We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to kill some time!”

The Murphy Auto Museum
Ranked #14 of 39 things to do in Oxnard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Murphy Auto Museum, located in Oxnard, California, is a collection of over 60 beautiful vintage automobiles and Americana housed inside an 30,000 square foot facility. Our unique collection spans from 1903 to present day. We are also home to one of the largest H/O scale train layouts, with many scale miles of track. We are open on Wednesdays, 6pm-10pm and on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, from 10am-4pm, or by appointment for special groups. We have exciting new exhibits planned each quarter in our main showroom and various community activities throughout the year. We hope you come visit us soon!
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great way to kill some time!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you like checking out cars definitely check out the museum. A large selection of antique cars and staff is informative. They also had a model train set up in the back if you are in to that. Easy way to spend an hour or so.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LopezAV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxnard
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Start your engines”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It is almost like going to church, 3 hours of open mouth, slack jaw beauty. If you like this kind of thing? Put it on your bucket list.

Helpful?
4 Thank steve and lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Car Musuem”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Vintage, hand crafted French and Italian cars, primarily from the 20's and 30's housed in a large building. Advance reservations required. I'm not a car nut but I thoroughly enjoyed the museum because the cars are impeccably restored and displayed in a comfortable setting. The guides at the museum are very knowledgeable about the history of the cars. A great way to spend a 2-3 hours.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Cars and Model Trains”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Very nice antique car museum with lots of models dating back to 1903 - many of local vintage with interesting stories. It was fun to walk around. As a bonus they have a large working model train exhibit with some interesting vistas. All in all, a lot of fun.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little gem of a museum”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

These fine cars are all operational - a beautiful display of classics!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TuscanRose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Murphy Auto Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Murphy Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing