We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of freshness in old downtown...”
Review of Fresh & Fabulous

Fresh & Fabulous
Ranked #27 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 4th
Transit: Major public transportation center just 2 blocks away at Oxnard Blvd and 4th street.
Description: Celebrating 10 years in downtown Oxnard, Fresh & Fabulous Cafe is now located in Centennial Plaza near the movie theatre. Serving fresh, house-made specialties like quiche, burgers, soups, falafel, salads and more.
Belize
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem of freshness in old downtown...”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

While not much to look at, the food is outrageously fresh & delicious. Not a fan of ordering at the counter, but at least the food is brought to the table. The hummus & tabbouleh were excellent & sandwiches very fresh & yummy. While they don't publish a kids menu, they will make a simple kid-friendly sandwich upon request. Highly recommend this gem!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebzKorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Really good place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is located in downtown Oxnard in the old Woolworth building and its decorated with cool retro hanging spheres and lots of character. The food is very good, salads, sandwiches, pastries, soups, and whatever gems they are cooking special for that day are all fantastic. I usually get half sandwich and half salad, a perfect lunch. The rosemary lemonade is also to die for. I've never had anything less than delicious from this place. They also have a neat Woolworth museum connected to the restaurant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This cafe is located in the old 5 & Dime. Very good food and it is a step back in time. They serve humus with their sandwiches and salads. It is an extra good teat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's a great place!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This one of the great eating places that have put their roots in Downtown Oxnard.
This great eatery was noted by Sunset Magazine! It has a great menu if delicious sandwiches
and soups
If you are in a hurry call in your order! It will be there for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChiefFromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A LONGTIME FAN!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This fabulous (as the name implies) little restaurant is in it's 6th year and I've been a fan since the beginning. The owner is a registered dietician that has such a terrific way with food that you won't even realize it's good for you!! Where do I start. Well, her balsamic vinagrette is so good, it would make DIRT taste good! NOT KIDDING!!!!! I keep a bottle of it at home so that whenever I want a salad I can enjoy this wonderful taste of the restaurant! She makes seasonal salads such as strawberry and goat cheese and fig and gorgonzola that I wait all year for! An item not on the menu is her caprese crostinis invinted during the time of the Friday night Jazz nights (yes, I wish they were back as well). TERRIFIC little bites!!! The Killer Carrot Cake is named this for a reason!!! It is TO DIE FOR!! The quiches are wonderful, her scones quite tasty and I have so many favorites of her soups that I can't name them all. Oh and around Mardi Gras time, she cooks up a Louisiana Chicken and Okra gumbo that makes this Louisiana girl go back every day!!! Make a special trip to visit! You'll be glad you did!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresh & Fabulous also viewed

 

Been to Fresh & Fabulous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing