We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish there was more time ...”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wish there was more time ...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in the Lake Tahoe area with friends and we stayed in one of the two storey rooms in the Lodge. The Lodge was conveniently located in the village. It was a short walk to the center of the village, but not so close that it got noisy. It was next to some ski lifts (we were there outside of skiing season). So it was probably quite ideal for a skiing vacation.

The room itself was good -- clean and spacious. It had a small kitchen so one could make simple meals in there. It was a bit hard at first to find the room, as the property was quite large, with different elevators leading to different wings.

The property came with quite a few amenities, including swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, gym, table tennis and tennis, etc. Too bad we did not have enough time to enjoy them all. But of course, that was because we were spending all our time enjoying the great outdoors in the region!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    114
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
152
76
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The lodge is perfectly located adjacent to Olympic Village, just steps from the gondola. The lodge parking is closer than the lots for Squaw Valley. We enjoyed the outdoor and indoor Jacuzzis, had a nice, fully equipped
kitchenette, and even slept on the sofa bed one night (it was that comfortable). The staff were friendly but let us come and go without excessive doting.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've been skiing at Squaw my entire life and always thought how fun it would be to stay at Squaw Valley Lodge...after years of thinking about it, my wife and I took our 3 kids (9 yrs old and
under) on a spring skiing trip this year and the Lodge exceeded expectations. We stayed in a lofted studio that was appropriately appointed and provided plenty of room. The small kitchenette was perfect for making a "big day" breakfast. Location close to the village is optimal. Staff provided every need including finding and FedEx'ing a forgotten stuffed animal back to our home. We are already planning our trip next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We came for a wedding then stayed for skiing - thanks for ordering the snow for us! So nice to be able to walk from our room to the Funitel... not exactly sure about skiing in and out though - for $600/night I think we would have preferred to ski in and out.
We slept on the pull out sofa - which was comfortable and nice as a sofa, but not as a bed.
All in all, we had a great time and enjoyed being able to cook/ eat in our condo.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

So maybe the internet speed isn't the most important aspect of the hotel, but it is the most disappointing. You get free crappy service (~2x ISDN up & down, 15ms ping), then pay up (~$30/day?) for real broadband. Were people really abusing netflix here? Perhaps.

This is an older property. They must have replaced all of the furniture and said something to the effect of "keep it period early 1980s". These are *a lot* bigger than the comparably labeled properties at the 'Village @ Squaw'. They are also cheaper. In our one experience here, but multiple at the 'village', beds are smaller and the linens/towels far cheaper here at the Lodge.

Try to get a room w/a balcony or least the trees. There are many that line the driveway to check-in or look out on the parking lot. I feel for those people.

The pool and hot tub are OK. The lobby? I don't want to hang out there.

Great location. 90% of the 'village' location for perhaps 70% of the price. Same decent middle-of-the-road service.

Room Tip: avoid the driveway views! obviously try to look toward the mtn. That is the only way I would take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent 4 nights in the one bedroom suite. It was very nice to have a kitchen with many utensils, maybe some foil, plastic wrap or storage containers would have been nice for the times we cooked in. The lodge was walking distance to the Funitel, but it was more walk-in walk-out rather than ski in ski out. That might have been due to the all-time low amount of snow this season. Our intention was to ski a lot (which we did) and then use the room mainly for sleeping and eating. It was good for that. Not really many extras of interest to do in the lodge itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraghty-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It's not fancy or up-to-date, but the one bedroom suite was spacious and clean. The toaster did not work and the corkscrew had no screw... lots of small things could use some attention. Also I agree with others that the beds and linens are not great, and we slept poorly because of a lot of outside noise during the night (beeping of equipment backing up, presumably snow-grooming?). My rating definitely reflects other experiences around Tahoe -- I would give this a 3 almost anywhere else. It was great fun though to be able to walk (alas not ski) to the ski lifts. I should also note that we got a fairly good deal on the room rate, without which again my rating would have been lower.

Room Tip: Rooms right alongside the lifts/snow grooming equipment can be noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
618 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing