We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check-in disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Check-in disaster”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stopped by the hotel the previous day to pay in advance and "grease the skids" so my visiting elderly father wouldn't have to produce a credit card and he would feel "treated like a king". The check-in desk ruined the entire "king thing" and completely embarrassed me (making me appear to have serious financial problems). The first check-in person demanded he produce a credit card for "incidentals" even though I had previously signed paperwork where I agreed to pay for all charges in advance. Even after I stepped in, she remained adamant that dad was required to reach into his wallet. Finally, the front desk supervisor straightened things out. As the check-in resumed, the supervisor pulled me off to the side and said my AmEx card was no good. Then she ran my VISA card and told me it was rejected. As my elderly father, with cane, waited (still standing) at the front desk, so also ran my MasterCard and another VISA card of mine ... all declined! At this point I was sure my identity had been stolen. I paid the fee charged by the lobby ATM and booked dad's room with cash and finally got the room key. When I got up to the room, I called the credit card companies. They all assured me all was well (no stolen identity or holds placed on the cards) and told me the hotel hadn't even tried to place a charge against my cards. They said the hotel credit card terminal must have been faulty ... why didn't the supervisor think to try another terminal? I then called the supervisor to complain and fill her in on the situation. She still insisted she was in the right but agreed to take $50 off the bill to assuage me and get me off the phone. Of course, to top things off, they only refunded $37 during check-out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank S6784EHtomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide a high quality of service when you were checking in with your father. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. We apologize that the credit card terminal was faulty and your feedback helps make us aware of the situation. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Kind Regards,
DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim/Orange Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    552
    227
    73
    47
See reviews for
630
265
78
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Customer service was outstanding. I booked two rooms for my family, and the rooms were clean, and very neatly arranged. The service was so good that we extended another night of stay. By the way, the complimentary cookies were delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank luv2trvl094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange. We aim to make every stay the best stay possible. We hope to see you again next time you are in town to welcome you back with a cookie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Visited for 4 nights to see the Disneyland attractions. Great service, welcoming staff. Older property, but clean. Awesome military rate that includes breakfast. Enjoyed the valet service, but didnt like that i had to pay for parking at the hotel. Nice location, convienient to shops, etc. Free shuttle to the parks daily. Would stay again, but only for Disney visit/free shuttle, as I would pay $15 for disney parking anyway.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ScruffRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim-Orange County. We hope that next time you are in town to visit Disneyland, you will stay with us again and have yet another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The room was very clean and the staff was very responsive. My only dislike was having to pay for parking. That should be a standard perk available for hotel guest. Other than that, the location was great. We stayed at the hilton because we were going to a concert at the honda center. The taxi drive was very short - it cost 8 dollars each way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to read that you had a good experience during your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim Orange. As for our parking charges are typical of all the branded, full service hotels in the surrounding district. Our main priority is for you to feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
México, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A good experience since the beginning I enjoyed the Doble Tree facilities and good service that I received! It is a very good option for business, workshops, etc. and have fun at the same time! The staff is very kind and they are always ready to help you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to read that you had a good experience during your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim Orange. We are happy to read from your review that you had a good experience with our staff. Our main priority is for you to feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Staying at the Double Tree by Hilton at Anaheim-Orange County for a week long hosted business conference was one of the better experiences that I'll had at such an event. Staff was extremely courteous and service for both the business conference and the rooms was first rate. Probably one of the things that made the biggest impression was the speed of the elevator system. Easily one of the most efficient bank of elevators I've run across. The two things I missed were a second phone on the desk, and mini-refridgerator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to read that you had a good experience during your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim Orange. Our main priority is for you to feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here while in Orange for business, as a longtime Marriott member I was surprised at the quality of the hotel. Nice friendly staff and great customer service. This will be our hotel of choice when we are in the area for work again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOrange, Sales Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to read that you had a good experience during your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Anaheim Orange. Our main priority is for you to feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
ALO Hotel
ALO Hotel
#2 of 15 in Orange
1,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
Address: 100 The City Dr S, Orange, CA 92868-3204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Orange
#3 Green Hotel in Orange
#4 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Anaheim - Orange County Hotel Orange
Doubletree Orange
Doubletree Anaheim Orange Cnty
Doubletree Hotel Anaheim Orange County
Doubletree Hotel In Orange Ca
Orange Doubletree
Double Tree Anaheim Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing