We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Elk Meadow Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Meadow Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We just returned from a great stay in a cabin at Elk Meadow. Our cabin was immaculate and very well appointed with all the conveniences you would want including laundry soap, dish detergent, coffee, tea and even a cooler for packing lunches! The beds are very comfortable. The location is close to many of the popular attractions and we had elk visit almost every day. They were also very helpful with suggestions of things to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MATeacher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Spacious, homey, and centrally located to great hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, and anything else the redwood forest has to offer. You will drive about 5-30 min either north or south of here to access all the great sites. The cabin is equipped with everything you need, even a washer and dryer so you don't have to pack so many clothes! The nearest decent grocery store is about 30 min away, though. Staff are helpful but not intrusive to your privacy. Elk herds visit the property almost every day. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AAllspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed as three families with children. Saw herds of elk every day - kids were thrilled. The place is very well maintained, and rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveldudebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stopped in at Redwood Adventures (at the reception area for Elk Meadow Vacation Village) to inquire about (and book) activities in the area. The gentleman who helped us with local information was extremely helpful and friendly, and took a lot of time to share many ideas such as kayaking, biking, fishing, horse back ride, good hikes, etc. We ended up renting bikes and doing a beautiful 19 mile bike loop, at his recommendation, and were thrilled with how it turned out. We just wanted to say a big thank you for the delicious cookies and friendly smile! Your warm customer service made a huge difference in our trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NorthShore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Location, location. Loved this cabin for our visit to the Redwoods. Lady Bird Johnson and Fern Canyon trails are within a few minutes from the cabin, as are the beautiful Prairie Creek trails. The cabin is fully outfitted with all the comforts of home. Everything is spotless and
decorated beautifully. Wish this was my very own cabin! Great patio
deck and grill out back and
Thursday evening there is a hosted
barbecue around a fire pit. There
are elk grazing all around the area
and it is a magical place for
children. The cabin has a garage to
park your car. Direct Tv for television viewing. Wi-fi worked fine for us but we did not have cell service.
There is a landline in the cabin if calls need to be made or received.
The staff are absolutely great in
every way. They are very
knowledgeable about the area and
offer sports equipment and guides
for a fee- we rented bikes and
helmets.
It's best to bring your own food
from the grocery as dining options
are extremely limited. Had breakfast
at the "Palm" a little down the road,
but had to drive over 25 miles one-
way to McKinleyville to eat at
Subway for dinner.

I plan to come back here and I will stay at these cabins without question.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UsFuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We loved this cabin, wich had everything we needed. Fully equipped, with wahing machine, dryer, dishwasher. Very clean. And the owners are very helpful. We had problems watching the TV, and Donna came herself in the evening, a few minutes after we called her, to help us ! The place is really nice, we had elks just near the cabin !

Just one thing : you've better buy your own food, because there are very few restaurants in Orick, and you have to drive minimum half an hour if you want another place to eat !

We loved the Redwood national and state parks. We visited the Tall Trees Grove (a code is required, you get it at the visitor center in Orick), and the Fern Canyon. There are lots of nice trails.

We definitely recommend this place, a great one to stay at !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SwissChipmunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is by far the best lodging option between Crescent City and Trinidad. I did not see anything else comparable. We stayed in the Gold Rush Cabin. It was nicely appointed. All six cabins have identical layouts and amenities. From the outside I would pick The Bear's Den, it had the cutiest exterier but I am sure they are all nice inside. My only complaint was that the Refrigator was not as clean as I think it should have been. In fact I had to clean it before I would put our food in it, other than that the cabin was very clean. It was great to have a washer/dryer after traveling for 10 days and it was nice to have room for everyone to spread out. There is really not many dining options in the general area at all, so definately bring your own groceries and make sure you stop in Crescent City if coming from the North since that is the last option for a large grocery store, we stopped in for a few forgotten items in what was called the Orick Market and they were extremely limited and their prices were really expensive.

The Cabins are located in such a perfect location for visiting Redwoods National and State Parks. The road to Fern Canyon is literally the next street over and Lady Bird Johnson and Tall Trees is just down the road as is the Newton B Drury Parkway.

Also we were visited by Elk twice during our 4 day stay and that was an awesome site. They were literally right outside our cabin in our yard! They also have a shared hottub and an assortment of lawn games to borrow, there is also a nice firepit stocked with firewood, lighter fluid, matches etc.

If you are heading to the North Coast Redwoods this is the place to stay, you won't be disappointed. The people who run the cabins are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orick
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.3 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
198 reviews
18.3 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Historic Requa Inn
Historic Requa Inn
#1 of 1 in Klamath
404 reviews
24.9 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
15.3 mi away
The Lost Whale Inn
The Lost Whale Inn
#1 of 5 in Trinidad
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Meadow Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Meadow Cabins

Property: Elk Meadow Cabins
Address: 7 Valley Green Camp Rd, Orick, CA 95555 (Formerly Redwood Adventures Vacation Village)
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Orick
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Orick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overnight, for a week or for a month, you'€™ll find all the comforts of home in these recently renovated beautiful 1200 sq.ft. 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, fully furnished vacation rental homes with everything you need (internet, phone, TV, games€) for your visit to the Ancient Coast Redwoods and majestic Roosevelt Elk of Redwood National and State Parks, bordered by Prairie Creek and Elk Meadow, with regular visits by herds of Roosevelt elk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redwood Adventures Vacation Village Hotel Orick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing