We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Loved the bathroom. It was huge. Separate tub which was beautiful and big enough for 4 people.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank DarlaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

Wife and I stayed one night in the hotel. Room was a mini-suite with spa tub. Room was large, clean and nicely appointed. Thought we hit the jackpot because of the great price. Bed not as comfortable as other hotel beds have slept in. Around 11 pm could hear an intermittent vibration coming from the wall behind the bed. Annoying but able to get to sleep. A few hours later awoke to even louder vibration in the opposite wall. Got only 4 hours sleep because of it. While sitting in the restaurant on the second floor you could feel the floor and table vibrate. Would never stay in this hotel again. The casino is large and devoid of cigarette smoke. Nice play to gamble. Food in the restaurant was adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I knew nothing of this casino/hotel but needed a place to stay in Oroville over a weekend. I called and asked about the deluxe rooms starting at $49.00 as advertised by several billboards along Hwy 70. The first person I spoke with said nothing was available at that price, period! I waited about an hour and called back again. This time I spoke with a woman who seemed nicer and when I asked about their advertised special she said she could put me in a room for $59.00 a night so I booked it. For that price, the room was a bargain. Very spacious, especially the well designed bathroom. However, The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors very easily. Thankfully, mine were courteous but if you have some that are not, it may be difficult to stay the whole evening. Music from downstairs and from a wedding on the 4th floor boomed into the room but promptly quit at midnight both nights I was there. The, now free, wireless Internet would not connect but the front desk had a cable and I was able to receive service that way. Finally, for the price, I was extremely satisfied but had I paid full-boat, I would not have been pleased by how un-sound proof the rooms are or the prostitute that propositioned me as I arrived at the entrance of the casino, but hey, it was Orovillian experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I went up to Oroville with my boyfriend and my young son and we stayed here - booked the reservation online through their website. Odd booking - you email what you want and they email you back with either a reservation or a message saying they have nothing available - the first email said they had nothing available, but when I called I was able to book just the kind of room I wanted. That aside, the service was excellent, the room was lovely, and I loved the bathroom. There was plenty of room for my son's crib, and for him to run around and play. The cafe on the second floor was very good - and the staff was very sweet to my son; I would imagine that they don't get many toddlers at a casino, but everyone was very attentive and courteous - I would return any time. It was very worth the money, even on a weekend, and I hear the deals are even better midweek. I did not play in the casino, but it looked bustling and clean, and I did not go to the buffet, either, but I heard it was very good. I will likely be staying there again later this spring, and I'm looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HTApprovedChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We spent 5 nights at Gold Country during a family celebration in nearby Chico. The room was much better than what we expected. We had a suite on the non-smoking 4th floor that was tasteful, clean, very roomy, the room temperature was easy to regulate, and it was very reasonably priced. I appreciated the walk-in closet and the jaccusi tub worked perfectly. When we wanted hot water from the shower, we got hot water. The only negatives were that our coffee pot should have been replaced, and the frig didn't seem to get real cold.
The valet parking, housekeeping and desk staff were very friendly and responsive. There was no noise from the casino or the bar, and the cigarette smoke went no further than the elevators. The restaurant and buffet were reasonably priced, and the wait staff were very efficient. We gambled a little, and managed to recoup our investment. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Rooms are spacious and clean. Building is in need of sound proofing. Be ready to hear beside and above noise. Been in sixty year old hotels with better walls. Staff is great.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank zess065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I stayed at Gold Country Casino and Hotel on Thursday, June 14 through Saturday, June 16 with a group of 16 other travelers in Oroville for a special event. The overall comment was "WOW! We cannot believe this place!!!!!" I was in a King Deluxe Jacuzzi room... what a treat. The bathroom was the largest bathroom I'd ever seen in a hotel.... vanity and sinks for two with a sitting area, a large shower and jaccuzi tub. All group members raved about the bathroom and the ammenities. Bed was comfortable and spacious desk area. Loved the double mirrors on the closet. All ate at the buffet for fish night on Friday. Lots of offerings and the desert bar was a hit. I would HIGHLY recommend this casino and hotel to anyone in the Oroville area. It is two miles out of town, but that made it special to us. We enjoyed the drive into the hill and out of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lawgrad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
2.6 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Oroville
Super 8 Oroville
#5 of 11 in Oroville
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
21.6 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
148 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Country Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Country Casino & Hotel

Address: 4020 Olive Hwy, Oroville, CA 95966-5527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oroville
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Country Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s for business or pleasure, Gold Country Casino & Hotel has it all. Our award winning Hotel assures you of a comfortable night’s sleep and our full-service Banquet, Conference and Reception facility is the answer to those looking for a Meeting or Reception site. Our professional Events Staff is ready and eager to deliver a superior guest experience and will be there every step of the way. Place your bet and get ready for action on the most exciting Casino floor in Northern California featuring the best in gaming, including Table Games, Poker, Slots and Bingo. We’re also well known for our Food, Beverage and Entertainment Venues. Catch a Headliner in the Show Room, dine in our award winning Steak House or enjoy a casual meal in the 24 Hour Café, Bountiful Buffet or Espresso Bar. If it’s the “Night Life” you’re looking for, enjoy your favorite cocktail and dance the night away in the Spirits Lounge. Be sure not to miss out on all the benefits of the "GOLD EXPERIENCE CLUB". When playing with your Card, you could be earning Cash, Free Play or Points towards Promotional Giveaways. This is the Club that pays to play! Join today and start earning, you can sign up at the Guest Services Desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Be sure to bring a photo ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gold Country Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Country Hotel Oroville
Gold Country Casino And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing