We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 March 2007

Staying in a ground floor, knuckle unit right next to the ski lift was the most incredible experience. For those of you who desire the true ski in/ski out experience, request a gound floor unit valley view. I could sit in a large plush chair with a fireplace blazing and watch my kids frolicking in the snow safely within eye sight of me at all times. They could throw snowballs and sled (after ski lift hours).

The two bedroom unit (a lockoff 2 queen room) is just perfect for a family. The one bedroom portion is elegantly decorated with plush fabrics. A perfect size kitchen fully appointed (pots, pans, refrig, silverware, glassware), dishwasher, stovetop, microwave and toaster. A coffee maker is provided with daily replenishing as well as a host of tea choices. The housekeeping staff was warm, plentiful and constantly available. We wanted extra bathrobes, foam pillows and sheets and blankets. All were available within minutes. There are flat screen tvs in every room. The one bedroom portion has a large plush king size bed. The closets in the one bedroom and the living room is perfect for the vast amounts of ski clothing. A large dresser in the one bedroom unit is large enough for all of the ski clothes, sweaters, jeans, shirts etc.

The living room portion of the one bedroom unit has a queen size fold out couch. Since everything is brand new there were no complaints of the quality of the bed. The living area has a large coffee table (perfect for board games and snacks) and a large eating table with five chairs.

The bathroom is a split set up with a large sink and seperate area for a shower and toilet. The shower has two heads and the water was immediately hot and plentiful. The marble and granite appointed bath blended perfectly with the rest of the decor of the unit. Carpeting and slate tile floors are in perfect condition, brand new and its earthy feel matches the environment of a mountain resort.

The lobby upon arriving is breathtaking with floor to ceiling (at least 30 feet tall) vista of the snow filled mountain of Squaw Valley. Check in was simple and personal. The walk to the hotel end is an outside covered pathway. In other words. The hotel is separate from spa (UNBELIEVABLE), exercise room, restaurants, ballrooms, game rooms, business center etc are in a different building than the guest rooms. But the valet make it seemless with prompt delivery of our luggage.

When we were there, there was a major snow storm with more than 6 FEET OF FRESH POWDER!!!! head to hills!!!!

The ticket desk, rental store and the lift make it the perfect ski resort. Throw in a ski valet and you can't ask for more.

Food options are full service and a deli. From burgers to fish to pasta to room service including pizza delivery are all available. The shuttle between the hotel and the Village at Squaw Valley operates frequently, so the trip to drop off the kids at their top rated ski school was so easy.

The restaurants in the Village increase your chance to have the perfect meal. Add to that Tahoe City, a short 10 ride away, for chinese, mexican, supermarkets, banks and you have everything you need for the vacation.

The summer should be great for rafting as these snows will provide months of fresh water. The vista from on top of Squaw looking at Lake Tahoe will be remembered forever.

The hotel also has dog sledding rides, ice skating, swimming pool and spa (outside and heated perfectly!). Snowshoeing and more activities can fill your day or just hang in the lobby with chess and checker sets, board games are also available.

WI-FI is free and available everywhere on the premises, lobby and rooms.

What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank PhylSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,893 - 1,899 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2007

Stayed with friends in a beautiful 2 bedroom suite overlooking the valley. Ski lift was visible right outside our window. Snow making on the resort run. Not as much snow as usual this year but still had great conditions with snowmaking at night. Great to be able to ski-in, ski-out. Able to buy lift tickets to Squaw at a sales desk by the ski check area. Very convenient to check in skis/equipment. They discourage people from bringing ski/snowboard equipment to the rooms (which I can understand). Some dings on the elevators likely due to people violating that.

Resort itself is beautiful with heated pool and outdoor hot tubs. Hot tubs get kind of crowded apres ski. They got rid of the indoor hot tub (too bad) with the renovation of the indoor spa area, though the renovation was gorgeous.

Rooms were very nice with comfortable beds, didn't find any problems with TV/cable issues. Wireless internet access available as part of the resort fee was very helpful. Checked on open runs, etc on the mountain.

Deli downstairs has a good breakfast and starbucks coffee (they'll give free refills if you ask). Other dining options were kind of pricey and we opted to go to town for other meals. Had outdoor fire pits with s'more making at night.

Staff very helpful and friendly. Can check out board games at the front desk. Roaring fire and checkers/chess also available in the lobby.

Valet parking is pricey, but advantage is that they'll dig your car out of the snow and scrape your wind shields if needed. Valet staff were all very nice and helpful. Gave good tips on restaurants in the area.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank inarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

This resort should be 4 stars and not 5. This is not Four Seasons.

Pros: Rooms/facility were remodeled last year and very nice. It is located very close to HWY 80 from San Francisco and one of the closest upscale ski resorts from the Bay Area. In general, the facility is very nice. Ski lift located on facility to Squaw Valley is a plus. Ski valets can pick up your equipment as you come off the lift. Ski rentals also located in facility. Service was above avg.

Cons: The location of the rooms were not friendly to strollers. We had to go all the way around the hotel to get down to the lower levels via elevators. The walk to the pools/hot tubs from the rooms were poorly designed. TV's didn't work properly. They nickeled and dimed you on everything. No complimentary water. The vending machine only took $1 bills. Room service food was avg. Stove top worked very slowly. The fridge frooze all our food, even at the lowest setting.

Bottom line: If you like skiing, this is one of the best resort in Tahoe, but it's not a 5 star hotel. It misses much of the details a 5 star would have.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrDetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

No complaints. Comfortable rooms, good dining, nice pool, close to village. Can't wait to ski!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LindaJSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2006

We stayed at the resort for two nights and absolutely loved it! We had a nice clean room with a view over the forest. The pools and spas were great, with views of snow-capped mountains in the distance. I recommend this resort highly and would definitely stay here if we visited again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elven-princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Stayed at the resort Sep 6-9 because BF had business meeting there. We had a queen suite on the third floor with view of the golf course. The recent renovation was very nice--two flat screen tvs, great bedding, large bathroom. Overall the room was very comfortable. One thing that bothered me was the lack of cable channels. I know, you're supposed to be there for the outdoor activities. But I was just looking for something to do at night by myself since BF was at dinner and I was on my own. No premium channels, not even all the basic channels I get at home.

I did splurge on room service for breakfast one morning. It was expensive on the menu but noticed it was even MORE expensive on the 'place your breakfast order now' door hanger for the same things. We had a nice dinner in one of the restaurants but it was overpriced and we wouldn't have eaten there if we were picking up the tab.

The spa is currently being renovated so no massage for me. Also, the gym has been moved to one of the meeting rooms during the renovation but I didn't visit it. The pool area is really nice and was practically empty during the week. Again, the bar prices were very high ($10 for a glass of cheap white wine that gave my friend heartburn) but I expected as much at this type of place.

The self-parking area is a little trek that I imagine would be bad in the winter. We did use the free shuttle to the village and had lunch there on Saturday.

I'd say the renovation turned out well but it's still ongoing. We usually don't stay at places like this for our vacations as we prefer to spend little on hotels and more on experinces. But I would recommend it to people who are willing to pay for a nice ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pearlharbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

The views of Squaw Valley are incredible from many areas of the resort, including the pool and restaurant patios, but the service was frustratingly slow at times.

We had breakfast at Six Peaks Grille on the patio and the hostess was nearly comatose both mornings. Despite greeting her with a smile, we didn't get one in return and we ended up waiting longer than seemed necessary given the half empty restaurant. We waited 10 minutes for coffee the first morning and didn't get a refill until we nearly finished our meal. Service the next morning was only slightly faster, but our waitress was very friendly and we passed the time marvelling at the view.

We also tried to eat dinner at Six Peaks, but the patio was closed for a private party the first night. We tried again Saturday night and waited for 5 minutes, along with several other parties, to be seated. A guy at the bar was grumbling about having to wait, but the restaurant was not busy, so we guessed it was not going to be a good experience and left to have dinner at the village.

We had a great time at the pool, but the food/service there was also odd. When we first sat down, I asked the bartender if we could order food from him and he answered yes, but he didn't bother to bring us a menu. Later, we learned he only worked there to get free golf time. When we discovered the food service was just behind us, we ordered a couple of hot dogs. The counter person took them out of a warming oven, but they were nearly cold. To her credit, she offered to run them over to Sandy's Pub to nuke them in the microwave and we accepted.

Overall, the staff was friendly, but poorly trained, poorly motivated and not supervised. A manager here or there would have made a huge difference. Instead, we had an eery feeling the whole weekend that nobody cared about the guests.

None of the service missteps were significant taken individually, but when added up, we will hesitate to return here or recommend the resort to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank RenoRoadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
430 reviews
15 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £173 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley | Alpine Meadows, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing