We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel, did not like Oroville”
Review of Super 8 Oroville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Oroville
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Reviewed 8 July 2007

Geography - Oroville: where there is not a lot to do (there's a lake in the area that might have a lot of water sports, but I haven't been there). Don’t expect shopping malls. The hotel is not in the city center, 15 minutes away (walking) from the center and from the Highway entrance (with restaurants like McDonald's, Safeway, etc.etc.)
Room - BIG, BIG & BIG. 2 King beds, huge living area with dinner table, sofa’s TV that can turn almost 360 degrees, balcony, bathroom. Microwave and refrigerator in the room.
Cleanliness - Clean
Facilities - Wireless internet (free). Breakfast with wafel iron, well stocked, small but ok.
Looks - Pretty good considering 1 night cost us around $90.
Todo's - Go to your next destination. We drove through the area that was supposed to be the city center but found that neighborhood to be extremely depressing. We ended up eating subway sandwiches in our (huge) room.
Personnel - Very friendly and helpful
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DJF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2007

The rooms were clean but not not real clean like you would expect for the price of this place. This is the most expensive motel in Oroville, CA. The rooms are difficult to get to and the side hall you have to walk through to get to your floor stink as in a strong musty smell and are not cooled at all. The continental breakfast in this hotel is a joke. The staff puts out two or three of each breakfast item and watch and come back and put two or three more. The waffle batter is left out for as long as a hour or two and no consideration about bacteria and there is about enough batter to make a waffle for a baby.. This place is the chinsiest I have ever seen and I have stayed at many hotels but this overall was a very poor experience. I highly recommend anywhere but there because at least for the less expensive places in Oroville you wouldn't expect very much. This Comfort Inn was supposedly the best in Oroville. These other people rating this hotel higher must not stay in motels two to three nights a week.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garrett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Have stayed here about 14 times since 11/06. My job takes me to Oroville and area 2x/month.
Before booking it I looked at 4 other motels in Oroville (except the casino). Never have regretted picking this one. The entire motel is immaculate, safe, comfortable. Though Hwy. 99 , a major Hwy., is 1 block away, I've never been bothered by any traffic noise.
The breakfast is not gourmet, but it's good enough: cereal, muffins, bagels, wrapped sweet rolls & granola bars, waffle maker with batter ready, fresh fruit, orange juice, etc. The young lady hostess is very attentive.
The coffee in the lobby & the room is UGH! If coffee is important to you, bring some, along with 4 cup drip filters. There's a 4 cup coffee maker in the room.
Also a small refrigerator and microwave.
If you're traveling with children, Riverbend Park, on the Feather River is 1/2 mile away. There's a play structure, shaded picnic tables, large green area, nice restrooms. Put your toes in the river, but beware of going out too far.
Restaurants I've liked: fantastic fresh salad bar at Mt. Mike's Pizza. The Depot for a drink & nice dinner - steak sandwich. Casa Viejo, good Mexican food.
If you are lucky enough to have Amy check you in she always goes the extra mile to assure you're happy with the room.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

I called this Comfort on Thursday before Labor Day, our stay was for Saturday, Sunday and leaving Monday. I wanted a balcony, queens or kings type room on the 2nd or 3rd floor and smoking. Debbie who answered the phone was very helpful, she gave us everything we wanted. Our room # was 320, it was huge. They didn't call it a suite but I've stayed in alot of hotels and this room was by far the largest I've ever been in. It had 2 love seats, coffee table, dining table and chairs, 2 king beds, vanity was outside the restroom, micro, fridge, another seating area by the sliding glass doors and private balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool. Plenty of lighting and the tv was able to move 360 degrees and my son who brought his PS2 was happy that he could plug it right in. The beds are really firm, everything was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included, consisted of cereals, muffins, bagels, waffles, hard boiled eggs and the usual coffee, juices and milk. The lady who was attending to the breakfast room, worked the whole time refilling items as needed and wiping tables. Also the added bonus of watching the pool guy clean and test the water in the pool EVERY day, I'm making a big deal of that since we've been to other hotels that were higher priced this summer and they didn't regularly clean their pool.
The location was great, plenty of everything within a few minutes drive time. There is a brand new park very close by, it's called River Bend Park "Catch a dream" Awesome for families, shooting fountains, play areas and boat launch. Many restuarants close as well. I only had one bad meal and that was at Cornucopia. I'd never eat there again. Oroville is a great place to visit (Fish hatchery, Dam, Lake Oroville Visitors Center), do some antique shopping (Montgomery street) , I had the most awesome N.Y. steak sandwich at the Gold City Grill and go fishing (Feather River or Lake Oroville) . We will definitely return and stay at the Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2005

We stayed with our teenaged son in a suite, and it worked wonderfully for us - TV in both rooms, nice and big with a microwave and refrigerator. Room was v. clean, and staff v. friendly. Look, not cheap for Oroville, but definitely the best choice by far (and I know Oroville - my relatives have lived there for the past 35 years...)

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2004

This is definitely the "classy" place to be in Oroville. The rooms are quite large and clean, and they have nice furtniture. There's a separate sink outside the bathroom, which I always like (so one can shave or put on makeup while the other showers). Quite decent exercise room, whirlpool, and pool. Good continental breakfast. Nice toiletries. Free newspaper. My only complaint is that the soundproofing, although above average (you can't hear the freeway), isn't great (I could hear the floor creaking upstairs). Excellent value overall, though.

6  Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
san Francisco
14
Reviewed 8 June 2003

Since 2001, we've gone to Oroville to celebrate California's Admission/Statehood Day with the Native Son's of the Golden West. With two small children, the Best Inn and Suites is the best deal in town for us. There are several cheaper hotels in Oroville, but Best Inn and Suites offers more value with higher room rates. It is clean, the rooms are beautiful, continental breakfast is included, and they have a nice swimming pool. Our only complaint is that last year the pool was VERY cold.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
4 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Oroville
Days Inn Oroville
#7 of 11 in Oroville
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
19.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Oroville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Oroville

Address: 1470 Feather River Blvd, Oroville, CA 95965-4525 (Formerly Comfort Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Oroville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Highway 70 a short walk from the Feather River. Close to historical downtown where you can spend the day shopping in one of the local boutiques or maybe take a short drive to visit Lake Oroville and set your eyes on the largest man made dam in the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Oroville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Oroville
Oroville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing