We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, tons of room, very uncomfortable bed(s), 1980's decor”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It's not quite ski-in, ski-out, but it's darn close. It was a short walk to the Funitel and to the tram from the Lodge. Very convenient. Covered parking with direct access to the lobby and tons of luggage carts (always grateful when a hotel has plenty of luggage carts).

Our room was large and super-quiet, near as I could tell (we were there on some off nights, Sunday-Tuesday) - we barely heard anyone else (despite being in room 223, which is right next to two doors from the main lobby stairs AND the elevator).

The decor is stuck in the 1980's. Salmon-colored paint, lattice design highlights in places, chrome drawer pulls with a geometric design. The layout was odd, but I think it's meant for families: a queen size bed with pony walls that could be sheltered further from the rest of the room with blinds (although with no door, there would still be no true privacy, maybe just a little protection from the light of the TV - strange design). The sectional sofa pulled out into a bed.

The bed was uncomfortable - not sure why. It wasn't super-hard, the pillows were standard, but we had a horrible first night's sleep. The next night, we both slept on the sofa - there was plenty of room. That also didn't work. Finally, we tried the sofa bed. That was the best option, but still not great.

It had a kitchenette, and unlike most hotel kitchenettes, this one was stocked with utensils - pretty much anything you could want.

Not at all a bad option and very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapalitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

My buddies and I recently spent a long-weekend at the Squaw Valley Lodge for my bachelor party. We had two rooms (one Loft Suite and one Deluxe Suite) and found that we had more than enough space. The larger room - the Loft - was our "base" and the other room - the Deluxe - was nice, as well, since it served as kind of a "quiet zone." The accommodations were clean, comfortable and well-equipped (i.e. multiple TVs, two bathrooms, a functional stove, oven, dishwasher, etc.). The amenities were also quite nice, especially the outdoor hot tubs, which were particularly refreshing in the cold air. We got parking spots, which were covered and convenient and there were many trolleys to help us get our gear in and out. And, it might go without saying, but the location is amazing! One of the side doors is truly no more than 100 paces from one of the lifts at the base of Squaw.

Room Tip: The Loft Suites are awesome for large(er) groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwbraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The lodge is very well located, just down the slopes. Perfect for skiiers and families. The rooms are spaceful and clean. Most of them have amazing views of the Sierra. The Lodge is surrounded by trendy stores, bars and restaurants, but you will need a car to get groceries. They have jacuzzis and pools. Very quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Squaw Valley Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back again!
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We loved our stay at Squaw Valley Lodge. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo which was immaculately clean and so beautifully decorated with cute furnishings, really cosy. We loved the gas fire place and super comfy couch, lovely for sitting and reading a book! The kitchen was well equipped and modern. The facilities onsite were very nice too - the hot tub great after a day of skiing. Very close to the ski slopes, some apartments were closer than others though. Easy walk to the village restaurants and shops. Really beautiful part of the world and Squaw Valley Lodge was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumma_Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We loved Squaw Valley Lodge! Could not fault the service especially Cody! He was so helpful! We lived our accomodation and the proximity to the village. Snow wasn't great but we still enjoyed our white Christmas.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tamarra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was my second stay at Squaw Valley Lodge & this time had a studio apartment. While the snow was not great the location being so central you could still ski in ski out which is great if the conditions change, easy to reconfigure clothing or layers. Rooms are clean, basic but comfortable and reasonably spacious. Bed was too soft for my liking, reasonable hanging storage space. Amenities such as laundry on each floor make extended stays easy. Kitchen facilities did not include oven/grill but had fridge, microwave, electric stove top & dishwasher so self catering is easy, only limited by what you can purchase from Alice's Mountain Mart, so if possible bring in some food essentials.

Room Tip: Building 3 rooms are adjacent to Olympic Lodge and the lifts and so are best for ski in ski out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Squaw Valley Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are sorry the bed was too soft for your preference. In the future please feel free to make a request prior to your arrival and we will do all we can to accommodate the special request. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had checked all the reviews and they were all positive. But I was terribly disappointed.
1. Dishwasher overflow - thank goodness we did not leave the unit. Pretty much flooded the floor.
2. Disgusting frying pan - a maid picked it up to clean but did not return. So I called and two guys at the front desk who could have better attitude. (Dec 25 afternoon)
3. One of the spas was badly needed to be cleaned. Very foamy.

Yes, its location is good. Guest Services desk personnel was very helpful (Dec 24 evening)
But I had expected better from you with all those awesome 5 star reviews!

Room Tip: make sure to stay in the room when you use the dishwasher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointedDec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We all work to provide a great experience for our guests, therefore I must apologize that you had some less than pleasant encounters. I am sorry that the dishwasher overflowed. This is a rare occurrence but with dishwashers in every one of our condominium suites it can happen. I trust there was a quick response and quick fix to the saturation problem.

Additionally we apologize our housekeeping service was not up to your expectations. In the future
if you have any cleaning needs please contact our Guest Services so we may properly communicate this to our staff and accommodate you

The foamy spa is the result of body soaps and lotions in the spa. Our spa maintenance is performed daily and more during busy times such as the Christmas holidays. I am hoping you went to a different hot tub. We have six hot tubs onsite with rotating maintenance.

Your comments regarding the Front Desk have been reviewed with the staff. They are appreciated and very helpful for improving customer service.

Our objective is to make sure our guests are more than satisfied with their stay and I am sorry that this did not occur for you. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail at dant@gpeak.com or call me at (530) 583-5500, extension 4014.

Each and every guest experience is important to us. We hope you will give us another try again in the future.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,928 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
#4 of 5 in Olympic Valley
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £117 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing