We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall excellent experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had booked the hotel through groupon. This was my first visit to Squaw Creek and did not know what to expect.

Location (5 of 5)
I was stunned with the view of the drive up to the hotel. Will beautiful golf course, mountains, ponds. It was lovely. Went for a morning walk next day at 6 am and found peace and joy!

Rooms (4 of 5)
Good rooms. Had all the necessary amenities. I wanted to use a microwave to heat up some food that I had brought. The receptionist told us that the rooms did not have microwave but we could use the one in the Deli which we did.

Customer service (4.5 of 5)
The person in the Deli was very courteous (person with English accent) and polite. Offered us plates and cutlery if we needed it. Next day morning, we spoke with the girl at the Deli asking about breakfast and she too was very polite and kind. We decided to have breakfast at the Cascades restaurant. The host was very polite as was the server. Excellent service. The lady that made the omelet was mean. When I went to order, she said that she had several orders and asked me to come back. LOL. Spoke with the host, who promptly took the order and brought it to the table when ready!

Pool (5 of 5)
The kids had fun time at the pool. The pool was not crowded in the morning and the kids enjoyed it. There are numerous pools and Spa.

Overall (5 of 5)
A great experience. We will definitely visit next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortatSquawCreek, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear S K,

Thank you for the feedback on your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are pleased that you had such a good time and hope we can host your family again the next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Be sure to sign up for our email specials so you can find out about discounted room rates in the future! It's a great way to save.

Sincerely,
Eric Sather, General Manager
Resort at Squaw Creek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    497
    193
    83
    58
See reviews for
689
384
24
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stayed here probably 15 times over the last several years. I grew up in California and now that we live in the South, we like to travel back as often as possible. This is one the locations we frequent.

You would think with so many trips in not a very long amount of time that the staff would recognize us (or glance at our information and see that we visit often) but that has yet to happen. Some of the staff is friendly but most of them are aloof. They hear my husbands southern accent and often treat him rudely which really disgruntles me (after all, we are the paying customer, right?).

The rooms are nice but nothing spectacular. The windows in our last room didn't lock and we had our two small children with us. There was nothing to secure them with to keep them from opening. We called maintenance and they wouldn't help. We ended up using a wire coat hanger and securing them shut ourselves (this was after several complaints to management that went unanswered).

The next trip was spent at the Ritz Carlton up the road. Money well spent.

Room Tip: Don't stay here with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortatSquawCreek, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jenna,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at our resort. We always appreciate hearing about our guests' experience so that we can continue to improve our service. My apologies for the lack of response to your requests about securing the windows shut. I have brought this up with our Engineering team and they are working on an appropriate solution for future requests of this nature. Likewise, I have brought up your comments with our front desk staff to ensure your experience is not repeated (by you or anyone else). Certainly, our loyal, returning guests are our most valuable and we endeavor to make every visit to the resort feel like a visit home. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future as we would love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Eric Sather, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A wonderful Family hotel that offers everything you need from golf, pool, food & spa. I especially love the rustic Mountain atmosphere & you can't say enough about such new & comfortable beds that guarantee total comfort!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been blessed to stay here twice: once in a fireplace suite and once in a regular deluxe room. Both were amazing with EVERYTHING you'd need for a perfect, relaxing time away. The wonderful staff, the spotless rooms, kitchenette, thick bathrobes and towels, big beautiful bathrooms.....AND the exquisite surrounding beauty. Phenomenal. We enjoyed fabulous meals and genuinely relaxed!!! Priceless. Book this place. You will be blessed, too!

Room Tip: We agree completely that we could EASILY live indefinitely in one of their fireplace suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John31621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Relaxing resort with all the amenities, spa, golf, fitness, gift stores, restaurants, pools, bar and incredible views of the mountains. When you go, ask for a room facing the pool which also faces the mountains and higher up floor (although the elevators can get crowded which means lots of walking up stairs). The backside faces cars and trees (better than just staring at another building!). The service is wonderful, charming staff, and accomodating. The rooms are in need of updating - seems old and out of style - yet comfortable.

Room Tip: Face the pool, ski lift golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pros:

+ Great facility: beautiful location, golf, pool, lobby, mini mall with cafe and restaurants
+ Great location: just a little away from the zoo that is Squaw valley proper; you can always go there on free shuttle or just walk
+ Well kept (older style) rooms with good quality material, get a room on upper floor with valley view if you want a view - lower floor and/or non-valley view = no view
+ Amenities: mini kitchen and good free WIFI; nice (a bit cramped) shower and tub
+ Reasonably priced for area
+ Friendly people at check in counter
+ Resort - bike rental, tennis, fishing, golf.... you name it
+ They did a good job catering to family with kids; this is a slippery slope as we have seen many other resorts catering way too much to family with kids and seeing quality of service and state of facilities suffer as a result - this resort is doing a good job balancing the act.

Cons:
- Dog friendly (not good if you don't have dogs); our neighboring rooms dogs barked a lot!
- Self park is a bit of a walk
- No view if you are in lower floors or facing away from valley
- Didn't like the bed, a bit stiff for the bones

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautiful location and grounds, excellent service, and close to all Lake Tahoe has to offer. Lots of great hikes in the area for summer months; near great skiing, snow shoeing, and cross-country skiing during winter.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing