We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Horrible hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My sister discovered that the sheets on her bed was stained and dirty. When she asked that the linens be changed, they (eventually) brought up fresh sheets; but she had to put them on herself, as "there's no one in housekeeping right now". The next night, our other beds was invaded by ants - the bed was COVERED in them! When we asked to be transferred to another room, we were told that we couldn't be accommodated because the hotel was "booked up". The site we booked through hotwire fortunately, so they were able to get us into a different (and much better) hotel. Finally, on the way out we were sweeping the room to be sure we hadn't forgotten anything. When she looked under the beds, she found garbage - literally! The floor under the beds was covered in old wrappers, food scraps, and other debris.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesE412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

The first night of our stay, I discovered that the sheets on my bed were stained and dirty. When I asked that the linens be changed, they (eventually) brought up fresh sheets; but I had to put them on myself, as "there's no one in housekeeping right now". The next night, our other bed was invaded by ants - the bed was COVERED in them! When we asked to be transferred to another room, we were told that we couldn't be accommodated because the hotel was "booked up". The site we booked through was fortunately able to get us into a different (and much better) hotel. Finally, on the way out we were sweeping the room to be sure we hadn't forgotten anything. When I looked under the beds, I found garbage - literally! The floor under the beds was covered in old wrappers, food scraps, and other debris. I absolutely would NEVER stay at an Extended Stay property ever again! I normally stay at Radisson hotels; but my brother had booked the reservation. That's a mistake I won't make again!

Room Tip: Dirty, ant infested - don't stay here!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeleda913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear about the level of cleanliness in your room. Please accept my most sincere apology. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working very closely with my housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures so they are more in line with our company's high standards.

Again, I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I invite you to contact me at org@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We went to see Shane Victorino (Red Sox) vs. Angels ball game. so we drove 4 hours from Vegas and we stayed on 7/5/13 overnight. Our room was clean and 10 minutes driving from the stadium. Couldn't beat it for the price. They are pet friendly too!
They advertise breakfast, but it is just a grab and go, and they really need to clean the coffee urns out. other than that, we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your clean room, our hotel's location and the room price. However, we apologize for the coffee urns not being out during breakfast. I am working with the staff to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Please, feel free to contact me directly at org@extendedstay.com for your future travelling needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Katella Ave/Orange location and we were very pleased with our stay. We were there from June 6-14,2013. We originally booked for the 7th but arrived in town a day early-there was no problem getting the room a day early after calling ahead to notify them. When we arrived in the lobby, there was this very strong stale food odor like the carpet needs to be deep cleaned. At this point, I was concerned about what my room might smell like. There was no need to worry. The room was clean, neat and odorless. It felt like a little "home away from home" for the week we were there. As everyone mentions, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. It's a great place to come home to while away from home. It is in a central location and I would definitely stay there again when in southern California.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in the rear/there is more privacy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We thank you for such positive comments about staff and convenient location. Still, I am sorry about the odor in the lobby. Our maintenance staff has corrected this issue.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was there for several months. Pretty comfortable. Small but decent kitchenette (stove, microwave, toaster,full size fridge- but no oven.Great staff which was friendly and helpful. I liked that it was in a center with various good restaurants (and a movie theater).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjpremierontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the kitchenette that is provided in all of them. As well, I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at org@extendedstay.com for your future travelling needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Was in Anaheim to catch a ball game and hang with friends. Picked Extended Stay because of its proximity to Angel Stadium and it's low price. Pay the extra bucks and stay somewhere else. Checked in late Sunday first thing that struck me was the overwhelming smell of old food. Check in was easy but when I got to my room it not only smelled but the carpet was wet with some yet to be determined liquid . Back downstairs I went and was given another room. Dry carpet but still had wierd odor. Another thing to note is there is no maid service and clean towels must be picked up at front desk. There is a small kitchen area but when I went to get a glass for some water it had that stuck to the countertop had not been cleaned for a very long time feel. There are no vending machines so you have to walk to either Starbucks or the corner gas station for water and snacks about a block away . Like I said spend the extra bucks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a12barblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed to read that your room was unclean and there was slight odor. Please, accept my apology. In response, I am working with our housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures and inspection policies moving forward.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at org@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times and keep coming back because of their great front office staff. I have allergies and osteoporosis. They have been very accommodating with finding the best room for my stay. Five stars for their friendliness and can-do attitude!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Debbie - Thank you for your great review of our property and our staff. I'm so pleased to hear that you continue to visit our hotel because our staff has provided for your needs so well each time. As well, I am glad that our location is ideal for your travels.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
ALO Hotel
ALO Hotel
#2 of 15 in Orange
1,499 reviews
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
1.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.

Address: 1635 W Katella Ave, Orange, CA 92867-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £69 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-Katella Ave Hotel Orange
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.
Extended Stay Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing