We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Throttled internet”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Throttled internet”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

So maybe the internet speed isn't the most important aspect of the hotel, but it is the most disappointing. You get free crappy service (~2x ISDN up & down, 15ms ping), then pay up (~$30/day?) for real broadband. Were people really abusing netflix here? Perhaps.

This is an older property. They must have replaced all of the furniture and said something to the effect of "keep it period early 1980s". These are *a lot* bigger than the comparably labeled properties at the 'Village @ Squaw'. They are also cheaper. In our one experience here, but multiple at the 'village', beds are smaller and the linens/towels far cheaper here at the Lodge.

Try to get a room w/a balcony or least the trees. There are many that line the driveway to check-in or look out on the parking lot. I feel for those people.

The pool and hot tub are OK. The lobby? I don't want to hang out there.

Great location. 90% of the 'village' location for perhaps 70% of the price. Same decent middle-of-the-road service.

Room Tip: avoid the driveway views! obviously try to look toward the mtn. That is the only way I would take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    112
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
149
75
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent 4 nights in the one bedroom suite. It was very nice to have a kitchen with many utensils, maybe some foil, plastic wrap or storage containers would have been nice for the times we cooked in. The lodge was walking distance to the Funitel, but it was more walk-in walk-out rather than ski in ski out. That might have been due to the all-time low amount of snow this season. Our intention was to ski a lot (which we did) and then use the room mainly for sleeping and eating. It was good for that. Not really many extras of interest to do in the lodge itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraghty-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
243 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It's not fancy or up-to-date, but the one bedroom suite was spacious and clean. The toaster did not work and the corkscrew had no screw... lots of small things could use some attention. Also I agree with others that the beds and linens are not great, and we slept poorly because of a lot of outside noise during the night (beeping of equipment backing up, presumably snow-grooming?). My rating definitely reflects other experiences around Tahoe -- I would give this a 3 almost anywhere else. It was great fun though to be able to walk (alas not ski) to the ski lifts. I should also note that we got a fairly good deal on the room rate, without which again my rating would have been lower.

Room Tip: Rooms right alongside the lifts/snow grooming equipment can be noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It's not quite ski-in, ski-out, but it's darn close. It was a short walk to the Funitel and to the tram from the Lodge. Very convenient. Covered parking with direct access to the lobby and tons of luggage carts (always grateful when a hotel has plenty of luggage carts).

Our room was large and super-quiet, near as I could tell (we were there on some off nights, Sunday-Tuesday) - we barely heard anyone else (despite being in room 223, which is right next to two doors from the main lobby stairs AND the elevator).

The decor is stuck in the 1980's. Salmon-colored paint, lattice design highlights in places, chrome drawer pulls with a geometric design. The layout was odd, but I think it's meant for families: a queen size bed with pony walls that could be sheltered further from the rest of the room with blinds (although with no door, there would still be no true privacy, maybe just a little protection from the light of the TV - strange design). The sectional sofa pulled out into a bed.

The bed was uncomfortable - not sure why. It wasn't super-hard, the pillows were standard, but we had a horrible first night's sleep. The next night, we both slept on the sofa - there was plenty of room. That also didn't work. Finally, we tried the sofa bed. That was the best option, but still not great.

It had a kitchenette, and unlike most hotel kitchenettes, this one was stocked with utensils - pretty much anything you could want.

Not at all a bad option and very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapalitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My buddies and I recently spent a long-weekend at the Squaw Valley Lodge for my bachelor party. We had two rooms (one Loft Suite and one Deluxe Suite) and found that we had more than enough space. The larger room - the Loft - was our "base" and the other room - the Deluxe - was nice, as well, since it served as kind of a "quiet zone." The accommodations were clean, comfortable and well-equipped (i.e. multiple TVs, two bathrooms, a functional stove, oven, dishwasher, etc.). The amenities were also quite nice, especially the outdoor hot tubs, which were particularly refreshing in the cold air. We got parking spots, which were covered and convenient and there were many trolleys to help us get our gear in and out. And, it might go without saying, but the location is amazing! One of the side doors is truly no more than 100 paces from one of the lifts at the base of Squaw.

Room Tip: The Loft Suites are awesome for large(er) groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwbraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The lodge is very well located, just down the slopes. Perfect for skiiers and families. The rooms are spaceful and clean. Most of them have amazing views of the Sierra. The Lodge is surrounded by trendy stores, bars and restaurants, but you will need a car to get groceries. They have jacuzzis and pools. Very quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Squaw Valley Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back again!
Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We loved our stay at Squaw Valley Lodge. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo which was immaculately clean and so beautifully decorated with cute furnishings, really cosy. We loved the gas fire place and super comfy couch, lovely for sitting and reading a book! The kitchen was well equipped and modern. The facilities onsite were very nice too - the hot tub great after a day of skiing. Very close to the ski slopes, some apartments were closer than others though. Easy walk to the village restaurants and shops. Really beautiful part of the world and Squaw Valley Lodge was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumma_Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing