We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty nice zoo in a beautiful park!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange County Zoo

Orange County Zoo
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty nice zoo in a beautiful park!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice place to take children because it doesn't require a lot of walking. It's in Irvine Park, which is just a lovely park. I especially liked the mountain lion demonstration the park personnel put on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    36
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great zoo!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Is an small zoo but is really nice last time they had so many monkeys and so but is really nice not too crowded as LA zoo

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Ca.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great zoo for small kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I take my daughter here all of the time, and she loves it. They mostly have small exhibits with a mountain lion and brown bear being the largest exhibits. There is also a petting zoo. It is quite small, but the perfect size for small children because they can walk around it without getting too tired. It is well worth the $2 admission cost. The staff is very friendly, too. Try to see one of the feedings if possible... They are great! The weasel is our favorite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hmsd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our granddaughter loves visiting the zoo, especially the petting area. We like it because it's easy to get to, relatively cheap, and a great place for toddlers and older children to get outdoors and enjoy one of the great O.C. parks

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CalBeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very cute place! Lots to do outside the zoo, too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

VERY cute for my 7 year old and 4 year old. As everyone has mentioned, excellent price at $5 parking per car (entire day) and $2 pp to the zoo. There is a good lot of them + feeding and presentation of the animals. Scavenger Hunt for my 7 year old who loved it! So, about an hour in the zoo. Then, another 1/2 (could have been longer) at one of the play structures. We could have stayed here much longer. Got some snacks (good sized nachos and cheese, grilled cheese sandwich, good sized french fries, medium drink + 2 med to large chocolate chip cookies = $15). Paddle boat for 1/2 hour = $15. Total about $38 for a good few hours and we really enjoyed it. I would definitely come back for the pedicab, other play structures, feed the ducks and more. Yes, I recommend this park! Good fun! :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orange County Zoo also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Orange County Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing