We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casino with everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Country Casino & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casino with everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at Gold Country several times. The rooms are always very clean and the bathrooms are huge. We love the views from our rooms. Either the foothills or the parking lot are nice at night. We sometimes like to people watch so, we get a room over the parking area. If we want solitude we book one looking out over the foothills. Open the drapes at night pull up the loveseat and relax. If we stay on a Friday or Saturday night we go down to the Spirits Lounge and dance to some good live music. The venue changes every week. We usually get room service early so, we can be pampered. Good food. We love the pot roast. Plus the rolls are to die for. Service is always great. Only negative thing is we don't smoke so, we have to take a shower before bed. Enjoy!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you stay on New Years Eve and want to sleep don't get a room over the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krista h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    60
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
87
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilmar, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I really liked this hotel and would stay there again. My family stayed in a standard room with two queen beds on the 5th floor. My initial impression of the room was that it smelled clean and was very spacious. The room was larger that the standard rooms at most hotels in California; we even had enough room for two additional cots for the kids. The bathroom was extremely large for a standard room; a large stand alone shower, two people could share the bathtub and I believe they could have fit an entire bed in the bathroom...it's that large. We were able to sleep well, the beds were comfortable and we heard no noise from other guests.

We ate at the buffet twice. For breakfast and lunch. Food is prepared in small batches and is fresh. The cooks are friendly and attentive. However, it can be difficult to get the wait staffs' attention even during off-peak times.

I disagree with the posts that say the casino and hotel are outdated and worn. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the hotel and the buffet restaurant. I have not stayed at the other casino/hotel in Oroville, so I cannot compare the two. I can compare it to other casino/hotels in the Sierra Nevada mountains and for the price it is superior. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyJeepchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I were excited to visit our family in Oroville for my birthday this year. I called ahead to obtain a quote for a nice room with a king-sized bed. I was quoted a $79.00 price for a room and buffet breakfast. I was excited to know we would have a nice stay at a very reasonable rate. When we got to the reservation desk, I was told that the price for the room and breakfast was not as I understood it to be. After talking with the manager and explaining that I was sure I had been quoted this on the phone, the manager VERY graciously offered us the room and buffet at the $79.00 price and told the reservation clerk to be sure and give us a room with a balcony. We thanked him for understanding. He left. I then asked the clerk on which floor the pool was located. When she stated they didn't have a pool, we all realized that I had mixed up the casinos. We were not at the one I had called! I was so embarrassed, but was so grateful that the Gold Country Casino insisted that we stay and have a great time. WE DID!!! We ended up taking our grandchildren to the on-site bowling alley and had a wonderful time. Later, we had a wonderful prime rib dinner at the 6th floor steakhouse. The food, service and especially the crab cakes were amazing!
The room was nice, clean, and I had lots of pillows. Most impressive of all was the hospitality displayed by the Hospitality Director. Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktip5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hotel:
At first I thought the room rate was a little pricey. Later I realized the rate they quote you is actually the rate you pay. There is no hotel taxes or other fees added on.

My room on the 6th floor was very nice. It was very clean. The bathroom was huge. There was a small refrigerator in the room. A couple of things may have been a little outdated looking like the window coverings and the bedspread, but everything was clean and in working order. All of the hotel employees were polite and professional.

I only ate at the 24 Hour Cafe. The food was average or good. The Steakhouse menu looked great, but I never ate there.

Casino:
The casino was good. I played mostly video poker and blackjack. The video poker payouts aren't as good as you can find in Reno. My only disappointment was that there is no cigar or pipe smoking in the casino, but they allow cigarette smoking. I was looking forward to sitting at the bar, playing video poker and enjoying a cigar with a drink.

By using their Player's Club Card, you get some cash back from slot and video poker play. You also get some cash comps from playing blackjack that you can put toward the hotel room or restaurants.

I will go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmurff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I came here to visit my Father, who lives in Oroville. We have a history of not getting along very well, but still I make the effort once a year to fly from my home in Hawaii to visit him. I always stay at a motel or hotel as a neutral spot, in case the visit goes wrong. This year it went very wrong. On the first day, we were in a major fight, and I was now looking at 4 nights/5 days with nothing to do.
I chose the right hotel!! I'm not a gambler (was in casino industry for 27 years), but lavished in the Gold Country's resort. The room was fit for a king. The restaurants were amazing. The prices were very low. The staff made me feel like family. I was on the 5th floor. Treated like a king in every way. HUGE sunken bathtub, with rubber duckie included! Eat in the steakhouse!! AWESOME! Buffet was wonderful, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level for a better view, and more quiet, away from the casino. My no-smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banyannook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We recently had a great time visiting this local casino/hotel. Both my wife and I were surprised at the luxury of the room and the fine dinner house. While we basiclly broke even at the casino we had a wonderful time at dinner, and we felt very safe and relaxed in our large suite on the 6th floor.

We purchased a special "all in one" package for $160.00. This special included the king jacuzzi suite, a bottle of wine, a five course meal, and $20.00 in vouchers to get us started in the casino. The staff even brought us cookies and milk just after arrival, as this special was called the "broken resolutions special."

We'd requested a king jaquzzi suite on the sixth floor for the view, and they didn't disappoint. It was great because the windows in the room were from celing to floor, with a great view. The bathroom was huge with both the jacuzzi tub and a seperate shower, his and her sinks, and an even more private room for the toilet. There were also his and her robes ready and waiting after getting out of the jacuzzi tub. Matter a fact, there was even a little rubber duck sitting on the edge of the tub. What a touch!

If you're looking to get away from reality and do something completely differant, casino resorts may be one way to go. We had a wonderful time and felt relaxed both during and after our stay.

Happy traveling!

Room Tip: Gold Country Casino has many types of rooms, from standard queen to luxury king jaquzzi suites, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Parking was easy, up front. Hotel receptionist was friendly and fast. Gave us top room with a view (not much views here tho). Room was big and clean, nice big windows. Bathroom is as big as bedroom, very nice. The bed was a little over used, a slight valley in the middle. Not flat and firm. The heater worked great. Very convenient for playing in casino. Bathroom could use more than two towels, min of 3 is suggested. The casino luck was so-so and the buffet was decent, good service.

Room Tip: Rooms were $135 on weekends and $80 on Sunday - Thursday. $135 is a bit steep for this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeep_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
2.7 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Oroville
Super 8 Oroville
#4 of 11 in Oroville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Oroville
Days Inn Oroville
#8 of 11 in Oroville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
23.4 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Country Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Country Casino & Hotel

Property: Gold Country Casino & Hotel
Address: 4020 Olive Hwy, Oroville, CA 95966-5527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oroville
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Country Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s for business or pleasure, Gold Country Casino & Hotel has it all. Our award winning Hotel assures you of a comfortable night’s sleep and our full-service Banquet, Conference and Reception facility is the answer to those looking for a Meeting or Reception site. Our professional Events Staff is ready and eager to deliver a superior guest experience and will be there every step of the way. Place your bet and get ready for action on the most exciting Casino floor in Northern California featuring the best in gaming, including Table Games, Poker, Slots and Bingo. We’re also well known for our Food, Beverage and Entertainment Venues. Catch a Headliner in the Show Room, dine in our award winning Steak House or enjoy a casual meal in the 24 Hour Café, Bountiful Buffet or Espresso Bar. If it’s the “Night Life” you’re looking for, enjoy your favorite cocktail and dance the night away in the Spirits Lounge. Be sure not to miss out on all the benefits of the "GOLD EXPERIENCE CLUB". When playing with your Card, you could be earning Cash, Free Play or Points towards Promotional Giveaways. This is the Club that pays to play! Join today and start earning, you can sign up at the Guest Services Desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Be sure to bring a photo ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gold Country Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Country Hotel Oroville
Gold Country Casino And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing