We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mcgrath is partially open”
Review of McGrath State Beach - CLOSED

McGrath State Beach
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mcgrath is partially open”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As of April 11, Mcgrath has re-opened, partially and maybe temporarily. Weekends only until after Memorial day. They will look at the park again to determine weather to open 7 days a week or weekends only.
If you are into real style camping, Mcgrath is your park, It has become a bird sanctuary, a great surf fishing spot and peaceful....Open Fridays at 8:00 a.m. til Sundays at noon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Loud generators all day.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay was ruined by generators running all day. We have a generator, but limit it to running an hour a day so that others can enjoy the sounds of nature. We have now stayed at a couple of places where there are posted set times of 2 hour blocks three times a day which help keep the noise down. There is a large sand berm you need to negotiate your way around to get to the beach. I was not impressed and will never go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancypants911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“CLOSED!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not sure there is the money to move the burm of sand that keeps closing this beach, but it has not been open consistently for the past year.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzdCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelope Valley, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FYI- McGrath is closed due to flooding.”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

McGrath is a nice camping site, but there was a closed sign on it as we drove by. I know it was closed back in June as well. I hear the marsh area has flooded out the campground. It is a nature area, so I guess that is to be expected. lol

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank djteaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
533 reviews
267 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Camping is so convenient to the restaurants”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I rarely bring food, other than wine and snacks, when I camp at McGrath State Beach. The restaurants in Ventura are so convenient and the takeout from the Vons Market on Seaward is nearby. But camping on or near the beach and the late night grunion runs always make this a good camping site.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGrath State Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing