We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel and Stay”
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel and Stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is very professional and accommodated our special request. See, we had arrived in CA prior to the hotel's check-in time and called round noon to see if any room was available with little expectation that there would be. A team member promised to call back if something came up and guess what ... they did! We were able to get unpacked by 2pm and get to the beach. From that point on, we took advantage of everything the hotel had to offer during our stay. We used the swimming pool, the hot tub and the exercise room several times during that week. By the way, the exercise equipment is extremely limited (3 machines in total - a treadmill, elliptical and weightlifting bench). Right next door to the hotel is a Wendy's (we ate there), a Best Buy (my husband went there out of boredom waiting for us to get ready) and a couple of other small fast food establishments (Starbucks, Quizno's). Across the street, however, we discovered there was a pretty fantastic outlet mall complete with outside vendors (love my kettle corn), an AMC movie theatre and several eat in restaurants such as BJs on the grounds in addition to the brand name stores. Another plus was the ART shuttle which picked us up and delivered us to and from Disneyland while we were there. The morning buffet when we made it to breakfast was pretty good. Nothing particularly fancy but it came with the room so what's not to love. The elevators were small and slow so getting to your room or to the lobby took some time. But other than that, the only other minor inconvenience was due to my own ignorance probably. I booked a secret rate hotel off Hotwire so the room we were given was a Queen bed with a sofa bed. I would have preferred two Queens for us and our kids. With that said, we received free parking, free breakfast, free wifi, a great rate, a mini refrigerator, laundry facilities which we did use and freedom to explore the area due to its close proximity to attractions and the highway. I knocked down a star only because although I was extremely pleased with the hotel overall, I wasn't blown completely away. Would definitely stay again and recommend to loved ones.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask for a top floor so you can enjoy the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Your review was a pleasure to read. Thank you for sharing about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to the Anaheim/Orange area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    463
    124
    49
    31
See reviews for
768
256
64
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Bernardo, California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were assigned a quiet room at the very end on the top floor. However, we could still hear noise from neighboring rooms. The bed was not firm enough for us. We like that there is a refrigerator in the room. The breakfast was good with hot food, like: eggs, sausage, hashbrown;cold cereal, mixed fruit, bread, juice, coffee, tea, milk.
There is plenty of parking spaces, outdoor and indoor. The staff was friendly.
Since we got the express deal, so it was worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthfultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you utilized our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Ayres Inn in Orange is a family friendly but more sophisticated hotel than most of the local chains. We enjoyed the European style decor, cleanliness, comfortable room, nice little swimming pool and hot spa, and buffet style breakfast every morning in a tasteful breakfast room or refreshing outdoor patio. The location is very easy to find and accessible to the major freeways and John Wayne Airport. Staff was helpful and friendly. Hot drinks and cold water available in the lobby at all times, and the occasional plate of cookies were added niceties. Just two miles from the hotel is the charming old Downtown Orange with lots of good restaurants, antique shops, clothing boutiques, and many fine examples of sweet Craftsman style homes in a neighborhood friendly to walkers. Our only complaint is that the air conditioner did not keep the room cool all night, and the current fashion of putting quilts rather than light blankets on the beds made sleeping a little on the warm side. The bathroom was very nice with a good tub/shower, and in-room refrigerator was useful.

Green Features: The linen service for sheets is environmentally friendly. I would have liked to see recycling in the breakfast room for all the plastic utensils and plates, better yet, real dishes and utensils would bring the quality up a notch and save a lot in the land fill.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our surrounding area attractions. We look forward to having you all stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Me and my family really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel exceeded my expectations. They were every friendly & helpful. It was in a great location to go to Disney & other places. The beds were very comfy & the room setup was AWESOME! I will stay here again & tell others about my stay here...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleJ8254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice now. Always very good. Great staff very helpful and very freindly. Close to the theme parks and good shops. Good sized clean rooms. Would reccomend to anyone. Most enjoyable stay in a hotel in a long time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We appreciate your kind review and look forward to having you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Loved this hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. Pool and hot tub are great. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. ART shuttle to Disneyland is convenient and inexpensive. Only downside was that they do not offer option to rent movies on TV.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and our staff was helpful. We look forward to having you all stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here while antiquing in Orange. (Great place by the way) Good breakfast, clean rooms and the location is very central. Hospital right across the street if you had someone there. Parking can be a bit tough, get there early. Very nice desk people. Very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north side. South side opens on a very busy intersection and streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing