We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room with beautiful views of the Mountains”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We decided to stay a couple more days in the Tahoe area & chose to stay at Squaw. In a nutshell: 1)location is great, quick walk to the alpine shopping & restaurant plaza and the cable car that goes to the moutain. 2) Restaurants at the plaza are good and there's a little market that carries just about anything. 3)Lodge: Very clean, beds are comfortable, bathroom are clean, staff are great. Enjoyed the pool & hot tubs

We stayed at the Lodge in the summer: hot days & cool evenings. We spent most of days outdoors. We took the cable car to high camp to do some hiking & swimming.

Cons:
1) Room: a) decor is a little dated, but in excellent condition. 2)no air conditioning, but the nights are cool & rooms do cool down.

We would definitely stay there again for a couple nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBO5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Squaw Valley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

Skiing with colleague pre conference in SF. Lovely if not small room. Made up by jacuzzis at night. Ski to and from door...what more do we need?

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at Squaw valley lodge during the last week of the squaw ski season. The price is good for its location and amenities. The Snow condition was amazing this Spring, and we had a great time.

The lodge is extremely well situated, right next to the High Camp Gondola. The room is well equipped, with an efficient kitchenette. Parking is free, and so is internet. The lodge has 6 jacuzzi tubs. During our stay, we were the only family using the jacuzzi. It was amazing!

In term of the weaknesses, the room heater was extremely noisy. It woke us up the first night. In the 2nd day, we turned the temperature really high and then set the temp really low for the night. This way the heater was not turned on. The shower stream was really small--not a comfortable shower. Other than that, the service was good and people at the front desk very friendly. All in all, a happy stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

For the price, the location was fantastic. Our first time at Squaw and we absolutely loved it. The units are the closest to the lifts yet slightly removed from the main village center such that outside noise was non-existent. However, the walls and floors between the rooms are acoustically transparent. We were lucky with low occupancy with the exception of the first night when we clearly heard conversations above as well as the foot traffic. The furnishings are dated but appeared to be clean. The hot tubs are great and service was friendly. Overall, $226 per night including taxes and fees and weekend stay for ski-in/ski-out 1BDR is pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashDCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We're from Indiana and wanted to take a Spring Break ski trip with our 14-yr-old son and 19-yr-old daughter to an area we'd never been to. We chose Tahoe on a whim and Squaw Valley Lodge based on positive online reviews. We were not disappointed, to say the least. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The young woman who sold us our lift tickets was especially helpful and told us about a reduced rate ticket that our college student could get. It was truly ski-in-ski-out so our kids could go down to the room or hot tub when they wanted to take a break and we didn't have to worry about them (thank goodness for cell phones).

There were two outdoor hot tubs that were really nice. One afternoon one of the tubs was covered and the other one was crowded so we asked at the front desk if the one was closed. The maintenance guy came out immediately and opened it for us even though he said that they don't normally open it until later in the day to conserve energy.

The room was clean and even the "pull-out" couches were comfortable (they really weren't pull-out, just two wide couches that worked as beds when the pillows were removed). We had a loft room which worked well for our daughter to have a little extra space and to have the extra bathroom.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted-ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Drove to Squaw Valley, from Vegas, my son's 20th birthday also.Tired, walked in, and got a room right away. Other rooms in area had a 400.-650. rate. I paid $250.for a night, week before Christmas. Next day rate I was told was 860. , but when I told him I loved the ski condo, he let me have the rate of $250.for the next night. Clean, had everything. I miss the huge tub in the bathroom. Kids loved to ski right to the door. I spent some time around the fireplace in the lobby area, even if it was fake, it was so cozy. Great place, great service, even the man selling local real estate was so wonderful. I almost bought a house in the area! I will go back, I loved it. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starhotelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We stayed at Squaw Valley Lodge in January and loved it! The rooms were really good and clean, it was nice to have a kitchen and it had everything we needed! The location was great, could see the lifts out our windows and loved being able to step out the door onto the ski run.

The outdoor hot tubs are really nice! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chchnz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: £119 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing