We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel last weekend and here are a few thoughts. The hotel is a beautiful property set in a lovely valley in Squaw Creek, could not have been happier with the location. We had a Valley View Suite and it was awesome and I highly recommend staying in one of these if possible. However, as wonderful as the location and room were the level of Customer Service was absolutely horrific. I was about to go into detail on all of our less than stellar incidences, but I leave it at this......I have traveled extensively and am in no way a complainer or high maintenance in any way whatsoever - HOWEVER, the Customer Service at this hotel might have been the worst I have ever experienced. The beauty of the environment does not match the inefficiency of the Customer Service. Sad as the property is that pretty. Additionally I thought the food at the "Sweet Potatoes Deli" was not good and way overpriced. "Sandy's Pub" was much better. Overall - considering everything this is a 3.5 star Resort at best.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    473
    181
    83
    56
See reviews for
652
375
21
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great resort, first class, just in a Tahoe style. This means a casual atmosphere but everything was fantastic. Great for the whole family, pool, biking, hiking, and a tram!

The rooms are very quiet, we stayed in the two room penthouse with gorgeous views of the valley. Recommend room service if you do, the view is better then any restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked into Forest view with king and pull out couch. Nice but and rather tight once bed pulled out. But we were out mostly so didn't matter. Kitchen good but rather clogged sink. Good microwave and dishwasher.
We had a late check in after 9 pm and had requested pull out bed to be made. Tsk The bed was not made but no problem as we called down and got guest services. Lady came with beddings in a bin. Noticed trash underneath all the beddings. Given this is supposed to be a classy place we were very much surprised at that lack of hygiene. Yuck. Thankfully I have allergies and always bring my hypoallergenic pillow covers. Altogether disgusting thought. Carpet off the toilet was stained. Housekeeping seems to be an issue.
Porters, valet area and front desk staff were very helpful. Pub food and prices were pretty reasonable
Seemed stingy with toiletries. One already used roll of TP in the room for four people!? No back up roll to be found. Had to request for more but would have thought this should not even be an issue in such a place.
Beautiful surroundings. Lobby has fantastic views. I could stay down there all day.

Room Tip: AMEX discount helped get lower price. Room with pullout couch easily accommodated 4 adults.
See more room tips
Green Features: Quite stingy with toiletries. I guess that is good for environment. Use of big containers of shampoo, conditioner n body wash cuts down on waste. They offer $5 discount if you refuse housekeeping. Great idea.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloudatlas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful area and facility. Will definitely return for another stay! Staff was very friendly, especially the bell/valet staff. Left my phone in the car and called down for them to get it for me - they brought it up to my room! Service! They got that!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortatSquawCreek, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear C B,

So glad to hear you loved your stay and service at Resort at Squaw Creek! Thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,
Eric Sather, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Went for a business meeting, the facilities were fine. Working dinner on the first night and lunch the next day were good. Room was comfortable. Probably would not stay here for pleasure/vacation, although there is a ski lift right next to the hotel which would be a nice perk if/when there is snow for the patron who is an avid skier (which i am not). Pools are large and there is a spa and workout facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timo123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is location I've stayed many times in the past, and truly enjoy however this visit was a joke, resort fee for what? Tried to use the fitness center and locker rooms and it was not available tried again sauna not heated, shower was disgusting and this was first thing in the am. Arrived to a room which was 80 degrees after 3 phone calls and waiting engineer finally shows up at 10:30 looking like a homeless person dirty shirt stained with food and who knows what else, took over 24 to finally get repaired kinda no other rooms available resort was full didn't seem so. Oh did I mention another engineer showed up at 7:30 am after I had a compleatly sleepless night in the heat. Opened windows room filled with bugs was assured the room would be cleaned before my return on the 2 nd day no cleaning the entire 4 days spent most of my time here making calls and things never taken care one person blamed the next, new manager etc.. Ridiculous seemed like all employees were one the 420 program, really out there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights. On the second night they upgraded us from a forest to a valley view room. It is nice to have a full kitchen (we had a king suite) to make breakfast and sandwiches. Housekeeping can be improved, they missed cleaning the microwave (I couldn't reach it to clean it, it is in a high cabinet and it was dirty for 3 days) also they did not refill the coffee and shower items daily. When we called, sometimes we got what we requested, sometimes we didn't. The self parking lot is a long walk and up quite a few stairs from the hotel but we could not justify paying $20/day for valet parking. The kids really enjoyed the pools and especially the water slide. There are 3 jacuzzis. Two were always packed with kids, the third was always packed with adults. A resort of this size can use more jacuzzis.

Room Tip: check the beds....our bed was really noisy.....
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer opt out of housekeeping for $5.00 credit/day at the resort. No way! Had some trouble controlling the temperature in the room.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRK0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
22.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing