We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here in June for my husband's birthday. The pools are beautiful and the entire resort is lovely. We enjoyed the proximity to the Olympic Village and yet were happy to return to the isloation of the Resort at Squaw Creek. It was very windy, so the pool time could have been better. Overall, I highly recommend.

Room Tip: We chose not to upgrade to a mountain view but our Forest view was nice; it looked out on a fairway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jRoQuincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at this resort on a PRE-PAID weekend in January . Most of the area was closed and had to go to town for our meals. As usual, we gave them our American Express card at check in and told them the rooms had already been paid for. After a 2 hour song and dance by the resort they FINALLY found that it had in fact been paid for. 2 months later we found our card had an UNAUTHORIZED charge of $410. We called and thought the issue had been resolved. On 7/7/14 I found the same charge to my card. All I can say is to be very careful. This place is not worth the hassle and they will never see our group again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Legend1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in mid September, in a lovely room with a forest view, although a mountain view room would have been better, and would be requested next time.

A good base for exploring the stunning Lake Tahoe and wider Sierra Nevada area.

The pub was vey pleasant, and we spent a couple of hours each afternoon sat outside admiring the stunning view and trying different local beers.

Breakfast was excellent, a self serve buffet one day and ordered from a server the next, but both good and plentiful.

Reception and concierge were very friendly and helfpul, providing maps, info and recommendations for hiking in the local and wider area.

Now the downside...the Six Peaks Grill was closed. We visited between Labour Day and the first snow, and were told on arrival that as the hotel was quiet, it wasn't worth opening the restaurant. However we could use the free hotel shuttle to take us to Squaw Village, a mile or two away, and call to be picked up when we were ready.

The first night we went to the village, had a wander round, and settled on the pizza place, where we enjoyed a good meal. Once we were ready to return, I phoned for the shuttle, which did arive, eventually, after about a half hour wait.

The next night, we went to Plumpjacks in the village (excellent), phoned for the shuttle, but got no reply. The number rang and rang and rang without answer. I tried and tried again, to no avail. Eventually I rang the hotel reception, to be told that the shuttle had stopped as it was quiet...did they not think we might want picking up having been dropped off??? They did, eventually, send the shuttle to pick us up, but we weren't impressed with the lack of communication or the haphazard running of the shuttle, even though it was off season. If you say you provide a service, provide it!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rikwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortatSquawCreek, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Rikwhitt,

Thank you for writing about your experience at the resort. We enjoy reading the comments from our guests, and take the information back to our managers to consistently improve upon those experiences. I was pleased to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to Six Peaks Grille, this is our seasonal restaurant and is only open with appropriate business levels. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy the fine dining experience, but do hope that if you return, you will be able to have a lovely experience. I would also like to apologize for the lapse in service with regards to the shuttle. Our front desk agents, as well as our other front line staff, are all trained for shuttle service, without excuses, and the phone is always in the hands of someone available. I sincerely apreciate your comments, and look forward to seeing you at the resort in the future!

Sincerely,
Andre Priemer, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I travel a great deal and was surprised at what was delivered here for the money. I will be writing a letter to the management. I doubt this is what they want. I was here with my two daughters.

What was great:
Staff was very friendly.
Valet was prompt.

What was not great:
In-room dining was abysmal. Expensive, not great tasting, no wine by the glass and our two deliveries were both messed up. By the time the rest of our food was delivered, food was cold. In the evening, the food was served in plastic containers like take-out. Very wasteful, green-wise. The menu you could order in the evening was basically deli fare. I expect more from a "resort." After a long day of activities, my kids don't want to go out to dinner. It felt like if you wanted better food, you were forced to go out.

Concierge was nowhere to be found after 5 pm on a holiday weekend. We wanted to go on a hike and none of the staff could find hiking maps or give good, clear direction on where the hikes were.

Beds are way too soft. Bedding was weird. A sheet and light down duvet. Somehow not very satisfying.

After our room was cleaned, they didn't refresh the water bottles.

It would be ideal to have some food in the room you could buy.

Temperature was hard to regulate.

Room Tip: We faced the driveway. Be sure to clarify what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoldshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool is beautiful. The concierge was extremely helpful in setting up an afternoon of horseback riding for us. There are a variety of restaurants and shops. Our dinner at the resort was delicious and the views from the restaurant were beautiful. We also had a 3 hour fly-fishing lesson on the property, which I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortatSquawCreek, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Deanna86_12,

I'm so pleased to hear about your stay at Resort at Squaw Creek! Thank you for posting your comment.

Sincerely,
Eric Sather, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The resort is beautiful and we loved Tahoe. We are not picky guests (didn't mind nor complain about not having functioning A/C in a suite room), however the poor internet connection was a major problem for us, given that our trip was supposed to be a mix of work and leisure. We assumed that a resort that hosts conventions would have good internet connection. Wrong assumption.... I had to go to the main lobby during the day to have a workable connection. The hotel folks explained that when the hotel is full, the connection speed goes down indeed (too many people connected at the same time). And note that we were there in late June, before the major 4th of July holiday wave of guests arrived! Well, if you are going to Tahoe to have a completely disconnected vacation, this should not be a problem... for those who -for whatever reason- need to be "in touch online", think twice...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilanafog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek two nights to attend a friend's wedding held on the premises. Given that this was June and a very dry year, we obviously cannot comment on the quality of this property during ski season! :-)

In terms of the wedding we attended, the Resort at Squaw Creek did a fantastic job of accommodating the special needs of the bride and groom. The groom is a budding restaurateur (a grad of the Cornell School of Hotel Administration) who had a particular menu in mind, very different from what you would typically see served at a wedding or that most facilities would be willing and able to accommodate. The wedding ceremony and the dinner went off without a hitch and more than matched the couple's fairly demanding expectations. We all had a great time.

The property and its surroundings are absolutely gorgeous, even in Summer.

Rooms are reasonably-sized, but except for the flat screen televisions, a bit dated in terms of furnishings. Room lighting was a mixture of CFL bulbs of different color temperatures in the same fixtures (really weird effect) and lamp shades should have been replaced long ago.

One very major problem with the rooms is that of paper-thin walls. You could readily hear regular conversations and the television from adjacent rooms on each side. If you are not a heavy sleeper and wish to turn in early or if you neighbors who stay up very late, you will have problems getting a good night's sleep at this property.

Mattresses were way too soft (i.e., not at all firm) for our needs and tastes.

The room ventilation system seemed a little funky. We couldn't get ours to actually switch to cooling (regardless of what the control panel said) during the middle of the day when it can get fairly warm during the Summer months. Fortunately, by evening we needed heat and the issue became mute.

The views from our room were fantastic – they must be even more amazing during the winter season!

The hotel does provide a complimentary shuttle from early morning to late evening to and from the village area.

This is a fairly “pricey” hotel although if one is staying with a family and has time to take advantage of all the resort facilities available, that priceyness may be worth it.

There is a resort fee and it doesn't cover “valet parking.” The “self-parking” lot is quite a distance from the rooms requiring a fairly long uphill or downhill walk almost forcing you to use the valet parking at $20 extra per night (with in-and-out privileges). And everyone seemed to constantly have their hand out for a tip.

We did have the breakfast buffet one day. It was fairly priced for what you got and the food was OK, but I expected a notch or two better in terms of buffet selection (such as cheeses and fish) for a resort of this stature.

In summary, the Resort at Squaw Creek can be great for a Destination Wedding and probably good for a family resort stay, but otherwise, if you are just passing through or are engaged in other activities in the Tahoe-Truckee area, other non-resort properties may be a much better choice.

Room Tip: You definitely want a valley-facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
343 reviews
15 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
9.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £170 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing