We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to the city, but you'll feel truly free”

Irvine Regional Park
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So close to the city, but you'll feel truly free”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This park has trails and beautiful trees...you'll spot occasional hikers, bikers and horseback riders...everyone peacefully enjoying the naturaleza. A wonderful spot to unwind.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandrinaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    47
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get your favorite companion and enjoy nature !”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I go here once a week with my dogs. You could walk for 30 minutes or hike for a couple hours....pretty much depends on your energy level. My dogs, of course, beat me in this respect ! Do you want to stay in a very civilized area, the lake, the zoo, picnic area or would you rather take a walk with little recognition of the city and possible sighting of a coyote ? I believe there are 3500 acres here so you have many choices. I feel very fortunate to have this park so near home and I know my dogs agree !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetzer
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This very large regional park includes a developed area with lawns, tables and charcoal fire grills, rental pedal vehicles and boats, a railroad, pony rides, and even a zoo featuring local animals plus miles of trails both flat and steep through natural habitat. Located on land donated by James Irvine in 1897, it is the oldest and largest park in the county. There is an entry fee and plenty of parking.

Come at Christmas time to enjoy the fantasy train to visit Santa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful park!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a beautiful park for a barbecue, a picnic, or just a nice long walk with the dog. It's got great facilities for enjoying nature, plus some fun activities: kid's train, horse rental, bike rental, paddle boats. Great place to spot some native animals if you go early in the morning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregoryCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Irvine Park”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Large well kept park in Orange, CA area lots of pavilions, shaded areas for picnics and get togethers. The train ride is great for the kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobster43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irvine Regional Park also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to Irvine Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing