We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Self-Sufficient Travelers”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for Self-Sufficient Travelers”
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My hubby and I enjoyed our 4 night stay in a 'deluxe' one bedroom recently. We opted to check in the Sunday of Labor Day weekend in hopes that we'd miss the crowds. We used the "Manager's Special" rate on the lodges' website. Check in was easy, the room was wonderful. The deluxe units have an oven and a washer/dryer in the unit, are larger, and are more attractively furnished. Our room had 2 flat screen TVs with DVD players, which was lovely as there was very little to do at night in the Village during our stay (many stores were closed/limited hours until the winter). We enjoyed hiking straight out of the lodge, right up to Shirley Lake. The lodge grounds were very well kept, staff was not at all intrusive. The multiple hot tubs and pool were very enjoyable. It was too warm for us to sample the sauna or steam rooms, but both were clean and available. Nice game room and public areas with fireplaces and sofas, great workout room. I'm not a skier, but I can absoulutely see where one would love to stay here during the winter--great access to ski lifts, shops, restaurants, easy parking, you'd never need your car once you arrived! For summer travelers, access to hiking, Squaw's High Camp, access to miles of paved bike paths and numerous local bike shops made it a convenient place for us to get away for a few days. There's a mini market at the Village for incidentals, and there's a regular grocery about 10 minutes away in Tahoe City. Free ethernet in room was slow. No wifi and my ATT coverage was pretty poor in the room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breathinglizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    114
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
152
76
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
celsius888
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Our first time in this Lodge as our timeshare was full due to late decision to go to Lake Tahoe. We stayed at one bedroom suite, spacious and comfortable but I could easily increase the space by 40% if I were to decorate the unit. Too many furniture and decorations not necessary and only occupies space. Kitchen is useful and functional although it does not have an oven like other timeshares or rental resort we have been to. On our first night, I heard a very unusual noise that was so loud it gave me an headache and almost called the front desk to complain. The next day while I was preparing breakfast I heard the sound again, it is the water-heater. I think the water heater tank in our unit (319) is sharing the adjoining unit. The first night, our neighbor was probably taking a late shower and caused the water-heater to power on and we have no control over it and just waited about an hour before it powered off. This is the only complain we have on this unit, but if we were aware of the kind of noise it creates at night we would have not stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celsius888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEast
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights here and was just what we needed after coming from San Fran. Found the front desk helpful though we never bothered them greatly.

Our condo was great. Nice bedroom area, seating area and well equiped kitchen. We loved being able to make our own meals and packed lunches.
The only downside was that it adjoined the condo next door and the occupants the first night were quite loud talkers! We didn't ask to be moved and the next night there were new people in and we barely heard them.

We had debated whether to stay here or in Tahoe City and think we made the right choice. It's a few mins walk to The Village which has as many restaurants as Tahoe City and a few shops.

We travelled when many of the US schools went back so the pool was never very busy and parking was easy.

The place had a nice relaxed atmosphere and because we were travelling for a few weeks it was great that they have a laundry on each floor which you can use for a small charge.

We hired bikes and enjoyed cycling along the Truckee River and around the Lake - beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasieMasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, MI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed in a loft condo with our teenage daughter and found the room to be great. You can save some money by eating breakfast and lunch in the room as we found restaurants in the area to be somewhat pricey. The Hotel was clean and the staff was helpful and you could easily walk over to the Village for shopping and restaurants. We took the cable car up to High Camp and enjoyed hiking while our daughter enjoyed the pool area. The food at the High Camp restaurant was expensive and not very good. Bring your own picnic lunch if possible.

We would definitely recommend this location and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulVAda_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We got a great rate for our "Deluxe Studio" - Bldg 3, Rm. 253 - and were delighted with it. We had a great view of the little pond and the mountain. All the fixtures were new and shiny, lovely amenities (soaps in bathroom, coffee in kitchen), the place was very clean, and almost everything worked. I made a call about a broken screen, and the maintainance guy came right up and fixed it. The housekeeping was inconsistent-- one day they would run the dishwasher, next day not --yet the place was always clean.
As at most places, the spa tub was highjacked as a makeshift "kiddie pool", which made me resentful that only one of the 2 were open. The pool area was nicely kept and there were plenty of chairs, but it's between several of the lodge's wings, so there's somewhat of a sensation of being penned-in.
Something of note is that there was NO separation wall between our bed area and the kitchen area. This is something I would advise asking about for those intending to book the deluxe studio, or the loft. A half-wall is clearly depicted on the website, but our unit didn't have it. Not a big issue, but toward the end of our stay we were tired of going to bed while staring at the kitchen sink.
Finally, the front desk staff. Okay, so depending on the day/hour, these were either a bunch of kids-early 20's- or middle-aged golfer types who said little and delivered less. I guess the best word to describe them would be "smug". We always felt like they were bothered by our questions. Very disconcerting for a traveller needing information, or God forbid, recommendations.

So the hotel gets big thumbs up from us, but the front desk staff really needs to take some happy, friendly pills. Or better yet, get training in customer service and communication skills.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GueneviereRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, IL
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

The condo was just the right size for my 2 teenage boys and I. The location was great and there is a lot to do in the village.
The lodge has covered parking, a ping pong table, free internet, tennis courts and a nice pool. Great for my teenage boys. Less than 1 block to walk to the Village at Squaw Valley that has many stores, restaurants, mini-putt-putt and jumpie. The cable car ride to the top of the mountain that has a pool and ice rink is very close. We rented bikes in the village and rode the bike trails.
The room was great- nice kitchen with a dishwasher, breakfast bar, dining room table, living room, bedroom and good-sized bathroom. The room was very clean and well kept. The lobby and walkways were well lit and I felt safe walking around late at night. I would go back- the staff was very friendly and kind and responsive.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We booked the loft unit and it was plenty of room for the 4 of us. Even though the "master" does not have a wall around it that was not a problem. The kids were upstairs most of the time whenever we were in the room (at night to sleep and get ready). The loft area upstairs was very spacious. There was literally enough room for 2 seperate bedrooms up there if they wanted to put up walls. One alcove of the loft had a sofa sleeper so one child claimed that area as hers and the other got the queen bed on the other side of the loft. 2 walk-in closets and a full bath upstairs was GREAT. We were traveling w/ another family and one of their kids even spent the night w/ ours. PLENTY of room. It was a kitchenette w/ a full size fridge which was great. I don't cook a full meal on vacation anyway. Just need a fridge for water and other drinks.

The location was GREAT. The other family we were with stayed at The Village. The only difference is the restaurants and shops were right below them and we had to walk a few yards. However, we coud literally ski right up to the door to come into our building and they could not. LOVED IT! Very close to the lifts and cable car and an easy walk over to the ski school. If you wanted to drive (I did one day because it was actually raining) it wasn't bad at all. Very quiet and the entire group even said the workout facility and pools at Squaw Valley Lodge were much better than The Village. Oh, and our friends had to contend w/ a lot of noise coming from the village area when they did breakfasts outside and music and all. Our place was quiet and peaceful.

Free wifi and free coffee in the mornings in the lobby. Would stay here again.

Even though there was plenty of storage in our unit for ski's and snowboards it would have been great to have a place closer to the door into & out of the building for them. Then no one would need to carry them thru the building and on the elevators.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof2dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
619 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing