nice hotel and I would be happy to stay again, especially when not tied up in business meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rappongi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying at Resort at Squaw Creek. We hope you choose to return soon and provide us with another opportunity to serve you. I would like to mention that ski season is approaching and we have many exciting events and winter activities planned for our guests to enjoy both inside and outside at the resort. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was an absolutly beautiful resort to spend a week!!! They offer room service Valet parking ($20) beautiful views of the Mountians out your front window, as well as golf course views! The Beds are to die for!!! I asked what type of mattress they have because they were so so comfortable!! Hiking trails out your back back door as well as a huge pool area jacuzzi and even out door fireplace to spend the evenings. I could go on and on about how great of a place this was!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Resort at Squaw Creek is quite beautiful with excellent service. They offer valet parking for I believe $20/night or free self parking which is a bit of a walk. Fortunately, the valet parking was included in a Groupon that we purchased. When you walk into the front lobby, there are floor to ceiling windows overlooking the valley and golf course with tables set-up for checkers and chess inside. After you check-in, you walk outside through their gift shops (there were a handful including a toy store) and to the hotel portion of the resort. We had a room with two queen beds (2 adults and 2 kids) that had what they call a valley view, which was beautiful. There are large windows in the room with a sitting ledge that is nice to sit on and read a book while looking out at the golf course and mountains that surround it. The room was average hotel size, but very warmly decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We also couldn't hear our neighbors at all. The rest of the resort included several restaurants, a spa, golf course, walking trails (kid friendly), gym, game room, ice skating rink (winter only), and a pool area that had one very large pool, one small splash pool with a waterside, one toddler pool with sand and three hot tubs. There was also a pool side restaurant and bar.

We ate at four of the restaurants on site. The pool restaurant called, the Oasis had the same food as Sandy's Pub even though on the website, it says that they were introducing a Baja grill menu which they didn't have and no one seemed to know about when I asked about it. That was a little disappointing. They have a handful of tables that you can sit as well as a handful of bar stools at the bar or you can order the food and drinks to have by your lounge chair by the pool. There are waiters who will come up to your lounge chairs and take your order which was nice. We also ate at Sandy's Pub which seemed to be the most popular restaurant on site. It was a casual restaurant with a decent sized menu as well as a kids menu. The food was very good and they had some unique beers on tap which were nice to try. They also offer a smores plate which you can use to make smores directly outside of the restaurant at the fire pit. They give you a skewer to roast the marshmallows on and enough chocolate (3 Hersey bars), marshmallows and graham crackers to make 6 large smores or 12 regular sized smores. I think they charged $10 for everything. I would recommend eating between 5 and 6 or else you're going to have a decent wait. The final restaurant we ate at was Six Peaks Grille which would be considered their fine dining restaurant. The food and ambiance was great. We even brought our kids (4 and 7) and they had a kids menu for them. We dressed up a little bit and they put us in a room in the back with a fireplace. It looked like they had more casual dining in the front of the restaurant as well a patio overlooking the valley. We also had a breakfast buffet at Cascades every morning. For 2 kids and 2 adults, it was about $50 plus tip, but that was covered with our Groupon which was great. They had a good assortment of hot food including a made to order omelet bar, pancake bar with lots of fixings, fruit and pastries.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at the resort and will definitely be back next time we go to Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Try to get a valley view room. It was great to walk in your room everyday and look out at the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for writing, we are all thrilled to hear of your enjoyable experience with us at Resort at Squaw Creek! We are glad that you had the opportunity to dine with your family at Six Peaks Grille and Sandy's Pub and we will be sure to have the new Baja Grill menu on hand at all times when the Oasis Grill is open. We hope you and your family return soon to enjoy the S'mores by the fireplace again, it may be our most fun dessert!

Warmly,
Lynne Mackenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one night at the lodge as we were passing through the area. We reserved our room through the VISA Signature card as this is included in their luxury hotel collection. As such we received a room upgrade, complimentary cheese, fruit, and crackers, and several other amenities (all worth it). We arrived late afternoon, had time for a late afternoon snack enjoying the view overlooking the pool. We drove down to Olympic Village. The shops were closed but it was nice to see the area. I can only imagine how busy it must be during ski season. For dinner we ordered pizza at the deli and took it back to our room. Very good pizza.

Room was very comfortable-a king fireplace suite-loverlooking golf course. Bathroom was large and had a walk in tiled shower.

In the morning, I ran to the village area using the bike path.

Our breakfast was included-a wonderful breakfast buffet with lots of options.

What impressed me most was the staff's responses to guest. One staff member sent a complimentary bottle of ginger ale to a guest who was ill. Another manager was making sure that the desk clerks knew which groups were staying and their specific details. Our waiters were very attentive and friendly.

We would like to come back when we have more time and explore more of the grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Jean,

We were all delighted to read that your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek was an enjoyable one. Our goal is to create a five star review for every guest stay and our staff is always happy when a guest gives them such wonderful feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back at Resort at Squaw Creek again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Took a weekend trip to Tahoe and decided to try Squaw Creek Resort. We booked a one bedroom fireplace suite. When we arrived we were disappointed to end up with a view over the parking lot and the hillside but that was not terrible. The room was nice, clean and comfortable.
The bed however was horrible. Both of us ended up waking up at 3am with terrible neck aches. The bed and pillows are hard and uncomfortable. We only stayed two nights and I am not sure I could have done a third.

On Sat we took a walk to the village and then in the afternoon decided to go swimming and hang out by the pool. The pools are advertised as heated year round. My idea of a heated pool and theirs is vastly different. There were lots of adults by the pool and in the hot tubs and in the kiddie pool but no one was in the main swimming pool. The reason is that it was ice cold. We ventured in and swam two laps and then had to get out. It was literally painfull. Everyone at the pool was not happy about it and talking about how cold it was. People tried to get in and immediately got back out. For what we paid for the room and the resort fee add on I expected to be able to use the pool. On Sat night we decided to fill out the door card to have breakfast delivered to our room the next morning. We had reservations for the ropes course and wanted to eat before we went. We filled it out and hung it on the door. The next morning our breakfast was not delivered and we found the card still hanging on the door. It had never been picked up. We then had to quickly pack and go find somewhere to eat so we were not late. We liked the room, the way the resort looked, the people who worked there were very nice, the pub had good food and we liked sitting by the fire pit having a drink after dinner. However there were enough things we didn't like that we would go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molly1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Molly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are absolutely committed to ensuring the complete satisfaction of our guests, and in turn, immediately addressing any issues that may have impeded exceptional service. We have addressed your concerns as to the pool temperature and have been assured by our engineers that they strive to keep our pool temperatures at 80 degrees. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we will monitor the temperature more frequently. We have used your comments concerning your breakfast order as an opportunity to address our team training for room service orders as we always strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests. As to your bed comfort we extend our sincere apologies and will research this with our housekeeping department. Please know that without your feedback we would not be able to improve on the level of service provided in our hotel. Again, thank you for bringing these items to our attention as only through communication with our guests can we truly measure and exceed expectations.

Sincerely,
Lynne MacKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a beautiful stay. If I were to change anything, I would have requested a room overlooking the pool area not the Mountain side. Although it was very clean and quiet. The staff went out of there way to assist you and make your stay was the best. Enjoyed the pool/jacuzzi area and the exercise facility was really nice and very clean. I would like to come back for ski season :)

Room Tip: we were on the Mountain side - I would recommend overlooking the pool area - much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teammom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
342 reviews
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £178 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing