We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient & clean location to stay in Squaw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very nice and clean room with full kitchen. Nice club house & gym.
We just had some issues with clogged sink and toilet. We had to call office to fix them for us.
The short walking distance to the village and lifts were the main plus, although it came with the high price range!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hi Shan2013,
Thank you for your review. We're glad your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope that our maintenance team was able to fix the issues you had with the sink and toilet immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Loved the resort, very clean and friendly. I loved the room and the bed was so comfortable. Being right next to Squaw Valley was delightful. I left a bag in the room and they called me and will be mailing it to me. Very happy and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Karen H,
We're thrilled you fell in love with our resort and found it very clean and friendly. We're glad your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. We look forward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were so happy we stumbled upon this hotel. Being located in Squaw Valley with views of skiers coming down the hill and just a short walk away from the village made the Red Wolf a great find. The trip began being greeted by Diana Ambrosie the resorts manager. At check in she provided us with a detailed list of local attractions and maps to get there. Also informing us of hotel amenities including a rootbeer float night and a s'mores night. Parking in a covered lot just steps from the elevator was also very convenient. Our studio room had an excellent theme was equipped with a full kitchen, fireplace, new tv and patio. Being able to utilize the kitchen allowed us to cook our own meals allowing us to save some money. Although with the village just a step away we found a great spot for dinner at Fireside. There is plenty of shopping in the village and the Starbucks was close for our morning cup of coffee. At checkout the manager Diana gave us access to the hotels clubhouse which contained spas, a kitchen, bathroom, and showers for after our final day in the snow. Overall we had a great experience at the Red Wolf.

Room Tip: At night you can here the machines making snow on the hills from the rooms facing the ski hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neteresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi netersi,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that Diane was able to provide you with a detailed list of the local attractions and maps. We're glad you enjoyed our accommodations and are so happy they came in handy during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed with two of my kids for four nights in a studio at the Red Wolf. It's location is fabulous if you have kids going to the Squaw Kids ski school. Its a 20 yard walk! And you can watch them have their first lesson from the balcony.

The rest of the village is a more lengthy 60 second walk away! How nice to be able to park the car and leave it for days (in a covered lot in case the snow came).

The staff were friendly, the small kitchen was really functional, and the unit was spotlessly clean.

The wifi was so slow that I couldn't even measure its bandwidth! Fortunately there is a Verizon cell tower right next door, so cell phone reception and data throughput were excellent.

The floors are very thin between the units, and we could hear every footfall from the unit above. This could have been a problem, but we got used to it after the first day - plus we were so exhausted after skiing that we were oblivious on the second night.

We really enjoyed our stay, and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Paul N,
Thank you for your post. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We're so happy the children enjoyed our Squaw Kids' Ski School. It's great to know our accommodations were helpful as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Red Wolf Lodge is perfectly located next to the Village at Squaw. We had a one bedroom suite that was spacious, open and filled with natural light. Very comfortable. Great views of the snow, too! Plenty of room for four people. The full kitchen, while not huge, had enough space for its nice, wooden table and four chairs and was fully equipped for cooking and dining. The bed was super, super comfortable and the pull-out couch in the living room was cozy. Both the bedroom and the living room had a flat panel TV which made for great kid and parent viewing. The unit was furnished with a small desk, a few tables and chairs, and plenty of dressers. The unit also had everything we needed to make our ski stay comfortable, including large hooks on the wall for ski jackets, closets in the hall, extra blankets and more.

The staff is super friendly and helpful, and genuinely so. They were very accommodating, from our late arrival to our complimentary morning coffee and newspapers, free video and sled rental and more. Really, the staff is the best.

There was only one thing that made our stay less than perfect, and that was the beep-beep-beeping sound of the slope grooming equipment put in reverse that started at 5:30 or 6:00 AM every morning. Five. Thirty. AM. In the morning. Every morning. Yes, it's a fact of life for ski-in, ski-out properties, I do suppose, but I honestly was not ready to wake up that early every morning. Won't wake all guests, of course, but it woke me. That was the only "problem" with the property. Red Wolf is a real gem!

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the parking lot as possible so you don't hear the beeping of the snow gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByTheSeaByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi ByTheSeaByTheSea,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your one bedroom suite spacious and comfortable. We're thrilled our staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating during your trip. We apologize for any noise you experienced. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We got a week here and had been staying at the Marriott Grand Residence for the past two years. The "Lodge" in the name made us a little uneasy. However, we are impressed. The location is fantastic. The Village is close to walk to with the Squaw Resort a shuttle ride away. Get your rentals at the Inn rental place. With the RedWolf discount, you can't get a better deal. Plus, it's so easy to drive over and get everything. They make the returns and rental so easy. Shelly in the front office is a wealth of information. And they had sleds for us to borrow. We took her advice for everything we've done on this trip and nothing was a miss! The place is clean -- amazingly clean. Maybe it's not that crowded because the snow level is low, but we are not feeling crowded. Fresh coffee and tea every morning is great! I don't have to make my own. The cleanliness of the jacuzzi tubs are checked diligently. The clubhouse is a nice place to hang. The pots and pans in the full kitchen are good quality. There are more than 4 sets of utensils and plates, cups, etc so I am not constantly doing dishes. We have a studio unit that overlooks the slopes and the mountains. We like it. Besides the footsteps from the guests over head, there's nothing to complain about. The blankets are soft and clean. So are the pillows. Our son has bad allergies so it's always a test for us. He sleeps well -- we sleep well. No pets allowed!!! We wish we could have stayed the whole week. However, with the flu and the soccer tournaments, we are glad we made it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi BettyKR,
Thank you for your review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. It's great to know you had fun sledding and that Shelly was able to assist you with any questions you may have had. We're glad your son was able to sleep allergy free as well! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom unit and loved the new flat screen televisions. The bed was amazingly comforterable. Vicky at the front desk was very helpful with dinner suggestions and activities in the area. Rich in the maintenance team helped with a request I had for my room and Shelly was very friendly and gave me a great recommendation for breakfast. The entire staff made my stay perfect. My room was so clean, I was impressed. The VIP Discount Program for dining was AWESOME!!
There was fresh snow which made the resort even more fun!!! I'll will for sure be back and will recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the snow making machines and it was beautiful to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi rwll,
Thank you for your post. We are thrilled to learn of your stay and are so glad you enjoyed your room and accommodations. We're happy to hear Vicki and Shelly were of much help during your visit and provided great recommendations for your stay. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
420 reviews
22.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £100 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. Please note a Daily Resort Fee of $15 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Guest must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing