We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the entire family.”

Irvine Regional Park
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun for the entire family.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The oldest county regional park in California established in 1897 and it has aged well. Hundreds of oak and other beautiful shade trees through the park. Hiking and bicycle trails galore. A classic train ride for a nominal fee worth the money. Pony rides for kids one year old and older are available as well as rental horses for adults. Two snack bars are available with reasonably priced items such as hamburgers, hot dogs, corn dogs and delicious french fries. Soft serve ice cream is also available at the main snack bar that is delightful. The Irvine Zoo is located on the property that includes a petting zoo for the kids Covered family picnic areas are also available by reservation. This park is definitely family oriented. Our 2 year old granddaughter loved it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    48
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WOFFORD HEIGHTS
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Park was fun and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We loved the ability to meet with all our family. The zoo was family friendly, albeit small. The paddle boats were cool, gave us a good workout, but a spray jet might have been fun to help cool you off if you wanted or a fountain, the water was pretty murky and full of weeds, so you couldn't consider taking a dip. The nature center was really unique, we enjoyed that immensely.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

A great place to get the kids out and running.

You can rent bicycles and even pedal boats on the lakes.

Simple kids meals are available.

On a good day you can even fly kites!

Helpful?
1 Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun park!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't get to stay very long, but we really liked this park! It's in a picturesque part of town. It's very large; great for family gatherings. We had a few young kids who loved the train ride. We got to see peacocks. They have many other things to do like pathways to walk on, lakes to fish in or rent paddle boats. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pfam07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Big place”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lots going on here during my visit. There is a railroad to ride, pond with paddle boats, bicycle rentals, pony rides. Hiking trails. Lots of birthday parties. I suggest you arrive early. I arrived around 10am, drove right in. Upon leaving 3 hours later, the line to get into the park was way past the entrance (probably a 30 minute wait to get to the ticket kiosk). Looks like it has all the elements for a fun day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank josch1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irvine Regional Park also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Irvine Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing