We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over christmas break. We are a family of 5 and had a two bedroom /2 bath unit. Everything was perfect. Our room was clean and the decor was perfect for a ski vacation. All the employees were very helpful and pleasant. There were several choices to eat on property. The ski locker area was a big help and made the ski in/out experience even better. The shuttle bus service was also convenient. Great location for families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommy3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Has everything you need, including shops and ski hire and all of the staff we spoke to in a 4 day visit were without exception extremely helpful and nice.
The rooms are a reasonable size and all of the fittings across the hotel are excellent quality, the restaurants are good, the pool area is good, it's all good. Well the snow was rubbish, but not really the hotels fault.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank JohnR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great hotel in an awesome location Squaw Valley, USA. We were offered this hotel at a discounted group rate and found it to be a great value. Additionally, the banquet buffet was really superb and the facility beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the Valley View side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kappymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Kappymann,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments; I will share them with the entire Resort at Squaw Creek team!

All the very best,

Eric Sather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Though our trip was short we had wonderful weather and a feeling we were truly welcome. Understanding that late August is an in-between time which gave us some quite time as well as undivided attention by staff we really hope to return. The accommodations are well thought out very comfortable and set nicely into the surroundings. This is also a great jumping off point to explore the vast surrounding area. We are hopeful that a return trip is in the cards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capeorganics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear capeorganics,

Thank you for your sharing your experience while staying with us at Resort at Squaw Creek. It sounds like you visited at a perfect time to experience wonderful Lake Tahoe weather and our beautiful surroundings. Our staff will be quite happy to hear about your comfortable stay and we all hope you can visit longer next time.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Eric Sather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We have rented several condos here and love it. This is ski in/ski out, facing the back side of the mountain. Often these runs are pretty empty vs the front ones. The restaurants at the Resort are good, and many rooms have kitchens. It is a great place for families, and the rooms are usually cheaper than those in the village.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank LCD425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear LCD425,

We are so happy you enjoyed your recent visit to Resort at Squaw Creek, we very much appreciated your comments and hope you can visit again soon for the winter season.

You are right about our ski in/ski out access; our guests enjoy our convenient ski lift to the mountain runs right from our front door. The location adds so much time to your ski day- no driving- just skiing!

Warmly,
Andre Priemer
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Where do I start? What do I love the most? Breathtaking views. The amazing pool and hot tubs. Consistently great food and service. Wonderful spa. The rooms might not be the fanciest but I never stay in the room very much. It's a great place any season, whether you ski or not. I have an electric car and the staff worked to allow me to plug in even though they do not have a charging station. Convenient location 10 minute drive to a walk along the river or Lake Tahoe, while not far from highway. Regular shuttle to Olympic village. I love going in the off season between summer and snow.

Room Tip: Choose valley or golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Resort Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Cazsh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. Your review made our day. I am also quite happy to hear how pleased you were with the service provided to you, our wonderful spas and the great food you enjoyed. We very much look forward to your return and hope it will be soon!

Best regards,
Andre Priemer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our daughter and her husband own a 2-bedroom unit with a valley view and we always enjoy going there for a few days throughout the year. The units are well-appointed, although there is talk of upgrading the furniture, because some of them, especially the sofas, now look and feel old and bumpy. The staff is friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. There is a regular shuttle from the resort to the Village and the ski lifts there, including the Squaw Valley Aerial Tram and High Camp. If you want to use the tram, look at Travelzoo before you go, because there may sometimes be a 50% off special off the regular $32/adult tickets for the tram. The Village also has lots of nice little eating places, a grocery store, ski store, etc.

The Resort has valet parking, but you can be a cheapskate and park yourself in a big parking lot a bit further away after dropping off your luggage at the entrance. It is a rather long way walking back because you probably just drove up from lower elevations.

In the winter you can take the ski lift right behind the property and then work yourself to the other areas of the mountains. Go back down to the Village and take the shuttle back to the Resort. The resort has a skating rink, where you can twirl and impress members of the opposite sex. Or you can go early in the morning when there is nobody to laugh at you as you fall down doing the quarter-axel. Forget the double axel. You can rent a snowboard to slide down the hills behind the Resort.

In the summer you can play golf, and if it is hot you will sometimes see a lady in a cart driving to see whether you want to buy a drink, or just a bottle of water. In the summer there are the swimming pools and a slide and “hot tubs” around the main pool. It is a wonderful place for kids. The resort also has a nice gym, but you have to realize that you are at higher elevations and may not be able to do achieve the same range activities you used to do at sea level.

The resort has a high-end restaurant, the very nice looking Six Peaks Grill, which generally serves outstanding food, but occasionally also something poor, notwithstanding the haute-cuisine descriptions in the menu. It is sometimes difficult to get reservations, so get one early in the day, especially during weekends and Holidays. For a more relaxed atmosphere, go downstairs to Sandy’s Pub, where portions are larger, prices are lower, and the atmosphere is not as stiff. There the BBQ ribs are good and plentiful and you can share a single portion with your spouse and yet leave the restaurant with a full tummy.

If you rent a unit, be sure to ask for a unit with a valley view, if possible one on a jutting-out corner. The views from these units are spectacular, even more so from the higher floors. The ones with “mountain views” are less desirable, because the “mountain” is just a few feet away from your window and we all know that mountains generally look much better at a distance. On the ridge of the “mountain” are some fairways of the golf course, so you may see some errant golf balls clattering down against your unit.

Room Tip: Ask for unit with a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
430 reviews
15 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £173 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley | Alpine Meadows, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing