We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for business travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good choice for business travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just a couple years old and conveniently located near the freeway entrances. The rooms are spacious and clean. The wireless worked well and the service was friendly. There is a fittness room and many restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    30
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
17
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Tx
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

You will get all that you pay for when staying here: clean rooms, kept up pool/hot tub and a simple but nice exercise room, and full breakfast with friendly attendant. There is an available business center and helpful front desk staff. I was very pleased with my stay and completed my work with the available wifi and enjoyed visiting the nearby earthen dam also. The building is newer, with TVs and cable in each room. I would stay here again. The only suggestion I would recommend is that they offer 24 hour coffee, as other hotels in this price range do. Sometimes, I have to work late and that would have been a nice option. The area is a small town so late night coffee houses were not available.

Green Features: The hotel practices hotel conservation with guests volunteering to limit laundering (or not) during their stay.
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li_Galo_Travl_Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Bruce Spangler, General Manager, decided that because my client was difficult he would not honor the Hospital discounted rate he qualified for. Since he stayed for 15 days, we missed out on about a $400.00 savings. After much dispute with his property, getting our sales rep involved and ultimately passed to Guest Relations to no avail, the only recourse is to give a poor review of the hotel. Hopefully by sharing this it will prevent another situation like the one experienced here.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrovilleManagerHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Reservations come into our hotel in many different forms every day, and each guest and client is unique in their needs and reasons for coming to our hotel. In this case a travel agency made reservations for a guest of the hotel. The agency made the reservations online and agreed to the rate during booking, and then when the guest arrived - they were asked to review their information (including the rate) and asked to initial and agree to the terms of their stay. This guest stayed for many nights and it was important to us that all their information was correct. Also the guest had requested a larger room during their extended stay, which we granted our largest King suite to this guest without an extra fee. The guest stayed those nights very happy with their accommodations, and was complimentary of our hotel during checkout (where the guest received a receipt of all charges). At no time during this guests extended stay were we told that the rate was incorrect. The agency that booked the reservation did not meet the requirement to receive the discounted rate; otherwise they would have been able to book it online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

I came to Oroville for business and was very comfortable staying here. It was clean and the staff was very warm and helpful. The hotel appears very new. The bed was super comfy and the rooms have DirectTV with lots of channels.
The complementary breakfast was good as well.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clio, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is just what you would expect if you have stayed in one in another city. The indoor pool is nice, but the clorine ( required) is strong. The excercise room was a disappointment, but it was there. Two treadmills, a bike and some barbells. Stay in your room and do pushups, some squats, and jumpingjacks.... The morning breakfast lady is very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_in_Clio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Dave_in_Clio,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the fitness center has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This relatively-new hotel in Oroville is very convenient. While a bit pricey, it offers a decent breakfast in the morning and internet access at around 1Mbps. Its location next to Sonic can be handy too.

I've stayed there about 3 times now and haven't found anything to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roginator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel was built a couple of years ago. It is still in like new condition. The hotel staff is very friendly. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Dining options are in walking distance or the casinos are a short drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWG_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
3.4 mi away
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Oroville
Super 8 Oroville
#4 of 11 in Oroville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#9 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Oroville
Days Inn Oroville
#8 of 11 in Oroville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
Address: 550 Oro Dam Blvd, Oroville, CA 95965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oroville
#3 Business Hotel in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service offered at southwest Oroville, CA hotel. Conveniently located off highway 70, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Oroville, California is a short drive from the nation's largest dam, the Oroville Dam and only 2.9 miles from Oroville Municipal Airport (OVE). Families can enjoy a variety of outdoor activities such as fishing, swimming, boating and hiking at Oroville Lake, only 4.5 miles from our hotel. Oroville, CA is home to the Salmon Festival and the Gold Rush Car Show, as well as Feather Falls or Gold Country casinos, where you can try your luck. You'll find several shopping, golfing, dining and wine tasting opportunities within a short drive of our Oroville hotel. Business travelers will find local companies, such as Xtreme Builders, Sierra Pacific Packaging and Grey Fox Vineyards are easy to reach. Business travelers looking for lodging in Oroville, CA can benefit from our 400-sq ft meeting room, 24-hour business center and the free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. We take care of your needs with our excellent service and amenities. The friendly and knowledgeable staff at our Oroville, California hotel invite you to relax in the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool. You'll sleep well on a triple-sheeted bed and start your day off right with a complimentary hot breakfast. Stay Smart at our choice Oroville hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Oroville Southwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing