We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Channel Island Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Amazing! Loved the beach. Great place to kayak and surrey (bike).

The room had its own awesome hot tub on the back patio.

Tina was really helpful and made us a little Thanksgiving basket. She also taught me how to make a towel monkey.

Will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzzzz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Lizzzzz4,
We're thrilled we could host you for an amazing Thanksgiving break this year. We're glad you enjoyed the hot tub on the back patio and your Thanksgiving basket. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    37
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
35
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Great place. Had my kiddos and felt like home away from home. Very close to the beach but still close to grocery.a out an hour and a half (depending on traffic) from downtown L.A. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi kkfun,
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent getaway. We are glad our staff was friendly and you found our location convenient. We hope to welcome you back again soon!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We come every year at this time. We love the quite time to relax. We visit with family go to our favorite places to eat. Tina has always been very helpful and friendly to us, as we have been going for years. It was a pleasure to meet Jennifer this year, very outgoing person and she has an infectious laugh...
We are glad to hear that they are coming up with new and exciting activities for all who stay. My favorite is the King size bed.....

Room Tip: We like rooms on bottom level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Bill D,
We're thrilled to continue welcoming you back year after year for an amazing stay. It's wonderful to hear how helpful out staff is throughout your visits. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Channel Island Shores. The units are large and very comfortable and have everything one would need. The condos are in a residential area and you feel like you're part of the community and you're 1 block from the Pacific Ocean! The location is great for day trips to Santa Barbara,Ojai and Malibu. Ventura is minutes away. There are many great restaurants in the area. Fantastic seafood right off the boats. The staff could not have been more helpful. Tina and Michael were just great. We really enjoyed our stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Michael L,
Welcome back to Channel Island Shores! It's great to hear how wonderful your recent stay was. We're glad you had fun taking some day trips to a few of the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Rooms are a little outdated but it's steps to the beach! Quaint resort in a beautiful area. Great for families! Beautiful grassy park walking distance to the beach! Close to resteraunts and shopping! Only about a 3 1/2 hour drive from San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummiof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hi Mummiof2,
Thank you for reviewing your experience at Channel Island Shores. We're so glad you enjoyed being close to the beach, as well as, some of the amazing restaurants and shops in the area. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!


Kind regards,

Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great Customer Service! The 2 ladies at the front desk Jennifer and Tina. Very helpful. Thank you! Keep up the good work. The location is nice, clean and quiet neighborhood. Very close to the beach. Rooms are big and clean. Washer and dryer was great to have. Kitchen is clean. Living room furniture are a bit old. Close to shopping centers. All these things made our family vacation great. We had a great time. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnMs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi MnMs_13,
We're thrilled to learn of your amazing experience with us at Channel Island Shores. We're so glad our team was able to assist you during your visit. We hope you had a chance to check out some of the local restaurants and shops during your stay as well. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay soon!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanside, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great room very close to a nice beach. The beach was big clean and had a small park. A little hard to find since Google maps didn't quite get me there. The room was big and clean. It had a cozy kitchen with dishes, pots, pans, and utensils. It had a large immaculate bathroom. Room came with a washer/dryer unit and a jacuzzi on the outside deck. The bed was comfortable and clean and I had no problems sleeping. Nice little vacation home for a week, a weekend with your friends, family or just by yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktip75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Hi ktip75,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as the room and all of the accommodations included. It's great to know you had a wonderful vacation and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Kind regards,

Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Island Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Island Shores

Property: Channel Island Shores
Address: 1311 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-1965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Channel Island Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Island Shores is quaint destination for vacationers wanting a relaxing seaside escape in a quiet residential setting. Located half a block from the beach and with views of the Channel Islands, this charming resort with a beach house feel is within steps of white, sandy beaches and refreshing ocean surf. This Oxnard beach vacation resort features amenities such as private patios, many with Jacuzzi Spas and Barbeques, spectacular ocean views, and fully-stocked kitchens. Guests may enjoy a multitude of nearby water activities including boating, kayaking, surfing and fishing. Explore the National Park, take side trips to Magic Mountain, Santa Barbara, Malibu Beach, Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Hearst Castle, or enjoy the famous Channel Island Harbor and Marina. Minimum check-in age is 21. Please note that air conditioning is not offered at this property. Please note there is a USD 15.00 daily resort fee due at booking which includes internet, parking, and phone calls. Please note the resort does not provide extra beds/cots or cribs, however guests may bring a crib. Weekly housekeeping is available; we do not have daily housekeeping. Guests must have photo ID and credit card to put on hold for incidentals. Please contact the resort prior to 6pm if arriving after hours and you will be provided with a lockbox code and parking instructions. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channel Island Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Island Shores Hotel Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing