We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorial day weekend picnic”

Irvine Regional Park
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“memorial day weekend picnic”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Sunday 25, got there around 12:30, park was very crowded but I was able to find a grill, close to a tree that provided good shade, and good parking spots they were plenty still available. We were a party of 6, and were expecting some friends and family to come join us in a couple hours, to our surprise they unexpectedly decide to close the park around 2:30 claiming the park was full, other people like me went to talk to park rangers in entrance about our friends and family members situation trying to come in, they are rude and not helpfull at all, it was not really making any sense because they were a lot of parking spaces available and they were a lot of cars going out, many famlies like ours were expecting more people to come and they could not get in, forcing them to park ouside and walk to the park, all streets outside the park have non parking signs, still people desperate decided to park there. And all of them got parking tickets of course. To my opinion thats the parks strategy to help the city make some money. Be careful and keep that in mind when coming to this park, because they can close doors unexpectedly any time and for an unknown lenght of time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Qltyrqrd4sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    47
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful park and zoo!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Irvine Regional Park is always a great place to visit. If you go there, be sure to visit the zoo!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great local resource”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is an excellent, large, well maintained park with some really good facilities.
Lots of picnic areas including several large group areas.
Miles of hiking and mountain bike trails.
Horse riding facilities.
Bike and boat rentals.
A dozen or more geocaches within easy hiking distance
Farmers market every Tuesday fro 9-1

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So close to the city, but you'll feel truly free”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This park has trails and beautiful trees...you'll spot occasional hikers, bikers and horseback riders...everyone peacefully enjoying the naturaleza. A wonderful spot to unwind.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandrinaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get your favorite companion and enjoy nature !”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I go here once a week with my dogs. You could walk for 30 minutes or hike for a couple hours....pretty much depends on your energy level. My dogs, of course, beat me in this respect ! Do you want to stay in a very civilized area, the lake, the zoo, picnic area or would you rather take a walk with little recognition of the city and possible sighting of a coyote ? I believe there are 3500 acres here so you have many choices. I feel very fortunate to have this park so near home and I know my dogs agree !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irvine Regional Park also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to Irvine Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing