We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Rocklin, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is large and just plain beautiful. Our room was upgraded to a suite by my sweet husband. We had two rooms and a kitchenette. All beautifully decorated and comfortable. Lovely fireplace in the room that added to the cozy feel of the rooms. Our view was breathtaking, overlooking the ski resort mountains. Rooms smelled clean and bathrooms were very nice. We are going again next year and will upgrade again.

Restaurants were nice and bars were nice and friendly. Pool was too cold! Solar or hearing should be added to the pool. The grounds were pretty and large. The resort stores were very nice, but very expensive.

All in all we loved our stay at this resort. We will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. It was not much more than a. Average room. I think we payed about $50.00 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    114
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
152
76
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainwell,
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our son got married on the Truckee River near Squaw Valley Lodge. Our family and friends all stayed at Squaw Valley Lodge. The rooms were clean and spacious. The front desk people were wonderful; friendly and were able to help us with each question or need we had. They all had smiles for us! Nick was exceptional as were the others; in the excitement of the wedding activities, I didn't always catch the front desk people's names!
Wanderlust Yoga festival was going on while we were at Squaw Valley Lodge; it turned out to be so much fun with all the booths and events going on in the village.
We look forward to going back to Squaw Valley Lodge in summer to do more hiking, biking, paddle boarding on Lake Tahoe, tubing on the Truckee River, and trying a Tahoe Dinner Cruise.
Again, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Be specific about what floor you want. No a/c in any rooms due to cooler, dry heat in the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnyPlainwell_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent three nights here for the Wanderlust Festival last weekend. The staff here was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and very clean. The kitchen was great - everything we needed was stocked. The beds were comfortable and the views were amazing. We stayed in Building 4. We were here for a festival, so it was very loud at night. We were expecting that, so we were not bothered by it. This is a great place to stay, right in the center of all the action, with quality restaurants and shopping just steps away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went for three nights...stayed in a one bedroom with a loft. Had our two kids with us and wanted more then a standard room. The area is beautiful, no doubt about it. The unit we were in was very dated and the resort has no a/c. Apparently, from what we found out while there, many of the resorts are like this...seems the last few yrs the summers have gotten a lot hotter. This made the loft area very..very warm. All that was up there was a stand up fan. Many of these units are in various stages of upgrades, based on what the owner has done. You may want to ask a lot of questions before you go and expect to pay big bucks for food and activities. But the beauty was priceless.

Room Tip: Ask where room is located and if it has ceiling fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We live less than 2 hours away from Lake Tahoe, so we visit the area fairly often. We usually stay somewhere along the lake. This trip we had found a deal on the tram ride and swimming at Squaw Valley, and since we had two grand kids visiting we thought they might find that fun. We ended up booking a room at Squaw Valley Lodge at the last minute. We weren't sure what to expect, but really, really enjoyed the experience. I didn't give 5 stars because I reserve that for really fancy hotels, but this the the top rating I would give a smaller, casual hotel. We rented a "loft" room, which had a queen bed and bathroom downstairs, plus a queen bed and separate bathroom upstairs for the kids. The room had a decent sized living room with a nice big TV. The kitchenette was very nice, only downfall was the mini-fridge did not have a freezer, but this was a minor thing. Kids loved the pool and two hot tubs, and we loved that we could watch them from our hotel room window. Kids also enjoyed the ping pong, tram ride, and wandering around Squaw Village. We appreciated the fact that we were away from all of the holiday commotion in Lake Tahoe (4th of July weekend and a madhouse there). We did several day trips down to the lake, but also spent several days up at Squaw. We liked being halfway in-between Truckee and Tahoe. The hotel is definitely a nice / decent place to stay, and we plan to go back!

Room Tip: The lodge is pretty huge and has many different buildings. Some rooms look out onto the pool. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundari108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corte Madera, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We've stayed at this property in the summer 3 times over the course of our kids lives (now in college) because it's consistently comfortable, clean and quiet. It's a wonderful location away from the hustle and grind of daily life. There's plenty to do at this location, just steps from the lifts, hiking & dining or a quick 10 minute drive to Tahoe City or Truckee. You won't be disappointed and will be booking again and again.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units are large and big enough to sleep 6 comfortably. Lofts are great for couples or cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sha106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently stayed in Building 7 at Squaw Valley Lodge- Sooo great to be near the Village but still have the privacy we needed. Had come from 4-day stay in Tahoe for wedding and was afraid we'd miss the action of the Lake. But it was a perfect combination of adventure( hiked Shirley Trail) and relaxation. Had 2 bedroom suite and there was plenty of room- perfect end to our Tahoe Vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariahdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
618 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing